We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
detached cottage, hot tub, large private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
detached cottage, hot tub, large private garden
great paddock for families to play Lounge, with books, films and games....relaxation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
detached cottage, hot tub, large private garden
great paddock for families to play
Lounge, with books, films and games....relaxation.
main double bedroom, exposed beams, adds character.
Kitchen, fully equipped, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, microwave.
hot tub, seats 4, warmth, bubbles and relaxation.
Cosy open plan living area
Twin bedroom, high ceilings, lots of character.
Bunk bedroom, full size beds.
A great garden, run and be free
Front of house, lots of old Welsh charm.
Dining Area, double size sofa bed.
rear garden, rockery, and patio
Quaint and very pretty, front of house.
Rear paddock attached to cottage
Lounge with inglenook fireplace
more blooms, front of house
Fully fitted kitchen with all amenities
rear view of house
Welcome to Tyn Y Clawdd from David and Gill Tomkins
Living area with bed settee
patio area, steps to garden.
View of Barmouth Bridge over Harbour
Dogs welcome in house. Kennels in rear paddock, with locks.
view over towards hot tub area
Upstairs bathroom with shower over bath.
Downstairs shower room with toilet and hand basin.
kiddies sandpit in rear garden
glorious safe beaches, fantastic sunlit water... great for photography enthusiasts.
patio area, a real suntrap, rear of house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dyffryn Ardudwy, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hbomb2016
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 6 nights, 2 adults 2 children and our dog. We all loved staying at the cottage. The garden is perfect for children and dogs. When the sun came out it was lovely and we spent a lot of time in the garden having water fights, playing football, using the sand pit and tree swings. Not forgetting the hot tub. Our daughters really liked the fairy lights that came on at night.
The cottage itself was really clean and cosy. There are lots of places to eat locally and the fully equipped kitchen meant we were able to cook meals too.
The location was just right, we visited the beach and went into Barmouth and Harlech.
Whether you want an active holiday, a relaxing one or like us a bit of both then this cottage is perfect.
I spent a lot of time looking for a holiday that was dog friendly and I can highly recommend this cottage.
Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: met all our families needs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad we were able to provide everything for your stay and for your family. Thanks once again for your custom and for leaving the house tidy and clean, always appreciated. Dave and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICoopers
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property & Service, Everything You Could Ever Want from a Holiday Let”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Everything about this stay was perfect. There is NOT one negative to mention about this little gem in the heart of North Wales. The property was spotlessly clean and the facilities were spot on. We stayed for a 4 nights and wised it was longer. Needless to say we have booked another trip and envisage this will be out go to place in the area. The little extras for children are fabulous, with sand pit, rope swings and huge garden this is ideal for families. We chose to have the hot tub included, but didn't use it on this trip as we ran out of time with so much other stuff to do in the area. The addition of a log fire was a bonus, so cosy on an evening. The owners are so friendly and helpful. We cant thank them enough for a fabulous stay and see you again very soon!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thank you to the Coopers for finding the time to do this review for us. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities, both at the cottage and in the local area. See you soon. Dave and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q1561RUja...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
7
people found this review helpful

This was our first stay in the cottage with several of my friends. The cottage itself is absolutely beautiful, and in set in a peaceful Welsh village, close to the sea. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, including walks and eating at the nearby pubs.

Unfortunately however, the trip was rather spoiled by the hot tub being out of use after the first night of our stay. Although the owner was initially accommodating and promised to have someone come out and look at the hot tub, nobody came to fix it, leaving us very disappointed. I got the feeling that the owner thought that because we’re young professionals, that we must have been doing something wrong. This would have been easily resolved, as we were promised a full refund on our money. However, the owners then changed their mind, and then refused to refund us the full amount for the hot tub, leaving us £40 out of pocket. To top this off, the owners then took £20 out of the deposit, despite the house being thoroughly cleaned by 6 people before leaving.

Ultimately, I was very disappointed by the trip and we left questioning the integrity of the owners. I would not recommend booking.

Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: The broken hot tub and the conduct of the owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your comments, which have been noted. We refunded half of the hot tub cost for your stay, as it was used and we did then have the cost of cleaning it after your stay. I'm sorry your weren't able to fully understand the directions I gave you with the issues you seemed to have. There didn't seem to be an issue following your stay when the hot tub was cleaned etc on your departure day. I did explain in my email to you the reasons as to why I could only pay half back and also why I kept a cleaning fee following your stay, to cover extra time above and beyond what we normally spend on turnaround day. We have been letting out our holiday cottage for 8 years, it is let for approx. 45 weeks of the year....only on a hand full of times have we kept cleaning money from visitors in those 8 years. We ask for the house to be left clean and tidy as found on arrival....our integrity has never been questioned. The house is then thoroughly cleaned before next visitors arrive. If you read through the other reviews as I'm sure future visitors will, we deliver a very good service and always offer our best attention wherever possible both with the booking process, during the guests stay and also returning security deposits promptly. Professional or not, we are happy to let to groups of young people providing the person making the booking is over the age of 25 and takes responsibility for the stay. Wishing you well for your future bookings. Kindest Regards, David and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craka2015
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family retreat”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this perfect cottage in October for 4 days really spacious big back garden my dog loved it . Hot tub is amazing really close to beach barmouth which is one of the cleanest beaches I've seen
Dogs are allowed on beach from ist October .its a home from home will deffo be returning next year
thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your great comments....glad you enjoyed the cottage, garden and lovely hot tub. See you next year. Dave and Gill Tomkins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel190...
Kettering
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful charming cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from this beautiful cottage, My husband and I, two children, grandparents and the dog, we have had a wonderful week, the garden is perfect for the children and the dog. The cottage is close to wonderful attractions, Harlech Castle, Mount snowdon, Portmeirion. The cottage is well looked after and has everything you could wish for. The village has a wonderful Spar with its own Butcher, a lovely pub and small Cafes.
We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments....so glad you enjoyed your stay...hope to see you again soon. Dave and Gill Tomkins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rats73
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned home from spending a week in this lovely cottage with my husband and our two young sons and our dog, (15th-22nd aug 2015) .The cottage has everything you need from relaxing decor and coordinating furnishing with a lovely log burner/inglenook fire which im quite sure will make the cottage very snug during the winter months. All 3 bedrooms again decorated to a lovely standard. The kitchen was very well equipped with dish washer, washer and dryer and plenty pots pans and crockery. Family bathroom a good size and the added bonus of a downstairs shower room, which was great for the children. Plenty of books including childrens books are provided, board games and... plenty vhs tapes which my son with autism was chuffed to bits with as he has a passion for vhs tapes and seeing these really helped to settle him into a new environment which for myself and my husband was a god send. Outside the cottage just gets better with a fantastic garden, which can only be fully appreciated when your actually in it. Not only my children but my dog loved it. And its very safe and secure. The tree swing is a nice touch, and sand pit fab and the caravan is very sweet. The dog kennels, brilliant and again safe and secure. The hot tub is a lovely treat. It really is a smashing place to stay. The weather helped as we enjoyed bbq's (again provided) with plenty of garden furniture. The cottage near to both harlech and barmouth and stunning beaches, which makes the perfect place to stay while exploring a beautiful part of wales. I could quite happily move into tyn y clawdd myself ,and plan to return next summer and hopefully many more times. Thank you Gill & David for restoring and sharing such a lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for finding the time to write this review....all the comments are very much appreciated....so thank you. It says it all, it mirrors just how we feel about the cottage.... we try to make it home from home, comfy, clean and relaxing...with all the bits and bobs that families need. We decided to keep all the VHS tapes, as we find the younger children love them, so ideal to keep them occupied while waiting for dinner etc. The hot tub has been a real bonus this year.... it just adds that final touch to a relaxing holiday. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday. Dave and Gill Tomkins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheena o
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

weeks stay with family and 4 jack russells.faultless stay in a cosy spotless cottage.well maintained spacious garden.great coastel location.also ideal for exploring snowdonia.hopefully book again for summer 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Many thanks for finding the time to review Ty'n Y Clawdd.....so glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know what dates you would like for next year.....only £25.00 to book. Thanks once again for your custom. Dave and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing