We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for divers.”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great hotel for divers.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Sunset House for a week with a group of 20 divers. We had a great time at Sunset House and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good dive trip. My room was great even though it overlooked the parking lot. The on site restaurant was pretty good (great fish and chips) and although pricey and a little slow, the portions were generous. The bar was also nice.
I cannot say enough about the excellent diving just off the hotel's shore. It has easy entry and exit (via ladder) and there are several reefs (including an impressive wall), a small wreck and the famous statue. We did several dives off the hotel shore and saw some of the best life there, including spotted eagle rays, peacock flounder, Caribbean reef squid and drumfish, to name a few. We wished we could have fit in more shore dives.
My only criticism is that the hotel has several odd rules that are inflexibly enforced. For example, everyone needs to be out of the pool by 10 PM, which struck us as way too early. Also, umbrellas round the pool come down sharply at 5 PM, even though the sun won't set for another 2+ hours. These rules put a bit of a damper on our apres-diving fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks Alexander for your review and high marks for the resort!
There are probably many people that have been long time Sunset House guests going, "What umbrellas is this person talking about, there are no umbrellas by the pool!" Well folks, Alexander is right, matter of fact, we are still in the process of building stands and have two up at this time.. Nice big 11' diameter umbrellas for shade. There will eventually be four.

While this is all brand new to us and not having ANY umbrellas on the pool deck, we thought it would be a good idea to put the umbrellas away right before the maintenance staff leaves and not have the view blocked from the restaurant before the sun goes down... Obviously, with your comments, we were wrong, so we have changed this policy to leave them out and just lower them when the pool closes.

Most hotels have their pools open from sunrise to sunset... We leave ours open until the restaurant closes at 10:00, which seems to fit the hours requested by most of our guests!

Thank you again for your comments and see, we do listen... See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    149
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
154
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here last summer with a larger group and did boat dives every morning and some of the special afternoon trips (Stingray city, Kittiwake). As a result, got to go out with several of the different dive masters and boat captains and as a group they really were a top notch crew. Cayman offers a nice variety of diving and the house reef at Sunset House didn't get old even after 6 or 7 dives. Nothing but great things to say about the diving and the dive shop.

Breakfast every morning was fantastic. Prompt and friendly service and I like that the menu gave you a variety of options to try throughout the week. The restaurant at My Bar was also very tasty!

The rooms are nothing to rave about but were clean and cozy. We had an ocean view with a balcony and if you can snag one of those you'll enjoy it.

Would recommend this to anyone looking to get a lot of diving in with hearty breakfast to start the day!

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulf-coast-walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks GC Walter for your review... We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Everyone enjoys the ocean view rooms, that cost a bit more, but well worth it... If you have not heard, all of these rooms are becoming Pro Photographer Signature Rooms, with famous underwater photographers featured in each room... Check our Facebook site to see how the rooms progress... Jim Hellemn finished his room up two weeks ago and several more are being done as we speak.

See you again soon with the rest of the gang! Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at Sunset House June 28th through July 5th. Room was very nice and clean.
I spent most f my time diving from their boats (mornings) and taking classes at Cathy Church's Photo Centre followed by nice long shore dives. I also found time to do Stingray City Deep with friends who live on the island and do some shore diving at Sunset House with them as well.
The grounds are well maintained and the restaurant is really very, very good. Drinks at My Bar can be potent, so be aware.
But the best part is seeing my little friend Murphy...what a guy, hard working and tireless, but he is always more than happy to spend some time with you.
Karin and Keith are great managers and their office staff is extremely personable and helpful.
I will be returning to this lovely resort/dive destination soon.

Room Tip: Anything is good here, but the Ocean View rooms are fabulous. The new room upgrades for various wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psincl5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Pat, thanks again for your kind words... We look forward to seeing you back again in just a couple of months... (You know you have a great guest when they come back almost three times in 12 months!)
Your buddy Murphy here said to tell you Hi! We will make sure you are on a ground floor room again, so he can pay you a visit or two! (thanks for his toy!)

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful time while at Sunset House. The diving is awesome & the staff unbelievable! Everyone, from the managers, desk staff, office workers, dive boat Captains, dive masters, custodial staff, grounds crews & security were there to insure we had everything we needed for our vacation! Awesome Job Sunset House!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkramer1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks DKramer and look forward to seeing you again! We are happy to hear we met your expectations! Anything we can do to help make your next stay even more pleasurable, please let us know! Remember, direct repeat guests within 18 months get a discount! :O)

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I love to dive! We got certified late in life so we try to dive mini vacations as much as possible. This was her birthday weekend and needed a fun dive vacation! We had a perfect ocean front view with gorgeous palm trees cascading the beach property right in front of us.
Each morning we got up and had breakfast before we got on the boat. Great service, Great breakfast.
Sunset House has a great pool with a hot tub that my wife took advantage of daily. She has a bad back which she has to take care of. When we dive we have to share that my wife will need assistance getting on and off the boat. Roger our boat Captain and Simon a new dive master with Sunset House gave special attention to help her roll into the water and get back on the boat safely. They went above and beyond to assist to make sure her diving experience was awesome. Simon even helped her put her equipment on the tank which freed me up to handle my gear and do a nitrox check.
The rooms were clean comfortable and very functional for divers. I need to check my email frequently and felt their Internet signal strong with no drops/ or time outs.... that can happen on a lot of island stays at many hotels. Their entire staff was friendly and very service oriented. Jennifer at the front desk who was celebrating her birthday also was cheerful and full of fun. She and Karin helped me not get stuck with a lot of CI bills checking out they gladly exchanged for US to help us out!
My wife fell in love with Murphy the famous property dog who has trained his owners well!
Sunset House! Great Property, Great Diving, Great Sunsets, and most important Great People!
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Diverdk,

It was fun celebrating your wife's birthday and with "Sunshine" celebrating hers at the same time, made it even more of a party! We really look forward to having you back again! (Remember to get that ground floor room again, so Murphy can come in and give you those birthday kisses! See you soon!! And stay in touch!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at the Sunset House many times over the past ten plus years. Every visit has been excellent. We just returned (July 17, 2014) and this review will focus on that visit. We chose a courtyard room (the less expensive option). Our room had 2 double beds and lots of extra space for dive gear. The room was clean and fresh and included a small refrigerator. The resort has free wifi that is available in the rooms that are closer to the office - we were in 502 and the wifi worked great.

The main reason for staying at Sunset House is the diving and it was excellent. We were lucky to have flat seas, minimal currents, and good visibility for our visit. Dive staff members were friendly, fun to chat with, helpful with dive gear, and assured that each dive was fun and safe. We were on 4 of their boats over the course of our week and all had good ladders, shaded areas, ice water, orange slices between dives, and working marine heads. One of the things that I think is special about Sunset Divers is that they assign 3-4 staff to each boat. One always stays on the boat while the rest of us are in the water - important for safety. We love the shore dive at Sunset House and dove it 6 times while we were there. Again, entry and exit from the water is easy and safe. Water is changed often in the rinse tanks and there is a separate rinse bucket for cameras. The lockers for dive gear are nice and keep dripping gear out of the room.

The on-site restaurant (SeaHarvest) and bar (My Bar) are also great - see separate reviews.

We are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamasusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a group of 20 divers stay at sunset house this past week. Karin, Keith, and Murphy were the best managers i have ever dealt with. They welcomed us in person when we arrive, they gave us time to settle in and then briefed us on everything we needed to know while we stayed there. Though the restaurants on site were wonderful, they always gave us great ideas of which restaurants off the resort were wonderful. It was great to lock our wallets and money in the safe and be able to charge our food and beverages to the room. Sunset house was extremely safe, and on numerous occasions left my dive gear out all night (not that this is recommended), and it was always waiting for me in the morning. Keith's knowledge of the island and dive sites is amazing, always gave us excellent diving ideas and navigation to get there. I wish i could say they handled complains well, but in 8 days no one in our group had one. The dive sites of the resort are fabulous. The mermaid is a must see, and if you time it right you can be at the mermaid when the submarine comes by! If there is aquatic life you want to see Keith can tell you were it is at. I look forward to visiting again in the future! Thanks again Karin and Keith!

Room Tip: Signature rooms are being added. They are full of diving pictures by famous photographers. I was lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffLorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Geoff,
I cannot tell you how much of a pleasure it was to meet you and your wife and the great group of divers from Island Hoppers... What a fun, fun bunch and it was pleasing to us to see you take full advantage of what we have to offer here... I heard from Rob that another group trip is planned for 2015... Hope you are on that again!!!

Tell All Hi for us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,994 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing