We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely terrace and seaview” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santiago
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“lovely terrace and seaview”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

After coming to Grand Cayman for many years, I thought it time to try the Lobster Pot restaurant as after suffering fire damage it had been refurbished and have a lovely new terrace. The entrance to the restaurant is not very obvious or inviting being directly on the roadside. The welcome from the staff was warm and enthusiastic. Our table on the terrace was directly above the sea where we could watch the Tarpon swimming below. The service was pleasant and prompt. We started with Conch fritters, which I would rate as amongst the tastiest I have tried on the Island. The marinated conch was pleasant, but I found the marinade a little too thick and tomato flavoured. Our main course the Cayman trio, which my friend and I shared with a further $5 charge was plentiful for two. Blackened grilled, lobster tail, Mahi Mahi and a few prawns served with rice, plantains and grilled vegetables. The lobster and fish were cooked nicely, but the vegetables were so undercooked to be inedible. All in all a pleasant evening in attractive surroundings with good service, average food and fairly steep prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    160
    79
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Maybe the shock of how expensive Cayman is hadn't really set in yet, since this was the first restaurant we went to, but it would be very easy to blow a lot of money here. With just two entrees and two cocktails, my boyfriend and I spent over $100. I had the seafood risotto, which was tasty but just a big bowl of risotto, so a bit repetitive after a while. Service was good, although there were a couple of "snooty" moments -- No reservation? No, the place is half empty... No appetizer? No we'll just get entrees. It was nice to sit outside in the breeze, and the food was good, but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice table by the water and ordered the turtle steak. It was a good meal but nothing out of the ordinary. A bit pricey, though, and service was a bit slow even though it was not full. All in all, a good place where you can enjoy a quiet meal in Grand Cayman.

Helpful?
Thank CeciliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view and tasty lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great seaside seating. The Cayman trio was good with the lobster being a great surprise. It was fabulous. The shrimp and mahi was good but in a heavy sauce. Overall would go back for the lobster but it comes at a hefty price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deltachi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not recommend!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Seated at a great table outside with a beautiful view of the water and tarpon below. That was the only good part of the evening. Rolls were store bought and I should have known when the butter was in foil squares that this meal was doomed. Both of our entrees (lobster and turtle) were both extremely overcooked, dry and tasteless. Sides were boxed rice and frozen vegetables. Our worst meal on the island!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyNavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing