We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & fun resort for divers!”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just left sunset house today and I figured I had better write while riding home with everything fresh on my mind. We booked a trip after reading all of the reviews on trip advisor & I have to say the reviews were very accurate. We have stayed in several all-inclusive resorts and if you are expecting luxurious then you had better stay somewhere else; however, if you are looking for a safe, friendly resort that revolves around diving...this is the place for you. I cant say enough about the dive staff, professional yet funny and extremely personable! A special shout out to Jess for letting me borrow her personal BC and computer after I left mine in the room! It kept me from missing two awesome dives where a shark swam right up under me! Thanks again!!
After we returned from diving, we walked into town for lunch (about a mile & completely safe). We even used public transportation after getting directions from Jennifer at the front desk and went to seven mile beach. I loved the location of the resort because it was away from the cruise crowd and was very quiet and nice. There was a great group of guests staying at the resort and we had fun meeting everyone and hearing dive stories each day! We even rented a go pro on the last day to film devils grotto and sting ray city and that was definely worth it. Kathy church's staff were very knowledgeable about their products and I wished we had bought a camera to have taken lessons while there. We ate at "My Bar" three times & enjoyed every meal (comparable to other prices on the island) & the divers breakfast was also a hit as we love a big breakfast! I really can't say enough good things about this resort. A special thanks to Sarah, Lee, Sam, Tavo?, Reese, rodger, & Jennifer for making this vacation a memorable one! We are hoping to have the opportunity to return again one fine day! Oh, & if you are lucky, you may get to meet Murphy on an afternoon stroll! Many thanks & God bless! Tom & Jill

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t28w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Sunset House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a great time at Sunset House. Awesome scuba diving staff that are very knowledgeable and professional. One of the best parts of Sunset House is My Bar. It is a bar and grill that is right on the resort. Great food and it's located on top of the sea wall. This resort is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCSO290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks for writing BCS. For those wanting to see the menus for My Bar or learn more about the diving here, visit us on our website! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a few drinks at this beautiful outdoor bar after a business meeting. It is a very cool place to hang, with a real "surfer dude" feel to the place. Service was hip, upbeat and friendly. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks David for the "surfer dude" compliment! :O)

We are a dedicated dive resort where divers from all over the island come down to hang out and share adventures. Thanks for "hanging" out with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Didn't get a chance to dive here - just had an extra night on the island courtesy of Delta airlines (no - they didn't cover the cost). Room is nothing fancy! However, very nice bar/restaruant facilities with stunning ocean view. Kind of fun to watch scuba students doing their classes in the morning.
Very nice and helpful staff.
Shower has NO water pressure - if you have a great deal of hair to get rinsed, bring a bucket with you.

Room Tip: consider ground floor - or carry your luggage up stairs - and watch the top step, it's higher th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Gavin! Hope you delayed trip back home was uneventful and glad you did get a chance to stay with us, even if it was for only one night! We apologize for the lack of water pressure that was intermittent that night. This is beyond our control as we get what comes off the main out in the street and if you Google "water leaks in Cayman" you will see that they were (and are) still searching and fixing leaks in the area. If you would have had the chance to stay longer, you would have noticed this was a rare instance, but real for sure!
We've never thought about the relation between Jimmy's poem and that top step of the 500 block, but you are right! We might just have to put that saying at the bottom of the stairs.. Amazing what a little bit of difference makes!
We hope to see you back again someday, especially if you are a diver! If not, it would be great seeing you in the pool learning to dive in the morning...

Warm regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great place to relax and enjoy life whether you are a diver, snorkeler or wave watcher. Great food with reasonable prices, amazing staff and the best 4-legged greeter ever! You must meet Murphy-you'll be friends "fur-ever". Thanks Karin, Keith, Murphy, Troy in the dining room and the rest of the wonderful staff at Sunset House.

Room Tip: enjoy having a room facing the water to watch sunrises and sunsets
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookyeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks Cookye for your kind words and we cannot wait to have you back again! This has been a terrible winter for so many up North and we know you are still battling the effects of this winter! Thanks for spending some of it with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Keith and the rest of the gang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I just returned from my dive trip to Grand Cayman. I myself hadn't gone diving in many years and my friend had never been). We did a certification course together back in the US and did our open water while in the Caymans.

We opted for a dive hotel since the majority of our trip was dedicated to diving. The Sunset House was recommended by a family member who is a diver and also has stayed there. We knew we were not staying at the Ritz Carlton but the Sunset House did not disappoint!

Check in was quick and easy -- an employee carried our bags to the room for us. We opted to stay in an ocean view room with 2 double beds. This no frills hotel was more than adequate. The room was large and spacious, clean with comfortable beds. . There was A/C, a fridge, iron, hairdryer and TV (really? Im on vacation…i don't need TV. Weather- sunny and warm. Yep, sounds right). The shower was huge….two shower heads. Of course, we had a great view of the water. This is not a luxury hotel…..but if you want to get your money worth this is the place!

We checked in with the dive shop to get the details of our course the next day and check out the rental gear ( we didn't bring our own BC/regulators or wetsuits). We were issued a brand spanking new BC and other other gear had very little wear and tear! Next after we dropped off our stuff we headed over for our free drink at the bar. That rum runner didn't stand a chance! What a view….we came in on an afternoon flight and this timed our viewing the sunset at My Bar perfectly!!

The next day we met Tahvo and Aaron. Tahvo took care of our paperwork at the shop and let us know Aaron was going to be our instructor. Boy did we luck out with Aaron! It was obvious that he knew his scuba diving and he was also conscientious of our novice status. My friend was fairly apprehensive about the underwater thing. Aaron made us feel very comfortable and we both felt we were in good hands.

We did 4 shore dives with Aaron ( right at/off the hotel!) Can you believe we saw a few reef squid (cuttlefish), a puffer fish and a lot of other awesome stuff just right off the shore from the hotel! What a great reef. The next 2 days we did our first boat dives.

I guess we had to cut the Aaron strings at some time…. He was on the other boat (not ours). But Tahvo was there and we know he knew we were baby divers. He took great care of us and made sure we were comfortable on the boat dive- as did the other divers we met from Montreal. What magic these waters have….we saw a turtle almost immediately upon entering the waters!

Needless to say that the diving was a great experience! All the dive staff that watched us out during our stay were phenomenal. Special thanks to Aaron, Tahvo, John, Lee, Jess.
***We did do a dive with another company while there (Sunset dive time conflicted with another event we had scheduled) and it was NOT the same. Not bad…I just felt Sunset was more conscientious.

If ever going to Grand Cayman to dive this is the place for you!!! As a tourist not diving it will do also- quick 10-15 min walk to town, great staff, great food and drinks. (no room service). There is no beach at the hotel (rocky coral) but has a pool and a 10 minute walk to a great little beach/swim cove.

No other place I would stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaekoMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Yaeko for taking the time to share your experience here at Sunset House. We are happy to hear we met your expectations and look forward to having you again as a repeat guest!

We might want to add that not all rooms have two shower heads! :O) Just the suites and the beds are queens.

We do rotate our gear annually so that our guests have the best and latest Scuba Pro gear on the market.

Warm regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I did not have a reservation and we were greeted at the front desk by Jennifer, Murphy and Karin with a warm welcome and a complete description of the rooms and packages available. We are divers and planned to dive with Sunset, but a last minute change in plans necessitated a new venue for lodging. After talking with Karin and touring the grounds we decided to check in, so glad we did! We were able to salvage our vacation and Sunset House made that possible.

We checked in at the dive center and they were already waiting for us, we filled out the necessary paperwork and shared a few laughs with Simon and Roger. After settling in to our very comfortable room, we geared up for a shore dive and found ourselves on a world class dive circling around the beautiful statue of “Amphitrite”, the Sunset House mermaid. Later, we stopped in at My Bar for a burger and a beer, and enjoyed a fabulous sunset and some much needed rest.

The next morning we boarded the boat and Captain Lee, Aaron and John treated us to some great diving, later that afternoon, Jess and Tahvo (sorry for any spelling errors…), along with Capt’n Lee took us out to Stingray City. The next few days we visited the Kittiwake and other great sites and made some friends along the way.

The dive staff is great, they give detailed briefings and lead you along a dive offering as much freedom or guidance as you would like. The housekeeping staff is warm and friendly, offering a smile whenever you pass. The staff of the Sea Harvest restaurant and My Bar are witty and accommodating and genuinely care about how they serve you. Top it all off with the managers Keith and Karin, and their dedication to each of their guests and you can guaranty yourself a great vacation!

The island of Grand Cayman is a great destination and the Sunset House Dive Resort is a great place to stay… can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hey Rick!

You know when the stars align just right how things work out... So glad that you ended up here at Sunset House and enjoyed your stay! We love seeing all the pictures you have posted on our Facebook site and the one with you and the Stingray is just perfect!

Please stay in touch! You are part of the family here now and we will see you again soon... Warm regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,342 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,259 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £142 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing