We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very authentic Caribbean fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corita's Copper Kettle - CLOSED

Corita's Copper Kettle
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very authentic Caribbean fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Finally made it to Corita's for lunch after my first attempted failure because it was already closed when we visited around 3pm. Corita's closes early so make sure you're there early since they only serve breakfast and lunch.

The restaurant is a small shop right on the corner around Heroes Square. Not much about appearance but the food is definitely good. We tried the curry chicken and the oxtail both of which were very very good. The curry was not very spicy but flavorful and the oxtail was stewed very soft just the way it should be. Definitely worth a stop if you're in Georgetown and looking for an authentic Caribbean meal. The only negative is that it's pretty pricey just like everything else in Grand Cayman (and you're not paying for the ambience).

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caribbeantraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We wanted to try authentic Caymanian food. We found it here. Just a small restaurant in downtown George Town. We loved it!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank mlw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A local breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We asked the Bus driver for his recommendation for a local breakfast spot in town. He recommended Corita's. The menu is small but the service is precise and the food is a wonderful change of pace from the hotel options! The egg, cheese and ham sandwich was a bargain and so tasty!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Corita's Copper Kettle is a MUST while in the Caymans ;) great locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

All of the previous positive reviews I can only echo!!!!!! Ms. Corita is a "staple in her community". We had the pleasure of enjoying a feast she prepared for us on a blistering day as she chatted about her launch of the Copper Kettle! Our girls (we did too of course) fell in love with the food, the restaurant and most importantly, Ms. Corita-

The prices were great, her company was fabulous and we will definitely go back. Don't eat anywhere else in the Caymans until you check this little place out!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phototraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Corita's was great! Much more than we expected. We heard about it from our snorkel guide after asking him for recommendations for a good local place to eat. We both had jerk chicken and freshly made lemonade and fruit punch. The fruit punch was amazing. I wish I had the recipe! We would definitely go back. Just be sure to bring Cayman dollars because if not, you'll have to pay more if you pay in American $.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank htownbritbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corita's Copper Kettle also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing