We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunset House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a great dive hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has been recently upgraded with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and new furniture. I love this hotel and will continue to come back again and again. My Bar is great. Try the chicken stur fry

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubapro11768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    149
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
154
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is an excellent destination for scuba divers! As the slogan states, "a resort for divers by divers". Everything is timed to facilitate diving. The restaurant opens in plenty of time to eat comfortably and still make the morning dive boat. That boat is back in time for an unhurried lunch and then make the afternoon boat. We stayed in the newly renovated Ocean-view rooms and were not disappointed. Clean, spacious, and had everything you could ask for.
There is shore diving at your doorstep with the renowned mermaid statue a short swim away. There were a number of children there for several days but I don't see this as overly family-friendly, only because there isn't a beach and no real place for the children to play that I noticed. No one seemed to mind and they did entertain themselves so who am I to judge?
The food at the restaurant was delicious and the Indian fare option a real treat! Staff was friendly and helpful and the dive operation top-notch. Some of the guided boat tours ended up being guided 10 minutes out, 10 minutes back, then on your own for 30 minutes under and around the boat. It would have been appreciated if they pointed out some of the more unusual inhabitants of the reef, but being allowed to do your own thing with your buddy was also appreciated. Can't make up my mind, can I? Having world-renowned Cathy Church's studio and camera center on site was an added bonus. Photo pros galore, all willing to help you become a better photographer. We did 21 dives in the 7 days there so cannot comment on the night life (except underwater)! George Town is about a 15 minute walk but beware, there are no sidewalks so watch for cars and bikes!

Room Tip: The ocean-view rooms seem to be worth the extra. We had a visitor from one of the other ones and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just back from a four day stay at Sunset House. Hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. Dive staff are awesome. All friendly, helpful, and entertaining. Boat and shore diving was great and they make it all so easy. My Bar was a great place to hang out and replay the events of the day. Food was always good. Especially the vindaloo.
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Dive staff and hotel staff were great! A couple of "my bar" staff were fine but most of them were great, may have just been understaffed. If you are a diver this is your place to go, for non divers depends on you, our non divers seemed to be ok 2 of 3 of them even did a dive or two. If you are a dog person ask to meet Merlin and Murphy! Will be going back soon. Shipwrecks, stingray city and tons of fish. Check out La mesa dive site. If your into Waldorf Astoria the rooms aren't that but they stayed cool, were clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EudonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Fantastic place to stay and dive!!! Karin and Keith run a top notch resort. We visited in July and found everything was as described. The rooms were spacious and diving phenominal. Great shore diving as well with an extremely easy entrance via the "pool". We will be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the additional fee for an ocean front room...well worth it!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jswbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for a week in an apartment room with an adjoining double. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of any needs, the dive shop staff was very accommodating, courteous and knowledgeable. Shore diving was simple with tanks, lockers and rinse tank easily accessible. The restaurant food (Indian menu) was fabulous and the wait staff attentive and proficient. The owners made us feel most welcome and we would definitely return and recommend to friends. Grand Cayman can be expensive overall, but we felt we got good value for our trip. Thanks for making it great!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just a big thank you to Sunset House, for making our precious holiday time so special as always, The subtle improvements year on year add to the pleasure of visiting Sunset. Would certainly recommend the resort to not just experienced divers, but also the beginner, novice or newly certified diver(s) either as a couple a group or a single individual!! the diving discipline and extremely high standards of instruction are as good as it gets!!!

If your first fin strokes to explore the wonderful underwater world are at Sunset you will have a bench mark to judge other resorts by!!!

The dive operation is educational, professional and most importantly safely run a credit to the owners and a testament to the staff!

We all had a relaxing holiday from the 21st Oct thru 2nd November 2013 .Great diving on the boats and off the shore , fantastic food and service at My Bar and great house keeping too!!

The other Guest's on the boat were a great bunch to many names to mention but you know who you are !!

As for you Clint what a great example of a newly certified diver , was a pleasure diving with you. and lastly sad to see Charlotte , Rob and Trevor departing for new adventures But great to meet Jess , Lee ( the only other person who knows were dobbs weir is) and John all a good addition to the sunset team!!

If you want a family dive destination head for Sunset House !!

Thank you Karin , Keith and Murphy for the resort management exceptional an hope you take up kit's suggestion of the walk of Fin's at sunset for us regular guest's would love to leave our mark at Sunset

Nick , Kit, Sam and Freya

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittySuffolkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,920 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing