We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money!”
Review of Cayman Kayaks

Cayman Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cayman Kayaks offers Bioluminescent Tours by Electric Boat or Kayak. Experience Cayman's ONLY electric custom bio boat for this unique tour. Or take an adventure on our two person guided kayak tours. Our Bioluminescent Tours meet at Rum Point Club, far left side of the Rum Point Club property. You will not want to miss out on this magical and memorizing experience!
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We took our two teenagers on this trip last week, and everyone loved it. I was a little apprehensive about being on the water in the dark, but there was plenty of ambient light. Each kayak has a little light on the back, so the guide can easily keep track of everyone.

The bioluminescence is completely amazing. You get to stay in it for several minutes, moving your paddle in the water and splashing with your hands. It never got old.

If you will be on the island when the moon is right, do not even hesitate about going; book your trip now!

Thank brookelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank You for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We truly enjoyed the natural wonder of the bioluminescent bay. It is fun watching your strokes of the paddle light up as you put it in the water. Very beautiful and interesting way to see this sight. Our group seemed a little large with about 16 people, including some kids paddling in kayaks without an adult. It would have been nice to have a guide at the back of the group on the way back in the dark as our guide was way in the front at the end. If someone had needed help-that green light seemed a long way away. Overall was a very good time.

Thank LovetheSnow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our tours have a maximum of 14 guests per guide, which is only 7 double kayaks. We kayak in shallow, sheltered bodies of water and our guides are very attentive to where each of the 7 kayaks are located. Safety is very important to us, as well as delivering small quality group tours.
Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I went on Cayman Kayaks "Bio Bay" tour. Our tour guide, David, was very friendly and knowledgeable. After about a 15 minute kayak trip by moonlight from Rum Point, you arrive at Bio Bay. At first, you don't even notice it, but then you start to see as your paddle moves through the water, the water begins to glow. By the time you are in the middle of it, the effect is very cool. You can put your hand in the water and as you wave it around, the water around it glows! Toss it up in the air, or let some roll down your arm. I promise, you won't see anything like it. I'd give these guys 10 stars for the amazing tour they do.

Thank DavidStotesbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

From David to David, Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I were recently in Grand Cayman, and did a bioluminescence kayak tour with Cayman Kayaks. Leaving from scenic Rum Point, the tour commenced following a brief tutorial on kayaking from our guide. The row to the bio bay was approximately 10-15 minutes, and then we stayed in the bay itself for a leisurely period of time prior to heading back. Our guide David was very friendly and informative, and did a nice job with describing the biological explanation for it and the history of the bay. The bioluminescence was by far the most impressive that we have seen, and it literally looks like the water is on fire when you put your paddle or hands in it. Plenty of time was given to experience the sights, and it will remain a wonderful memory for years to come. The view of the stars while out on the tour was another highlight. Given that there are only 12 identified bio bays in the world where such a high level of bioluminescence can be seen, you owe it to yourself to take a tour with Cayman Kayaks next time you're on the island. It is time well spent.

Thank Tad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Tad, Thank you for this raving review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went on the bioluminescence kayak tour and it was amazing. My sons, ages 11 and 15, said it was the highlight of their trip to Grand Cayman. Our guide, David, did an excellent job explaining bio bay and making sure we experienced bioluminescence first hand, literally. This activity will create memories that will last a lifetime.

1  Thank aross59358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank you for your review!

We are happy that David did a great job and the Bio Bay made a difference in your lives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Kayaks also viewed

Rum Point, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing