We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to see more of the island”

Cayman Islands National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$316.20*
and up
East Island Sightseeing Tour in Grand Cayman
Ranked #1 of 4 Museums in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: One of the best museums in the Caribbean, it features changing exhibits on the islands' human and natural history.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great way to see more of the island”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We walked from our hotel, the Sunset house, to this business to rent bikes for our last day of our stay on Grand Cayman. we had been diving all week and had seen very little of the island. Biking is a great way to extend your view of a community, and once outside the bustle of the harbor we were on good roads. We biked down to the south of the island, saw the local brewery, Caybrew (and tasted a few), and had a great lunch. After we returned the bikes the staff drove us back to our hotel. the bikes came equipped with a lock and although they were not in prime-tuned condition, on flat roads with no winds we did fine on them. The only concern is that we had to return them before they closed at 5pm. It would be nice if the bikes could be returned to an after-hours location so we could have had them until dark.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    93
    23
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful 'Old School' Museum”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This little gem is both interesting and informative, the staff are friendly and proud of the exhibits, answering questions and explaining things.

A place you could take children and they could learn without realising it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leytonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good overview of history of Cayman Islands”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Takes about 30 mins. to see the film and go through the exhibits. Nice overview of Cayman Islands. Small gift shop. Worth the time & cost to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting insight in history”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visiting the small Cayman museum is very educational. It provides an interesting insight in the history and traditions of the proud peoples of the Cayman Islands ! It gives insight in the origins and culture of the nation !! Well done !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo MI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cayman National Museum well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a fine small museum with changing exhibits, good history of the area, an informative video and a nice gift shop. When you are in 'downtown' Georgetown, by all means give it an hour. It will be time well spent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Islands National Museum also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Islands National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing