We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cayman Experience”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Cayman Experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Disregard any negative comments. . . Sunset House is the best dive operation on the island. Roger runs a top notch dive shop, Chris, Jess, Pete, Simon, Sam, Tavo were excellent. The hotel, restaurant and bar staff was incredibly nice and the rooms were well maintained.

This is a dive resort so be prepared to meet divers. Had loads of fun hanging out in the bar after a day of diving with other guests and dive shop staff talking dives, exchanging stories and picking up great bits of intel here and there.

Do yourself a favor if you are going to Cayman, stay Sunset House, dive Sunset House and avoid the inferior operators.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are awesome. 240-242. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    150
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
97
158
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 8 days at this fantastic dive resort during Cathy Church’s Photofest. After the event I dived with the in-house dive team and they were wonderful. Since this is a dive resort, all diving was charged to my room, which made things quite convenient. The dive team followed all standard safety procedures and took us to fantastic reefs, which hosted a ton of life. The dive masters conveniently pointed out area of interest during the dive. In addition, I took advantage of the hotels special night dives and trips to the Kittiwake and Stingray City.

Getting back to the resort grounds, I booked an ocean front room, which was spacious and well maintained. My room consisted of two queen size beds, mini-refrigerator, cable or Directv and balcony with table and chairs. The AC unit kept my room ice cold just how I like it. The resort dining room was pretty close to my room and served a decent breakfast. The hotel bar was well stocked and had a wide lunch selection. WIFI signal was ok throughout the property.

The hotel is centrally located and is only a short 10-minute walk to the main Georgetown area that host many restaurants and bars.

The dive shop and hotel grounds staff were pretty friendly.

I would definitely stay and dive at the Sunset House next time I visit Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhenryhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

would like to offer my thanks to capt. roger,divemasters pete and sam.best diving experience I ever had.the bar was cool too.my non diving wife agreed to going back again.my next time back would like to dive the kittywake.dr.joe

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

By far the worst hotel experience I've had in my life! Floors were so filthy the bottoms of our feet turned black from walking on the room floor. Manager was probably the rudest person we've encountered in the hospitality business. Rooms are next to a busy bar. My wife and I had a queen bed vs. the promised King size bed. Shower had a "trick" to getting hot water and we were treated with attitude when we inquired as if we should have naturally known the system to get hot water. If you have extremely low standards and just want the dive location go ahead, but if you are looking for a clean, friendly, nice hotel, choose any of the many other options in Grand Cayman. The savings are not worth it. Just don't do it!!!

Room Tip: Expect rude customer service, Noisy and busy traffic in front of rooms, and dingy experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sevenxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sevenxc,

I am sorry that you found our resort not to your liking. At first, I was completely taken back, but then this morning, the staff reminded me of who you were and the bigger picture came to light, which I am thrilled you have given me the opportunity to address your concerns and relay the problems you do not share in your commentary. I really do not care, if you call me "rude", but let's not confuse the word "Rude" to "Not wanting to listen and accept the facts".

I can assure you that no one "guaranteed" you a king size bed. We "will" try to accommodate, where we can at time of check in. But when you father-in-law came in to make the reservation, we only had three rooms left. You showed your dislike to the room as soon as you checked in, were given the opportunity to move to another room and were given the opportunity then to leave with no penalty so you could get what you wanted, for you and your wife, somewhere else. You declined.

With all due respect to your father-in-law, who is a Caymanian, lives here on island, we gave him the resident rate, at which he informed us then that you, nor your wife, live in the Cayman Islands (even though your wife carries a Caymanian Passport) and your review Trip Advisor username confirms you live in Miami. (Same with the phone number you gave for me to call you back on again, when you tried to demand the tax back)

We have to follow what the Government of the Cayman Islands sets forth in our Tourism License and as I explained on the phone, even someone having a Caymanian passport, if you "do not live" in the Cayman Islands, you are subject to the same 23% tax and service charge as any of our other customers pay that live overseas. I know you did not like hearing that, felt that you should get money back, but not getting what you want, should not mean for you to be slanderous towards our establishment, staff and product.

The water situation, you were instructed that the faucet handles were opposite of what you have at home in the room you were in. There was no "attitude"; that was what you brought that back when you could not get an ocean view room or a king size bed. And again, you were offered a full refund and go somewhere up on Seven Mile Beach. We had no other rooms to offer, or rooms with a king bed; simple.

You stayed here three nights. The floors were cleaned and mopped. You were right off the parking lot and being barefoot on the parking lot does tend to "dirty feet, as our barefoot guests find out, but the rooms are clean, as others testify on Trip Advisor.

I would like to sum this reply up with a couple of simple facts for others that read this.

We are a family owned and run Dive Resort... If you do not like being awakened by the tinkling sounds of dive tanks in the morning, the smell of sausage, bacon and a hearty made to order breakfast being fixed and the laughter of giddy divers getting ready to go out on some of the best scuba diving sites this planet has to offer.... Please, do not stay here!

We do not work with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, or any of the other "room night only" online travel agencies for these simple reasons. We do not have a beach; we DO have a spectacular world-class shore dive that "our" customers, thoroughly enjoy daily.

And bottom line and I mean this with all sincerity; you can call me anything you want... I don't care. But DO NOT say our Guests have low standards... I think once folks read the truth, they will choose for themselves, who really has what.

And as Forrest Gump once said... "That's all I have to say about that"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My son and I stopped in to check on shore dives. They have the best staff I have ever in countered!!!!! We signed up for the, USS Kittywake dive and the string ray dive and two shore dives. Thank you for making our week at the Grand Caymans2

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Ty,

Thanks for writing in advance and finding out what we were all about the the schedule of the dives like the Kittiwake. Thanks for your kudos and look forward when you come back here and stay with us! See you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for winter break 2013-2014. It was a great place to stay, clean, friendly, easy to get around if you have a car. The only downside is for children if they are not into diving. My son who was 10 during the trip actually went diving a couple of times and it was great.

Room Tip: my room faced the water - wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autoharp433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Autoharp433 ,

We are glad that you took the time and expended your experience here at Sunset House. We will be the first to admit that if the kids are not of diving age, or do not dive, there is not much for them to do, except hang out by the pool or snorkel. Not having a beach to play on is a disadvantage for families that kids that do not dive, but what an opportunity to have them experience an Discover Scuba or start their open water certification with our warm clear water right off shore...

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. Dive staff was very knowledgeable and helpful especially with our younger divers. Meals at the restaurant were great and we particularly enjoyed the Indian dishes. Temperatures were consistently warm as was water temperature. Water clarity was amazing. Best dive location we have been to! And you have to meet Murphy!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Kathleen, Thank you for writing about your fantastic experience. (BTW, Murphy sends his love). We do our best to cater to all levels of the sport of scuba diving! We're happy to hear that we were good ambassadors to the younger ones! We hope to see you back soon and enjoy the summer in Canada!
With warm regards... All of us, at Sunset House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,327 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,201 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing