We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay,excellent diving, outstanding staff all around”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay,excellent diving, outstanding staff all around”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recently stayed for the first time at the Sunset House with my wife and a friend. Planned the trip on a whim about 3-4 weeks out, which started August 17th. We generally avoid the Caribbean in the summer and early fall months due to weather. However, we needed an escape from work and took a chance anyway. I'm glad we did, not only was the weather excellent, but our whole experience at the Sunset House was perfect. I've been bareboating sailboats for the last 15 years, so I'm used to doing things myself,..and we have sailed and dove all over the Caribbean/South Pacific....so we have seen allot,..good and not so good......
The Hotel Staff/Front Desk,...friendly and courteous,..no problems here,..the room was updated, clean and roomy,..nice view of the ocean....The location of the Sunset House is a short, 15 min walk to town. Cathy Church's store across and below from the front desk is well stocked with goodies and also has a very friendly and helpful staff...
The Diving- They have quite the dive operation going here, as an example they even fill the bottles offsite as to not expose guests to what would be quite a bit of compressor noise judging by how many bottles they go through in a day.....the dive masters/instructors are friendly, fun, outgoing and a pleasure to be around both in and out of the water.....If you can't get along with and have fun with these guys and gals,..you've got issues.....Once they size you up,..first dive or two they let you off on your own with your dive buddy or just as happily guide you around the interesting features of the dive site.
The diving itself was quite fun and varied,...my group really enjoyed the swim throughs and the Kittiwake..The dive boats are as good as any I have seen, and the rides are fairly short...The house reef is quite nice also.
The Bar/Food,....My Bar,..not sure what I could say that hasn't already be said, wonderful service, fun staff,...perfect location, great drinks,.....we had most of our lunches here, and some dinners,..all of which was excellent,..as was the breakfast plan over at the restaurant....You could book a week here and you really don't need to venture off anywhere.....We did,..just to change it up a bit for dinner,...Guy Harvey's is a short walk to town and not to be missed is Calypso Grill....
If you like great diving, great all around staff, good food and arguably one of the best bars in the Caribbean.....you can't go wrong with the Sunset House.....

Room Tip: stayed in an oceanfront room,..great view,..short stroll to the water,dive boats, food and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Watrdncr,

Thank you for your commentary and the good things you have to say about Jennifer! We are happy to hear that the rooms were satisfactory for you. With regards to the diving, I will get to that in a bit.

What Ms. Watrdncr failed to mention in her comments about her experience here at Sunset House is that she represented herself as having a full service brick and mortar dive center in California, when in fact, it is only her, her website, a phone number and friends. While we went ahead and gave her a large commission for her group (22 in all including Watrdncr, not 25), we accepted everyone's credit card individually as she did not have a company check or account. We had met Ms.Watrdncr at a trade show in Long Beach, California and had explained the resort fully by Resort Manager Karin Sahm.

Upon arrival and check-in, two gentleman in her group that booked had not let her or us know that one "needed" a downstairs floor room, as he could not do steps rather well. This gentleman was adamant, that he could not do stairs, so we GAVE him his own room at no charge to him or against Ms. Watrdncr's group package. This now took an extra room which was the only room we had left during this holiday season.

We also set up and made their arrangements for diving on the East Side of the island for them. 19 out of the group were totally delightful and we bought the group pizza on their last night. Everyone BUT Ms. Watrdncr and two others were just true Sunset House guests!

Now, the Diving and the Mysterious Sunset House SECRET Rules.

As any other guest of Sunset House will attest to, there are no secret rules that we go by as Ms. Watrdncr claims. The Cayman Islands Watersports Association (one sector of the Cayman Islands Tourism Association) is quite clear and if anyone is unsure, one can Google "Cayman Islands Diving Rules" and you will see what every dive operation follows down here. It is why the Cayman Islands have such a safe and extremely great dive product! (Listed in Scuba Diving Magazine Top 100 as BEST OVERALL DESTINATION. Pg 16, Jan/Feb 2014 edition)

The Operation Guidelines for our customers are quite short and quite clear. The Guidelines begins with, "The Watersports Operator's first duty is the safety of all divers, snorkelers, riders, participants and other individuals affected by the Watersports Operation". It goes on to say, "The Watersports operator shall abide by the following":

While I will not post the full 34 page Guidelines we as a professional dive operator in the Cayman Islands must adhere to, I will point out a few.

8. The recommended maximum depth limit with recreational scuba customers is 100 feet/30 meters, if within certification (See Appendix 'B'). The required maximum depth with recreational scuba customers is 130 feet/39 meters and 100 feet/39 meters for repetitive dives the same day.

(Appendix B points out that not all certification levels are allowed to go the 100', such as Discover Diver Programs, Jr. Divers, Scuba Rangers, etc.) As every morning we go out on a morning two tank dive, the first being a wall dive of 100' for 50 minutes, followed by a approximate 40 minute safety stop before we do a second shallower dive, we are obviously doing REPETETIVE DIVES, thus the 100' Maximum.

While Ms.Watrdncr points out that she had experience people in her group, she fails to mention that she had only 3 certified instructors including herself. She also had two 13-year-old Jr. Open Water Divers and 6 divers who had less than 25 dives experience. (5 of these divers were in single digit to the total number of open water dives they had done)


14. Divemasters are NOT required to endanger their own safety or the safety of other customers by chasing a run-away diver.

15. Speaks of Guidelines regarding Refresher courses...etc. and number 16

16. Rogue divers, defined as those divers who refuse to adhere to the safety code of the CITA, should be reported immediately to all dive operators via email broadcast from the CITA membership office.

The Dive Operation at Morrit's Tortuga Club.

While the diving around all three islands is spectacular, there are different things to see around sides of the islands. Ms. Watrdncr had decided that part of her group wanted to dive on the East End, which we helped her arrange.

This is a quote from Rod McDowall, Operations Manager at Red Sail Sports and Tortuga Divers.... "please be Aware that Red Sail Sports and Tortuga Divers abide by depth and time policies or recommendations made by our own internal decisions or CITA guidelines. We use the 100' depth limit as our maximum, depth and the time available depends on their computer reading and
our company expectations as to the amount of air we like them to have in the tank at the end of the dive for safe dive practices. These policies are understood and very well received by 99% of our dive customers.'

So in fact, Ms. Watrdncr and the couple of divers that went with her, did not do any deep diving at all at Tortuga and as any certified diver would know, you would not do reverse profiles with your dives in a 24 hour period... 100' followed by a 60' dive, followed by a 130' dive. Tortuga Divers afternoon dive has a depth limit of 60'.

It is sad that three people out of this group,including Ms. Watrdncr, who professes herself to be a dive professional, could blatantly break not only depth, but length of time and our policy of coming up with 500 psi of air. Plus the fact (and it is stated everywhere from our website, to our boats and on our dive shop, NO SOLO DIVING, yet Ms. Watrdncr and a couple others on her group, including the gentleman who could not walk up stairs, were caught on numerous occasions and spoken about it. Speaking of the gentleman that could not walk up stairs, he broke his profiles so badly, that he put his dive computer into decompression, ran out of air to take him out of a decompression dive and lead him being not allowed in the water for 24 hours. This gentleman who had the difficulty, walked to town over a mile while the others were out diving the rest of his stay.

Believe me, when I say, this was not the model of her entire group. Many of them where shocked at the attitude of their group leader, thanked us for our service, great hospitality and our concern for their safety and well being on their dive vacation.


Since Ms. Watrdncr was the instigator of many of these guideline infractions, Ms. Watrdncr's real name and the blatant solo diver are the only names that has now been shared under Section 16.

I am also very please to share, that PADI (the Professional Association of Dive Instructors) believes in our product here at Sunset House so much, that for the 15th year in a row has reserved the entire resort this June for their PADI Diving Society week long event Total Submersion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    150
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
96
158
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at Sunset House many times and consider it our home for Grand Cayman. We always have great food and the accommodations are very good. The dive staff is the greatest and work very hard to make sure that all dives are good and a lot of fun. Sunset House has always worked very hard to make sure we (and all the people traveling with us) are happy and having a great vacation. We are looking forward to making another trip to Sunset House sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majadahonda, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and me spent from August 9 until 15 in Sunset hotel, diving everyday, with a 6 days package and also unlimited shore diving. We also did the Kitti wake dive, amazing!! But we skipped the ray city one and some diver colleagues that went told us we were certained it is a visit to take photos, but its not real diving. The hotel room espacious, comfortable beds and although its not five star place for diving its perfect!!
The food in the restaurant very good, we just had breakfast included in our hotel rate, and it was very nice; but also we had several times lunch and dinner at My Bar and the quality and service provided was top! Also some of the waitresses were from Dominican Republic and they were ver nice speaking to us in Spanish when they realize it was our mother tongue.
One tip: the hotel shop is very good for divers and also souvenirs. We notice it the last day with everything packed, if we'd known before our submarine photos won't be so blue!, we would have bought a magenta filter to solve it, next time!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elena128rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is was our third stay at this property and would gladly stay here again.
Everyone at the property was extremely friendly and helpful. They always have smiles on their faces and always cracking jokes!! Great staff overall!!
We didn't stay in the waterfront rooms and we are thinking that maybe next time we should. Our room was clean and the AC worked perfectly!! However, if there is ONE thing that would make this place PERFECT it would be updated rooms!
You cannot beat the convenience of location. Almost everything you could possibly need is right on property. The Sunset Dive Shop is on property and they are AMAZING!! The diving is always great, looooong bottom times (not like other operators that limit the dives to 30min), clean & comfortable boats, and an excellent staff as well. Simon, Aaron, and Roger: THANK YOU for a SUPERB time!! There is the SeaHarvest Restaurant, My Bar, and Cathy Church's Photo Studio and Camera Shop... all right there so there is no reason to have to leave the resort. Overall I would highly recommend if you are going to Cayman for some diving!! It's no-frills, but super convenient!!

Room Tip: The Oceanfront Rooms are very popular and have the king size beds. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladivinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed seven nights in an Ocean Front room. As we didn't spend much time on our back deck, not sure we'd spend the money on this again. The view was beautiful, to be sure, but we didn't spend much time looking at it. The hotel is clean and the rooms are minimal, but we weren't in them all day, so they fit our needs. The diving staff here were wonderful and helpful. The front desk, however, not always so much. "I just work the front desk" not a great customer service response. We loved swimming in the warm pool in the evening. The waterfall is a really nice touch. My Bar has a nice, outside atmosphere, but if you're going to have anything other than the bar food, or the Indian food, I would head to somewhere else on the island. There're better restaurant meals at better prices elsewhere. Overall, this was a good experience, very nice and convenient for divers. We'll probably be back upon our return to the Caymans.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCase714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My brother and I stayed here for the first time last weak and had a great time! We shared an ocean front room which was well kept and comfortable. The dive operation was top notch, the boat captains and dive crews were all very knowlegable and professional. The bar "My Bar" is a great place to drink and eat. The entire hotel/bar/diving staff exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FINMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Spent 9 days At Sunset House and did 8 days of scuba diving. Great food. Terrific "My Bar". Great friendly staff. Very good dive instructors. Great dive sites and shore diving. No beach diving - jump off the wall into 10' of water. Ladder exit. Reasonable rates. Great place for couples and families who want to scuba dive. Free breakfast with you stay. A must do - have a "Mudslide" at My Bar after diving for the day.

Richard Adams, Redondo Beach, CA

Room Tip: Talk to reservations @ Sunset House. They will fit a room to you needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,122 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing