We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for a Dive Vacation?? This is your place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for a Dive Vacation?? This is your place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We just arrived home 4 days ago from our first trip to Sunset House and are already planning our next trip. It isn't often that you go on vacation and come home feeling that you left your friends back on the island. Each person we met at Sunset House made a lasting impression. We can't wait to reunite with our friends again.

We spent 4 nights at Sunset during Tropical Storm Alex with no sunshine, but the best diving experience ever. The Sunset Divers staff, Mike, Trevor, Phil, Andy, Pete, Jaxx, and Greg each made our cloudy days into beautiful and safe diving. This is the first vacation that we have taken where we felt we made friends that we will keep in touch with for years to come, and will reunite with yearly at Sunset House.

For our birthday dinner, we had reservations on the other side of the island, not knowing that the cab fare would be over $140 one-way. Thanks to Glen, he advised us against the trip and then set us up with the best table at Guy Harveys, overlooking the water. It was also one of the best meals we had on the island. By the way, if you plan on travelling around the island, rent a car. It is much cheaper than taking cabs. The 1 mile trip to Georgetown costs $10 US.

After our daily diving we would hang out at My Bar with our dive buddies, dive instructors, and locals watching World Cup Soccer. Larry, Alina, and Julia took excellent care of us and made us feel right at home.

Sunset House is truly "For Divers, By Divers". If you are on the island strictly for a dive vacation, this is the only place to go. The rooms and amenities are designed to walk in with your wet gear. This is not a beach resort, it is the perfect dive resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamhidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    149
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
154
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Let me start by saying that you can not convert a hotel to Non Smoking just by moving the ashtray to the balcony. If you want to advertise "Non Smoking" you should replace the linens, pillows and beds. The bedding smelled like an ashtray. If you dive alot then you know what I mean when I say this is a basic dive hotel. I can't call it a resort. We travel alot and from SE Asia to the Caribbean. Housekeeping does a good job at cleaning but remember they are on island time so you may leave your room at 7:30 and return at 2pm and you room has not been serviced. Kinda an island standard. The service on the entire island was VERY good as compared to other islands in the caribbean. Our package included breakfast witch was good. The diving was ok for the caribbean, we have been spoiled by Indonesia, Philippines and Palau. I was disappointed by the dive operation, if I had known it was Red Sail I would have made alternate arrangements to dive. Not much "service" and to many rules.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My girlfriend and I did our checkout dives with Sunset House in Grand Cayman. Our divemaster was Trevor. I have nothing but great things to say about our whole experience. Trevor was excellent and made our diving safe and lots of fun. I highly recommend to anyone looking to dive in Grand Cayman, check out the sunset house. We may be new divers but the quality of the staff there is obvious even to us.

After becoming certified Open Water Divers we had lunch at My Bar on the Sunset House property. The food was great and the beer is cold and the location is beautiful. My only complaint which is merely a matter of preference is that the service was very slow. It by no means ruined the meal, just something that I would have changed. I would definately recommend lunch or dinner outside at my bar. You can't beat the food and the view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We really enjoyed our 9 days at SH. We booked the large suite and were very pleased with the accommodation. It was very nice to have the larger room with a king bed/ fridge, etc. This hotel/motel would be rated a 3 star, but it is a terrific spot. The only drawback for this large room is a very small balcony on the second floor overlooking the ocean, which was a disappointment, but.....we just went downstairs and lounged on the chairs overlooking the ocean. Next time - for the sake of convenience, we'd go for a bottom level floor - to just walk out at the front.
All the staff were very friendly. Morning breakfast was great. The restaurant staff work very hard and long hours! We'd see them at breakfast and then working at "My Bar" during the evening. This bar/restaurant is wonderful. Yes, the sunsets there are incredible! You must go early to get a good seat! The food was very good as well. We'd eat a large lunch/supper and then eat lightly in the evening. Unfortunately, no entertainment at night other than the bar music. It would be nice to listen to some local musicians.
Very quiet in the evenings - even in town - which was a big surprise! It is walkable from the hotel, but be very careful due to the crazy drivers!
Lovely spot! I'd recommend to anyone. Unfortunately, due to the weather, we couldn't get to either end of the island for the boat diving. As well, only 2 tank in the a.m. - no afternoon dives. Terrific dive operation! Hats off to all the dive operation members. Excellent job!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We've been to this spot more than once. Management truly knows how to run a bar to it's patrons' delight - the food is superb, and the beverages are well-ranged.

The rooms are somewhat antiquated compared to newer establishments, however, the diving and ambience more than make up for it.

Parking can be a problem at times. The maid staff is delightful - very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toto24522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Went with our dive club for a week of diving. We had a great time and were happy with the overall services we received from Sunset House. The rooms are not fancy, but are spacious and clean. Little bits of TLC are needed...ie fix door knobs, grease stuck doors, fix shower curtian.....

The restaurant was great! Food and service was excellent as we had breakfast everyday and dinner most nights. For dinner, go outside onto the back terrace next to the ocean. Beautiful view, espeically at night near sundown. Staff was excellent!!

Bar there was nice with a big patio. They make a great smooth margaritta too. Service was not as good as the resturant though and noticeably so. Food was served from the restaurant and was excellent. Maybe not enough people there to handle the crowds. I think they need more staff or a POS system to make things more efficient and faster.

Diving - cannot say enough about the Dive Masters! They were great, helpful, courteous, and fun. Very attentive and did whatever they could to make the dives enjoyable. Asked us where we wanted to go, gave us suggestions, and then went to great dive sites. Trevor, Pete, & Phil - you guys were great....Thanks!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Just back from a dive trip to Cayman as guests at the Sunset House and took advantage of the "dive package" for one week. Prior to going, I did some research with local divers and the internet on the matter and Sunset House came in highly rated. I can say we are very happy with our choice and would return again without hesitation. Having done live aboards, Mexico, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Bahamas..I would say the Sunset House and Sunset Divers stand with any outfitter that we have experienced and are better than most. Great attitudes from the people, Dive Masters, hotel personnel, restaurant and bar personnel really friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaSmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing