We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio
Nearby Hotels
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
42
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas firemy partnerthe main housemicrowavevillageviewsovenweather
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2010

A gorgeous place to stay, up a narrow country road, in a beautiful part of North Wales. We had one of the studio apartments (in the renovated outhouses) and also a room in the main farmhouse. The rooms were comfortable and had everything you might need, and some treats like a decanter of sherry! Breakfast was delicious, with a large range of cereals and fruit and yogurt, and a cooked breakfast with just the right amount of food - and again some treats you don't get everywhere, like fingers of fried bread and a potato and bean dish. Gwion and Louise are friendly and generous hosts, and we were genuinely sorry to have to leave this small slice of heaven behind and go home!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeiseBlowIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed in "Stabal" which is a converted stable with a ladder up to your bed . Nice and quirky , you are left alone by the friendly owners and can come and go as you please
The breakfast is excellent and this is a good base to visit Barmouth, Harlech & we went as far as Aberystwyth. You have a nice gas fire ,portable TV, microwave and fridge, We found it really cosy and would definitely recommend it . You do need a car , although we did walk down to the local pub one night ...but only the once and took the car the next times!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colmac_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My wife and I have just come back from a 4 day stay at Byrdir.
The comments from all the other reviewers are fully justified. Great welcome, Gwion is a very friendly and entertaining host, location and set up is great, Dell greets you as soon as you arrive, the ducks seem content on their small pond.
We stayed in a studio, which gives you some self-catering facilities if you want them but do take some cooking crockery and utensils as none are supplied. We slept soundly up in the loft. Theses rooms give you more privacy over a normal B&B but you also have the use of a very comfortable visitors lounge in the farmhouse, with plenty of leaflets/books on the area.
The breakfasts lived up to expectations, Louise doing a very good job, and it's nice to stroll over the farmhouse in the morning for them.
THere are numerous footpaths criss-crossing the immediate area if you are interested, the views from them with the great weather we had were stunning. Gwion recommended a number of places to eat so no problems there.
I wouldn't be keen to go in the height of summer as apparently it gets very busy in that part of the country but we're already looking at going back next year, hopefully June & Septemeber.
Glad we've found Byrdir and looking forward to more visits, well done Gwion and Louise for such a relaxing stay and well thought out accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockeyJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Had the most relaxing time staying here. Brilliant location and exceptional, relaxed service from the owners (and the dog and goose). A great mix between the freedom of self-catering facilities and having a big cooked breakfast prepared for you every morning. A perfect base for walking in the hills and down on the beautiful coastline. The service you receive here is the kind of service you wish you received wherever you stay (but don't!).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackdiamondexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

What else can I say? Unfortunately we could only stay one night, but it was fantastic. We arrived by motorbike and had not even got off when we were greeted by the family dog, a stick was kindly dropped on my partners foot, this started a long game of fetch!

As we walked to the front door the two ducks came waddling by then we were greeted by Gwion who took us to our accommodation. Although there were only 2 of us we stayed in a family studio. It was fantastic, had a large comfortable living room with gas fire, small kitchenette, a little dining area with a huge window and an ample sized shower room.

Upstairs, in the mezzanine, a charming and lovely bedroom again large and under hte beams with a little door that led out onto a balcony. The views across the fields down to the sea were amazing, we did not want to leave, have to confess we had a few glasses of wine watching the sunset.

The little touches were lovely, we found a decanter with we think Pinot, just enough for a glass each, a very nice welcome and there were some good quality toiletries for us to use if we needed them.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well presented.

Breakfast was scrumptious and ample, Ifan served us and was very friendly giving us a few tips on the welsh language.

This was worth every penny I am so glad I found it on the net.

Have told everyone I know to go there, it is so peaceful and relaxing but at the same time close to the beach, mountains etc.

You have to give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews