We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DIVE RESORT”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT DIVE RESORT”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Sunset House Dive Resort was amazing! The hotel is your average hotel, but very friendly, homely atmosphere. The bar and restaurant was a wonderful place to meet up with your new buddies after a dive. The dives were awesome. I am not sure what the review stating the coverage of the island is restricted, because we went all over the place. The divemasters knew our names the day of arrival, and made sure we went to various dive sites. It was BY FAR THE BEST DIVE VACATION I HAVE HAD!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdewbrern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    150
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
97
158
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Sunset Hotel is more like a dive motel. The hotel staff was cordial and nice but the amenities were very average. As to Sunset divers, they have nice boats but are restricted in their coverage of the island to few hundred yards from the docking site at the hotel even when you submit a request (very counter culture to the dive industry). There is one specific site "cheeseburger reef" which I could have snorkeled to without the need to hitch a ride on their boat and as you can surmise from the name, very unimpressive. What shocked me the most is the dive staff attitude that was so indifferent, aloof, unpersonable, and the least hospitable-nothing you expect from the islands. It was shocking to our group of 15 divers that was renting their boats for 5 consecutive days. I had the opportunity to dive with another small group a subsidiary of Cobalt Divers on the Island which was a major treat. At the end of the day though the experience was very average it was nothing that a couple of virgin drinks and the company of my good friends could not make up for. I definitely will not be going back to dive with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPhil555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Sunset House is the best place to stay for diving in the Cayman Islands. Great dive boats, great dive masters and the most fun bar on the island. We had an ocean front room with sunset views every night. Ocean pool for diving from shore, lockers for your gear and breakfast each morning before your dive. You are close to town, if you want to walk in for dinner. Perfect dive vacation.

Room Tip: get an ocean front with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We just finished our stay and this was a great spot if all you care about is diving and more diving. The dive staff, especially Trevor and Aaron were excellent. Well prepared and professional. I'd recommend to them while guiding a dive they try and look for / point out the more interesting animals rather than just swim around.

The bar staff, especially Larry and Julia were great. Larry even gave us a ride after work to a local bar to save on the ridculous cab fares. He also set up a nice after hours area for us to play dominoes and drink. It couldnt have been better.

The hotel made up for the 2 star accomodations and broken pool (leak being fixed) by giving us an extra room w/o prompting. We had 3 to a room booked and they did it to give us more space. Nice unprompted jesture.

Diving was the best part of the trip with the unlimited shore diving, and fun morning boat dives. I liked the small wreck and beautiful wall around the corner off the shore of Sunset. The lockers were a god send because you dont have your wet stuff stinking up your room.

I'd go back again with the same dive buddy crew, but its not nice enough to take my wife there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGFalcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is very basic in all respects. The floor was dirty. The diving staff was excellent. My 10-yr old daughter was certified and the instructor was pateint and thorough. I liked that they were all very experienced and atht there was an excellent satff ratio to divers on every dive. I felt it was very well run, extremely persoanble staff. My husband & daughet thought the diving was excelelnt. I snorkeled and the visibility was great. I have wonderful memories. If you do not dive or snorkel, the beach is a a bit removed and you may not like it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ines C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We really loved Sunset House - the people there are great and the diving is amazing. I really appreciated always having a divemaster in the water with you. I can be navigationally challenged anyway, but there were features in the water that I never would have investigated on my own but was comfortable to follow a guide into - like the fantastic swim throughs! We have done some diving in the Keys and had to pay a guide to get in the water with you - and it's not cheap - and they're not particularly attentive (at least not the ones we've had). The Sunset House divemasters were constantly checking on us, coming back to make sure we saw specific fish or features and doing safety checks (air). I know there are tech and wreck divers who would think this is tantamount to "babysitting" and wouldn't want to do this - but you don't have to stay with the guide. You have the choice to go with the guide or go off on your own - and there are fantastic walls to challenge the more experienced divers. I am AOW certified and I reached a depth of 100 ft without a hint of anxiety - watching my air/depth and taking all necessary precautions but just relaxing and having a great time.

The food was good - so were the drinks. The shore diving was a blast!! it was so much fun to come back from a 2 tank dive in the morning, have lunch and a nap, and then go grab a tank for an afternoon shore dive to see the Mermaid statue.

The room ... eh ... it's a dive resort ... not lavish, but we weren't looking for the Ritz either. The bed was comfortable (and we've stayed in some nice places that had some uncomfortable beds!). We heard that they're doing a remodel of the rooms too, so maybe next time will be nicer?

I wanna go back ... no, I didn't want to COME back!! I recommend Sunset House for novice to experienced divers. There really is something for everyone. Oh, and the Kittiwake was a great dive too (wreck in 60 ft of water - easy for beginners).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbalabala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Sunset House was clean, had 2 king size beds in the room, fabulous ocean views, quality food and excellent service. The onsite dive operation Sunset Divers was one of the best operations we have ever used. They really had a customer satisfaction attitude. All of the staff were knowledgeable, friendly, accomodating and fun. Divers had the choice of following a guided shallow dive, guided deep dive, or doing your own thing within their safety guidelines. We prefered to follow the dive masters; they were very attentive and did a great job of pointing out special critters. The staff changes your gear inbetween dives and the SunSet House provides gear lockers just off the dock area. We had heard rumors about Grand Cayman being "dived out" but we couldn't disagree more. The corral was beautiful and full of life. The caverns and swim throughs are worth the trip.

Room Tip: Pick Ocean View! Double slider w/ porch or balcony water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyWheretonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,327 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,201 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing