We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bioluminescent kayak tour”
Review of Cayman Kayaks

Cayman Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cayman Kayaks offers Bioluminescent Tours by Electric Boat or Kayak. Experience Cayman's ONLY electric custom bio boat for this unique tour. Or take an adventure on our two person guided kayak tours. Our Bioluminescent Tours meet at Rum Point Club, far left side of the Rum Point Club property. You will not want to miss out on this magical and memorizing experience!
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a must to do if you happened to visit Cayman when the moon is young. Amazing experience you will forever remember. Bring along really powerful mosquito spray as they are mean buggers. Respect the owner who will ask you to keep the location discreet as it is their business and it is a small island. I will definitely do this again when I am back in the island.

1  Thank OneFishonaHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank you for your review!

Mosquitoes are only on shore and not out on the water.

In August there may be more mosquitoes than in the winter months and it is rainy/hurricane season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Cayman Kayaks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have to admit, was a little scary when we first got into kayak. You paddle on the open ocean (well, the one by Rum Point) for about 15 min. to get to the bay. Kayaks only have glow sticks so you really can't see anything or where you are going (which may be a good thing to begin with lol). We got the hang of it and the guide watches out for you.

Once in the bay, the lights begin. Because there are no waves, you only see glow when you move your paddle or put your hands in water. Still, was a fun experience.

The night we went, we could see tons of heat lightening in the distance. Was quite beautiful. Also, make certain you take the time to look up to the sky. Could see thousands of stars and the edge of the Milky Way.

1  Thank berniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

August is a great time to see the Heat Lightning! It was a pleasure having you with us.

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This wasn't a private tour but couldn't find the two we took listed. We first went on a night kayak tour near Rum
Point into a bay filled with bioluminescent plankton. We can express how cool this was. Your paddle, even your hand would stir the water just enough for the plankton to glow.

A very unique experience.

Our next trip was during the day through the mangroves. This wasn't quite the same experience but it was a lot of fun and we got to see lots of sponges, sea anemone and jelly fish.

The price was excellent and our guides were very nice.

Thank Darylmccracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank you for your response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My kids (ages 12 and 15), husband, and I went on the 9pm tour and had a great time. The kayaks are easy to manage, and the tour guide was helpful and sweet. The bioluminescence was really fascinating. This was also a great way to meet other families.

Thank Shoretraveler8915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We did the bioluminescence tour at night and it was an amazing experience. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. It was an easy paddle and the guide offered on numerous occasions that if someone was tired and needed help, he was more than happy to tow them back. We have kayaked a little but not much and this was an easy trip to do. I would highly recommend it.

Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Dawn, thank you for your review!

We are always here to help if you need us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Kayaks also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Rum Point, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing