We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset House Vacation and Certification”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset House Vacation and Certification”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My stay at Sunset House was great. The room was nice and close to the pool, restaurant and bar (a self-contained community). I also obtained my initial scuba certification at Sunset House. My instructor, Lowri Williams, was excellent. She was clear in her directions but also patient and understanding. She made the certification process fun. I would highly recommend Sunset House for a diving vacation and/or certification.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmylove210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    149
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
154
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great rooms with restaurant and dive company on site. Spacious, clean and comfortable accomodations all on the shore of the caribbean. Restaurant food and service are very good. Dive site (Sunset Divers) is a full service dive company with 4 dive boats running daily. You never have to leave the grounds as everything is available on site.

Room Tip: Request west facing rooms to avoid early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyH566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Tracy,

We are so glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you back here again soon! (Just one note, while we have 6 custom boats in our fleet, the number of boats going out on any given day is dictated by the number of divers we have in house!)
We agree, we have everything available right here! An underwater photographer’s perfect dive. Hotel, Restaurant, Bar, Dive Centre, Cathy Church's Photo Centre, plus Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await just steps from your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here May 2nd thru the 9th. 1St floor, oceanfront. Didnt spend alot of time in the room. Was too busy looking for rental properties for I am moving down there. Maid was nice. Room was cleaned everyday. For the price, u couldnt beat it! I didnt scuba dive so, I cant comment on that. You really need to rent a car or jeep for you are pretty far away from everything.I went with a jeep at Avias. And, If you walk into Georgetown, be careful! Low shoulder! The bar was ok. Decent prices. The food at Sea Harvest was so-so. Especially breakfast. Limited options. No beach to lay out. Too rocky. I went into Seven mile beach, to swim and enjoy the beach. Went to Royal Palms which was really nice. They have a pool and a swim-up bar. And, Calico Jacks which was more crowded due to the cruise ships. Overall, I liked Sunset House. For the value.

Room Tip: Oceanfront! They've been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernbell7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thanks Southern Belle,
We hoped you and Doc found a place here close to us, because once you get settled in, you make sure you come back and learn how to dive here with us! THEN, you will really appreciate not having any sand does for Scuba Diving and Snorkelling here at Sunset House!

Look forward to seeing you around the island. Get back with me when you get settled.. Might need a new internest down here sometime! LOL!

All the best with the move!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Sunset House is a gem. Four dive girls from the south and we were a crazy handful. Let me start at the beginning:

BOOKING: Flawless. Ask for Kim, she is wonderful. We emailed and got an immediate response. We were able to book separately and I know that can be a pain. Kim included a plethora of GC information in her replies and answered all questions, from ‘is there a hair dryer?’ To ‘where is the closest store?’

ROOMS: because Kim knew we all wanted to stay in the same room she booked us in Rm 410 on the ground floor. The room was HUGE, clean, with a Full size fridge, a microwave, a safe, a dining table and 4 chairs, a large comfortable sofa, a nice flat screen, access to the outside grass area with picnic tables, lounge chairs and a spectacular view of the water! The bathroom was large with a dual shower that could fit a rugby team (don’t ask).

RESORT: I was expecting it to be older than it was. The hotel has beautiful grounds, rooms have been upgraded, Free Wi Fi works in rooms, MY Bar is a great relaxing place that we spent most of the evenings with crew, locals and other guests. Food was good and drinks were fantastic...ask for Eric. The pool is small but we were diving so a big pool did not matter. Morning Breakfast was perfect, with several choices. John was a super waiter with lots of interesting information to help us navigate the town. The Cathie Church Photography studio was amazing and with our package we all got one free 8x10 photo! Keith, the manager has a relaxed professional style that shows in every aspect of this hotel. He was always available for questions and always over shadowed by his firstmate Murphy!

DIVING: As stated in ALL the magazines…It’s absolutely beautiful! Clear 100ft+ visibility, healthy coral, turtles, eels, rays (yes Sting Ray City dive is Sooooo worth it), wrecks, etc. The water temp is a little on the chilly side, so a 3 mil is the best. The Ocean pool is so easy to enter and exit. Our shore dive was great…the mermaid is a must see.

DIVE OPERATION: Book the package that includes daily breakfast…worth it. There is easy access to the 3 dive boats. Lockers are provided for gear with a freshwater rinse tank and shower located close. The ratio was max of 8 divers per guide, usually less. Boats are easy ladder access and tanks are changed out for you between dives. Safety is a BIG DEAL and emergency procedures are repeated each trip. Dive masters are very knowledgeable of each site, which is amazing because there are 365 possible dive sites in GC! Some shallow dives are un-guided but the explanation of how to navigate each reef is quite clear.

DIVE CREW: What a great group! From the day we walked up to the Dive shop, to the day we got on the boat, to the day we left, there was a smile on our faces. Professional, witty, helpful, proficient, and accommodating, can briefly describe these Dive Masters.

GC (Grand Cayman): The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from town, but 7 mile beach is too far to walk. GC is expensive, taxis, food, drinks, gifts, etc. The road has little to no walking space so be careful. Every single person we met was beyond friendly, helpful and courteous. The Warf was great but $$$, Calacojacks on 7 mile was a fun barefoot type beach bar. The Office is an amazing karaoke place.

TIPS: When you get in the taxi from the airport ask the driver to stop by the Grocery store and stock up. Rent Bikes ($13 a day) or a car. Taxi’s are pricey and not the happiest people so you may want to avoid them. If the Cruise Ships are NOT in, the shops are shut down, and Shops/grocery stores are closed on Sunday as well.

Overall it was a super week of diving, making new friends and relaxing. I would highly recommend Sunset House!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avery V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thanks Avery for the kind words and you all were just the best! Glad to hear at least two of you have already made plans to come back soon!

Just wanted to let folks know that your spacious junior suite was actually 404 and NOT room 410. (maybe that is where the rugby team came into play?) ":O)

There is one other additional junior suite above 404 in room 415. There are only two on the property, so solidify these rooms quick as Avery and her friends did!

BTW, Murphy still heads up to your room to see if you 4 are there! He misses you, too!

Thanks again! BTW, all the staff said to tell "Team White Teeth" HI!!!

Warm regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

If you are looking for a great dive vacation then look no further than Sunset House and Sunset Divers. This was my 5th trip to Grand Cayman and Sunset House. The atmosphere and diving is fantastic. Whether you want boat diving or shore diving they have it all. The staff is very friendly and there is a lot to do for the non diver. The open air bar is spectacular and the resort is within walking distance to Georgetown. The rooms are very nice and everything is within a short walk. The buildings are only 2 stories so no large hi rise here and waiting on elevators. Grand Cayman and Sunset House will provide you a great vacation in the sun.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice but the ocean view rooms provide spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A nice atmosphere is this seafront hotel, with rooms scattered around open various walkways and courtyards. No floor upon floor of anonymous hotel corridors here. Every room is a quick walk to the superb seafront open air bar. Why superb? Draft beer; slick friendly staff; cool fans under the roof; great food, including specials, from the restaurant. 15 hours after leaving Scotland I was looking out at the Caribbean, dining on extra tender med-rare prime rib with a glass of dark Ironshore beer in my hand. The reception staff, very helpful, good fun to deal with; the rooms, good size, and relaxing too. And they pick up the tab for airport transfers. Good on them.
And don't forget the diving, the Dive Shop is on-site, and you can shore dive from the hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the 200s and 300s, easy walk from reception and down to the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Sunset House twice. Except for the fact that we like to try different locations, we would go to Sunset House every year. It's all about the diving. This is not a luxury hotel and we don't want one. Laid back atmosphere. The staff makes every effort to help out. There was a room mix up on our first visit, probably caused by the fact that we arrived way late. It was straightened out the next day and an apology was made with a nice bottle of wine chilled, Kim had sent to our room. This year, we discovered that the AC was making the tile floor slippery from condensation. The AC was torn out and replaced which meant literally taking out part of a wall. They did it when we were out. No worries. One caution; If you are an older diver, the tile floors are as slippery as ice when they get wet and they will when you come back from a dive.

We stayed in one of the apartments. I'm claustrophobic and need space. We had a kitchen and made ourselves lunches and a couple dinners. One complaint we have is that the rooms are very spartan. No attempt whatsoever to decorate. Bare walls. But as soon as you step out onto the balcony and enjoy the view, the room becomes a non-issue.

It is the dive shop where Sunset House really shines. Excellent staff, great new equipment, and wonderful dives. Gear is set up for divers for both dives. Very safety conscious and willing to accomodate the wishes of each diver.

My Bar is where we ended up each evening. Fun place.And the sunsets are amazing.

Take note; Grand Cayman itself is hugely expensive. It is constantly overrun with touristas coming off the never ending cruise ship arrivals. So George Town is not a big attraction for us. Sunset House is about a mile from town. One last thing; everything shuts down on Sunday.

Room Tip: apartments are great for a small family. lots of space and a kitchen. I understand that some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,994 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing