We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Fancy, but a Good Place to Rest Your Head”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, but a Good Place to Rest Your Head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent five nights here. The rooms were clean, but sparse. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo/conditioner...made a huge difference after a day in the salt water. Lots of towels, we never ran out or needed more. Plenty of closet and dresser space for all our clothes & diving gear.

We were lucky and had a terrific view of the ocean from our back door; others in our party were not so lucky and had a view of the side of another building. Ask for a specific room if you want a specific view.

My Bar and the restaurant on premises were excellent. The food was well done each time we ate. The My Bar servers were not very friendly, almost seemed put out they had to serve you. However, the restaurant staff was excellent!

Walking into town isn't very hard, although there are very few sidewalks, so it can be a little "interesting" if the road is busy.

GREAT access to the water! A quick, simple walk and voila...you're in! We had our own locker too and there was never shortage of air. The dive shop staff was superb! A high-class operation!

My biggest complaint about the rooms were 1) no hot water, only lukewarm and 2) no constant or strong wireless internet connection in the rooms. Everyone in our party, no matter where they were on the premises had no luck with consistent service. I didn't want to check my work email, but I did want to have access to email since our kids were at home. And, I wanted to upload Facebook statuses :o)

We plan to return to this hotel, as we were happy with it!

Room Tip: ask for the kind of view you'd like, because it does make a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    149
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
154
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

SunSet House is a great value. Not a 5 star resort but if you are looking for a great diving location for shore or boat diving this is the place. The food is good and served quickly and the waiters are quite friendly. The dive shop staff were great and fun and always very helpful. Our room was clean and modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar. Bar is very popular with tourists,guests and locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We met friends for a dive vacation and then ran into people we dove with in Belize a few years ago and some other divers from our home-town. What a small world, but that's what happens when you choose a dive resort that lives up to its claim of being 'by-divers, for-divers'.
The staff of the Sunset dive operation were friendly, knowledgeable and skilled. Following a detailed briefing that sometimes included a drawing, they got everyone off and into the water with any confusion or delays; and the house-reef offered great diving, day or night!
The wait staff in the restaurant and My-Bar were all friendly and the food was good and our room was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay.
The outdoor-terrace seating area located near the freshwater pool was our favourite place to spend the evening. We couldn't believe that most evenings we nearly had it to ourselves - under the stars, overlooking the ocean with a good meal and a glass of wine, background music - heavenly.
There are a lot of places we still want to visit - but we would definitely stay at Sunset House on a return trip to Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: I asked for an ocean-front room, away from My Bar, the pool and restaurant. The room we had was at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammagoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Not a bad place. Great bar, clean rooms but absolutly HORRIBLE WiFi. I ended up diving with another group but the dive op seems friendly even though they couldn't get me on. Everyone seems friendly except a few of the wait staff. It is a little nice to be off 7 mile beach too. Walk down to Smith Cove (right out of the parking lot). Great place to relax on a small beach. Very local.

Room Tip: Ocean view are nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iflyprops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Sunset House is a resort for and by divers; life at the resort centers around scuba diving; don't expect more, or you'll be disappointed. As a dive resort, it's very good. We recently spent four nights there and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The dive operation was well organized and ensured that everyone who wanted got in a two-tank boat dive every morning. For shore diving, all you had to do was grab a tank on the pier and go. The upside: the diving was excellent; the downsides: we were required to "schlep" all our own gear to/from the boat, and there was only one rinse tank (plus a separate bin for cameras).

Our room was very comfortable. We had an "ocean view double" that had two queen-sized beds, microwave, small fridge, coffee pot, a small safe and a nice patio in addition to bathroom with shower. Our room was very quiet; we had only the noise of the ocean and the a/c unit to deal with. I could have been that, like us, the other guests were divers who wanted a good night's sleep before getting up early to go diving. The open-air, thatched bar was never a noise problem. Our room was serviced daily. Wifi was free throughout the compound, but was fairly inaccessible -- even with the password provided by the front desk staff. Only in the restaurant/bar area could one count of getting decent wifi service. My wife was so frustrated by the process, she used the one "house" computer that was available in the front office for guest use.

Our package included transport to/from the airport, four nights lodging, three days of two-tank morning boat dives, unlimited shore dives, full breakfast each morning. All taxes and gratuities (except for dive staff) were included in the package. This last point brings up a potential issue for visitors: all checks from the bar and restaurant are stamped "Gratuity not included." While that is true at the moment, if you sign the check and put it on your room bill, 15% will automatically be added, which could lead to paying double gratuities. So watch out.

All in all, we enjoyed our brief trip to Sunset House and would return again -- if there weren't so many other dive destinations we haven't visited yet.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it; many non-ocean view rooms are located very close to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here for a few days February 2012, and it is a great resort for dive oriented vacations. The motto of "For Divers By Divers" is spot on, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great dive vacation. I would be a little hesitant recommending this hotel to individuals looking for the perfect beach vacation (rocky shore) and those not into the dive scene (entire property is catered to divers). The dive staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are straight forward, and ideal as they are clean, quiet and close. There is free wifi, but reception can be unreliable in the rooms (bar area gets great reception though). Hotel is very close to George Town, which is in walking distance. We rented a car, but one could easily stay a week without needing one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Sunset House in George Town 04-11FEB2012, as part of a dive trip with our club. My wife and I choose to stay in the upgrade rooms with a ocean view. If you enjoy a view and want space, balcony, and some amenities go for the upgrade. Friends who had the courtyard rooms complained they were small, lacked safes, coffee makers etc and were not cleaned well. Our room had two king beds , all the amenities a large bathroom and was cleaned reasonably well. We did have to ask the desk to have housekeeping clean the floor a little better one day.

Food is all pay as you go except for breakfast, if your used to Mexican all inclusive this might be a shock, but for the Caymans the prices were reasonable, servings large and the food was prepared expertly. Drinks are a little expensive ($7CI for a draft- pint). We had two group dinners on the patio ( which is away from the bar and deck) enjoying our dinners with quiet music and great atmosphere. If they have the rack of lamb special by all means go for it.

The dive shop was very accommodating for our group of 13, we had one non diver and one diver who didn't sign up for the whole week package. Both were able to go out for a boat ride and one dived a couple of days only paying for the dives she did. The dive staff was knowledgable, friendly and did not pressure us for tips. They will provide you with an 80 tank on request air or nitrous.

Room Tip: go for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing