We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were in the Cayman May 17-24 and ate at the Lobster Pot twice. Lee our server was one of the reasons we came back. Food was very good but Lee made it memorable. If you go, and you should, ask for Lee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    161
    80
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beware, frozen fish called fresh by management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Dining on a deck overlooking the ocean on Grand Cayman you'd expect a daily catch of fresh fish to be just that. A Grouper we ordered tasted like a rubber chicken, not flakey the way a fresh Grouper should taste. Asked management to replace it and asked if it was fresh as has advertised, the only comment back was that "it came in today", not where it came from. Did not even taste like Grouper , maybe a cheaper fish falsely presented. The Snapper that replaced it was better but still obviously previously frozen.

The price of the fish was not cheap. Lobster Pot management should be ashamed of themselves and at least tell you the fish is frozen if you ask that question directly which we did. Accompanying vegetables were undercooked and rice and peas were bland as a previous reviewer had warned.

On an extremely positive note, our Pumpkin Risotto dish was excellent and worth the tariff. This saved the place from getting a totally negative review.

Our black bean soup appetizer was hot puréed plain with a dab of sour cream was good.

Service was ok and the staff and management were present, friendly and accessible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank readytogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great introduction to the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We wanted a Caribbean lobster dinner and the Lobster Pot delivered. The food was excellent and so was the service. Our French waitress was sweet and helpful. We were seated outside beside the lit water and had a wonderful meal. The prices were a bit high, but we knew that Cayman prices are about 1/3 higher than anything in the States. Go for a special dinner or a celebration.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler5_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3.5 (Excellent location on the ocean - food good but expensive)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Refurbished beautifully after the fire. A lovely place to go for a romantic meal. Quiet ambiance and if you get lobster or seafood you really can't go wrong. Sure the prices are a bit expensive - however, for that one or two night time on vacation where you feel like having the ambiance of the ocean and a quiet meal with your significant other - you really can't go wrong. I wish they had half points as I would give a 3.5 (not a solid 4 but certainly above a solid 3 also). Can be a bit hard to miss on the road when its dark outside - as it is small and in a little enclave that is dark without much streetlight.

I would NOT recommend coming with children - this isn't really a place to take your rug rats (no matter how charming you deem them to be). It's more of a low key, adult ambiance that isn't conducive to others ADD hyperactive kids....its a place where adult vacationers go for a nice meal out. Save the kid stuff for 7 Mile Beach Area (not really much to do for family at this place)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank divinelyguided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall ok experience, easy parking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The catch of the day, which they have a few to choose from was delicious, the sides were not that good. We came with two children ages 4 and 6 and they had a kids menu that worked for them, chicken fingers and Alfredo noodles. Very expensive like most other restaurants on the island; can be upwards of 100usd per person.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 712krustyrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing