We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”
Review of Cadwgan - Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cadwgan - Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Came here after terrible service from the staff at Ael Y Bryn Hotel.

Great atmosphere and fantastic customer service the staff all smile :-)
After the great welcome we sat down with the menus and ordered our drinks.
Very homely and welcoming. Customer service is outstanding and the food... Well the food was great! Nicely presented and very nicely done.
I was particularly surprised by the 'Wild' menu.
Zebra, Kangaroo, Buffalo and Crocodile burgers??
I had the Kangaroo because I'm hopping mad :-)
They also have your regular menu with more outstanding food.
Definitely coming here again. The service and food is fantastic.
All four of us loved this gem of a place
I would highly recommend this place

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    26
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend staying for only one night. It was a last minute decision and we were pleased to get a room. The location is lovely, remote and quiet and very pretty. The room was a disappointment though. The radiator didn't work, tepid water and dirty saucers with the tea cups. The food was over-priced for what it was, but the breakfast was lovely. If I had paid half the amount I would probably have been satisfied but because of the other reviews and the price I expected more

Room Tip: Avoid room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annruddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wircester
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have visited this pub many of times,the staff here are always very polite,the owners make u feel welcomed instantly,good atmosphere.The food is unbelievably scrumptious! With a decent price. I absolutely love the new style menu,the rooms are very comforting,warm and modern,will most deffinetaly return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeithjobrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Visited here and stayed over as we heard it is very nice i would take issue with that.
The place is very tired and in need of a make-over or attention of some sort.
The toilet in the gents lavatory would not flush the rooms were cold as previously mentioned by someone else, hot water was only warm at times [cold otherwise], a woman was vacuuming whilst we were eating breakfast [bad form]bathroom fitments [taps etc] were loose wallpaper loose in parts carpets date back to 1970s the meals we had were OK [not bad but i have had worse in hotels]. We were made welcome by the owners and they are very nice people but a return visit is not for us thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We visit here a lot we've been visiting for over 10 years. We love the food, the welcome is always warm and the outdoor area is great for children. It is a bit expensive but its always our treat and the portions are very generous and yummy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nympsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visted here throughout the 70's and have to say, the place has not changed much. Perfectly fine bar area with some great old photos, good garden and friendly staff. We ate in there one night, steak and chips, good steak, service was ok. Probably a little bit pricy for what it is but on the whole, it was a decent meal and it's a good place to stop for a pint on the way to/from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJanetMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived here after a long day out, hungry to find it didnt open till six, so after a flying visit into barmouth for a supermarket, we returned just after 6 to a very warm welcome, the pub was empty, excellent but expensive menu. We did order food plaice for myself & thai curry for my partner, i work in the pub industry & we spent £25 on food & 2 drinks, the food was tasty, hot & nicely presented, but far too highly priced for frozen fish & thai curry, if they want more foot fall through the door prices need to be reduced by £2 min. i visited here before i was old enough to drink with my parents in the early 70s, when staying at dyffryn caravan site, just down the road, over all the food was good but overpriced for what you got

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
5.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadwgan - Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadwgan - Inn

Property: Cadwgan - Inn
Address: Station Road, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadwgan - Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cadwgan - Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadwgan - Inn Dyffryn Ardudwy, Gwynedd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing