We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Ael y Bryn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ael y Bryn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On arrival we were very impressed with the hotel and surroundings. We were shown to our room (room 6) which was lovely clean and to add to this we had a balcony with a patio from this we had a fantastic view. We went down for dinner to which there was extensive choice and the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was great and plenty of it. Overall we loved the hotel and the place and it was a short drive from Barmouth which was also a lovely seaside town.

Room Tip: We loved room 6 as it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaboy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    46
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
33
118
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ael y Bryn hotel is a lovely old building in a beautiful setting. The lovely weather added to its charm! Immediately struck by the friendliness of the staff, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The owners really want their guests to have a good stay with them. The food was excellent, with a varied menu, and good vegetarian options. I would have chosen to eat there, even as a non-resident. The breakfasts choices were superb, and the presentation excellent. I would certainly stay there again if I visit this part of Wales.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break in this beautiful part of Wales. It was an area we hadn't visited in thirty something years. Not since a camping holiday on Shell Island.
The hotel was acquired by the current proprietors earlier this year. They have invested a lot of time and expense in completely renovating the nine room hotel.
We were given room 3, the bridal suite, with its four-poster bed, and it's stunning views across the bay to the Lleyn Peninsular.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area or, if staying elswhere locally, the food, on an extensive reasonably priced menu is superb. I can highly recommend Ael y Bryn Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_alicemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from ael y bryn hotel .This hotel is brilliant the care and attention from the owners and staff is first class .The room we had was excellent.you could not fault the effort the new owners are putting in.The food is top class everything we had was cooked to perfection,and we which them all the best for the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a Groupon deal at this hotel. All was as it should be apart from the room. Unfortunately we had 2 dogs with us and the room we had (Room 4) was to say the least bijou.
No room for chairs and probably less than a foot each side of the bed, a super king size, and, no view.
However, staff were great, food was tasty and adequate and all in all, for what we paid it was very good value and they also have Thatcher's Cider.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodakcat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My Partner and I came here last weekend on the groupon deal and had a lovely weekend. The food was beautiful, room clean and comfortable and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location with Barmouth to the left and Harlech to the right (both worth a visit). We stayed in room 6 like the person from the review below and other than the shower being a little cold and weak, we couldn't fault it! Thanks to the staff at Ael-Y-Bryn, we definitely recommend! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeAn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

went here again recently - changed hands and has been spruced up. Had a really good welsh cheese board and olives, Menu looks exciting. Remains a good pub with a great view. Worth calling in if your are in area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadwgan - Inn
Cadwgan - Inn
#3 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ael y Bryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ael y Bryn Hotel

Property: Ael y Bryn Hotel
Address: Y Brif Heol, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Hotel Class:4 star — Ael y Bryn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices start from £55 / room out of season. We have 7 luxury en-suite bedrooms, including bridal and double suites with panoramic sea views of Cardigan Bay. We have 1 single room with a mountain view; two family rooms (one sleeps 5 and the other sleeps 3); a twin room and a double room with a balcony that has a sea view. We have a bar with an open fire; a luxurious restaurant that overlooks the sea,a games room as well as a large conservatory area that again overlooks the sea. The conservatory also has an area with comfortable seating and a large flat screen TV for extra comfort. We welcome dogs on a lead and also have a warm welcome for families, with a host of little extra's for convenience such as cot beds, nappies, toys etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ael y Bryn Hotel Dyffryn Ardudwy, Gwynedd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing