We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Snowdonia”
Review of Cadwgan - Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cadwgan - Inn
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had such a lovely stay and a wonderful family room. It had everything you could want. It had a kettle with tea ,coffee hot chocolate with biscuits! A hair dryer in the draw ,plus fresh towels were changed everyday. Our room was lovely and the kids enjoyed the tv in the room. Adam ,the owner made us feel very welcome so did the rest of his family members! breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and of course it included a hot breakfast too! We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The room with the triangle window! A good family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varsha45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Karen and Adam have always provided a wonderful service when we stay at the Cadwgan. Me and my partner have visited over ten times now and we always go back. The food is exceptional, with healthy portions and good variety. The puddings are wonderful, chocolate fudge cake is my favourite!

The rooms are very spacious and are always clean. I'm quite an old fuddyduddy despite being only 34, so me and my fiance go to bed at around 8pm. We can hear the music from the bar but it all goes quiet at 11pm (that's the only thing I can selfishly sulk about!).

The breakfast is superb! Karen always asks what time we want to have it. They are extremely flexible as once we asked to have breakfast at 10am. Local produce was used for the full English (sorry, Welsh) breakfast.

The price for evening meal, drinks and B&B rounded up to £50/head which is good value for a wonderful hotel.

Going back in August and hopefully we'll fit another visit in October.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the honeymoon suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigStrongMSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staying in the village we a family of four ventured out for our evening meal. My wife is vegetarian and it is a rare occurrence to have a choice of four dishes on the main menu and four on the specials board. Whilst my teenage son chose the big burger and couldn't eat any more after (rare) I had a perfectly cooked plaice and my wife the spinach & ricotta cannelloni. My eight yr old son had the kids pizza and followed this up with an ice cream. The landlord was very welcoming and the food freshly cooked and piping hot. The only criticism was from my eight yr old son who suggested a five inch pizza on the kids menu was ok but if an adult wanted pizza this wasn't on the main menu, he loves pizza!!. We all decided this was the best meal of our holiday and was worth spending time telling others about it on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunctheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A last minute booking for a day at the beach and was not disappointed.A very pretty hotel and so close to the railway that you don't need a car to go anywhere. Well maintained gardens and a delight to sit out in. Food was good and so were the hosts. The room we were in ( 7) was very clean and well appointed with a wonderful view towards the dunes and beyond.A great nights sleep and comfy beds

Room Tip: room 7 was great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank whosyabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

What a wonderfull golfing weekend spent playing some of the most fantastic golf courses we have ever played, we had the pleasure of making our base at the Cadwgan Inn, this gave us the opportunity to be central for most of the courses in the region.
Our stay in the Cadwgan was excellent, we found the Hotel warm,clean and very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Karen & Adam and all the staff made us feel welcome from the start to the end of our stay,we can not wait to come back again next year.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have visited The Cadwgan on many occasions.This time it was a short stay for my birthday. We had an evening meal when the food was excellent, the service was immaculate and the staff were very friendly. The atmosphere in the bar was great with both locals and visitors chatting together. There is a good selection of drinks available from standard beers and wines to selected special spirits.
We stayed in room no. 3, the bridal suite, which is well furnished and extremely comfortable, it was the first time we had had this room and it added to our enjoyment.
The next morning we had a great breakfast of cereals, fruit juice and a full English breakfast which was served piping hot. We weren't rushed at all but just allowed to eat at our leisure. There is no doubt at all that we will return to The Cadwgan for many future visits and we can fully recommend the venue to anyone. It is worth noting that there is a seperate games room for children but we didn't use that and it is set in pleasant grounds totally away from traffic and noise of any kind.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I am surprised by the other review from last year- if this hotel is considered homely, I am worried about the condition of the reviewer's home! We paid £435 for a three night stay and I was expecting something really nice, considering that it was in a village I had never heard of. We were put up in a shabby attic conversion with cheap furniture. I couldn't stand up erect in the toilet as my head kept bumping the ceiling, and I am only average height. The welcome was non existent- no one bothered to say more than a cursory hello. There was no advice about local attractions, not a single effort was made to make us feel welcome. The hotel was being run by awkward kids who all seemed painfully shy.

I am not saying that there was any rudeness or anything, but when paying a small fortune, you expect slightly better than a travelodge. There are some nice touches, as the play area is nice and there is a gym etc. which you don't often find, but the basic amenities were simply not good enough. The food was okay, the daily breakfast window is only from 0830 to 0930, so you have to be quick to get it. I noted that the hotel was given five stars for cleanliness- clearly the starring committee did not visit our room as there was a large cobweb every day of our stay despite the room being "cleaned' every day. The beam in the toilet had a thick layer of dust on it and I managed to fit into the shower cubicle after exhibiting some great contortionist skill.

All in all, a disappointing overpriced pub with rooms above it. If that is all you expect, go for it, but don't say you weren't warned!! Sadly I will not be visiting once again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ash101437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ael y Bryn Hotel
Ael y Bryn Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ystumgwern Hall Farm
Ystumgwern Hall Farm
#4 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadwgan - Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadwgan - Inn

Address: Station Road, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Price Range: £110 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadwgan - Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadwgan - Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadwgan - Inn Dyffryn Ardudwy, Gwynedd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing