We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local spot, expected more”
Review of Corita's Copper Kettle - CLOSED

Corita's Copper Kettle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Local spot, expected more”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was my first time in Cayman and wanted good local fare. My expectations were high because my wife's family is Jamaican. We stopped in around lunch time an found a a steady stream of locals stopped in which was reassuring. The service was fine.We ordered the cayman style fish and the oxtail. Both dishes were just okay, and left me wanting. I noticed all of the locals ordered the soup, maybe we should have also.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee,FL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Local but Not”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We asked our tour guide to take us to the best local spot for some food and she took us to Rita's. The place is tiny but had several locals in line and sitting down. We took that as a good sign. I discovered that the menu was comprised of traditional Jamaican items (I am Jamaican and Haitian) this caught me by surprise as I expected something unique to the Caymans. The favorit seemed to be the red bean soup. The husband had fish and I asked for oxtails. Both were delicious and filling. We were satisfied even though we remained surprised that the style of cooking so closely matched that of Jamaican food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“traditional Caymanian food!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I love the breakfasts including good fritters, strong coffee, Cayman style! lunches I usually get to go, for limited seating (Go early for local daily specials. and be patient if a line it goes quickly!



Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaymanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I am so glad we listened to the locals and tried Corita's. We were on a cruise and had finished our excursion with some time left, and decided to try some local fare. Corita's was recommended by a very friendly woman at the port building. The food was so good I have already tried finding the exact recipe to try (It will never be the same) to have a taste of her food at home. We had the Cayman style fish, and a pork dish that I cannot remember the name of. Both of them were lunch specials. The rice and beans are authentic, and the slaw was just as good. You are doing yourself an injustice if you are in the area and do not try this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Cayman classic in middle of George Town”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Yummy local food and quaint cottage feel - A Cayman classic in middle of George Town

Helpful?
Thank Craboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corita's Copper Kettle also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing