We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camana Bay on a hot, hot day”
Review of Camana Bay

Camana Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Camana Bay Tour Plus Royal Palms Beach
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Camana Bay on a hot, hot day”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I read about this before I visited, so I know it is a live-work-tourist place..... I love the concept, and I loved seeing all the tykes out in the fountains. For tourism, the Dart fam might want to add misters (think Scottsdale outdoor malls). It was just too hot to enjoy, and there were not enough shops in which to stroll and spend dollars.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camana B, Public Relations Manager at Camana Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Camana Bay!

We're glad you liked the fountains - they are definitely favourites with kids and adults, and a nice way to keep cool! The Caribbean region is known for our steamy summers, so to cool off we designed Camana Bay with this in mind. In fact, the whole Town Centre has been oriented to maximise the breezes created by trade winds blowing from the northeast, and we have two breezeways that also take advantage of cool winds passing through. And of course, there's our Observation Tower - the breezes at the top of this 75-foot tall structure are unbeatable, as is the 360° panoramic view, as well!

The Town Centre continues to grow and expand so we hope you will visit us on your next trip. Enjoying a gelato, frozen yogurt or ice cream either in the A/C or out by the fountains is one of our favourite ways to beat the heat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    146
    89
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little out of the way shopping area!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Walked from our hotel to this little shopping district several times. Kind of off the beaten path, with lots of shops and restaurants to choose from! The architecture and layout of this area is very impressive! Do a little shopping at Georgetown-but don't miss this area! Way less crowded and inviting!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camana B, Public Relations Manager at Camana Bay, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time out to review Camana Bay. We're glad you had a great time visiting with us and shopping in our stores, and hope you get to visit again on your next trip to Cayman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What is Camana Bay?”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just returned from a two week family vacation to the Grand Cayman Island and I would like to share our experience for future reference to those planning to visit this island in the future.
Camana Bay is the ONLY place other than the few streets around George Town you can go for a walk where you have a few retail stores, a couple of coffee and ice cream stores and restaurants. The main attraction is the water fountain for the kids. However, having said this it does not mean that Camana Bay offers a night life. Yes there are very nice restaurants but those are almost empty most of the time (day or late afternoon). I am not saying night because after 9pm this place is a dead.
Stores open around 10 and close early. They are very few and nothing to go crazy shopping. The classic brand name stores are non-existent in this island.
Camanda Bay is generally good to take the kids to play at the fountain so that they can interact with other kids. The weekly movie night is nice, this I would like to say.
It offers plenty of free parking and has lots of security personnel walking around the premises.
Where we impressed, not at all, and we still wonder how do businesses survive at Camana.
The farmers market is ok, nothing that you have not seen anywhere else.
One thing I would like to recommend is to improve the condition of the washrooms as they are very durty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaJune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camana B, Public Relations Manager at Camana Bay, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Camana Bay!

We're glad you found our Town Centre walkable; in the spirit of New Urbanism, we pride ourselves on offering a pedestrian-friendly, breezy and family-friendly environment. We're sorry you didn't find it too busy; summer is our low season but it typically is very active and bustling on weekends, throughout our various restaurants and bars, and often in the week too - especially for events such as our Wednesday-night Flavour Tour.

Our stores also embrace extended opening hours for island standards, with the majority open till at least 7pm and often later, depending on the season.

We're thrilled you got the chance to check out our weekly Farmers & Artisans Market and to enjoy the fountains and Moonlight & Movies event. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cayman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great area to visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We go to Camana Bay every time we are in grand cayman. This year we went during their outdoor movie night. Our grandson loved watching the movie by the bay. The breeze off the water is so great. The shops are great and I love the open are feel. The observatory has a cool mural running the length of the building. We get ice cream and the kids enjoy all the water features. My grandson spend almost 2 hours playing in the water sprays alone! This area is great for photo taking. Love this area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudyinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camana B, Public Relations Manager at Camana Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Judy:

Thank you for taking the time to review Camana Bay! We're glad you had such an enjoyable experience here and that your grandson enjoyed both the movie and the fountains. The Observatory is one of our favourites too, and we are glad you got some great photos in. We hope you can visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
412 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped by on a Wednesday afternoon, but it was not very busy and the stores are very high end. Stopped off for a Gelato and sat and watched all the kids running through the water fountains. Would not return as my time would have been better spent on the beach.

Check out my blog on my trip to Cayman
winenchocolate dot com

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camana B, Public Relations Manager at Camana Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Camana Bay. Our stores offer options for a range of price points but if you are looking for a relaxing afternoon by the water, it sounds like you found the perfect combination - gelato and fountains! Thanks for your visit and for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camana Bay also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Camana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing