We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day thanks to Captain Jeff”

Cayman Private Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a locally owned company that has been in the private charter business for over 10 years. The owner has been working with family boat charters, in the Cayman Islands, since the age of 6, some 30+ years now! Striving to offer something different to locals and tourists alike. Cayman Private Charters operates a fleet of 5 boats including our flagship and most popular "Caribbean Explorer". Which is a 60' Sea Ray yacht that can comfortably cruise with up to 20 people in luxury and style with onboard Jet-ski! There is no comparable way to explore the fantastic & magical Cayman waters! In addition we operate smaller boats such as our beautiful 36' Intrepid with twin 300's,our 44' catamaran style sailing boat. Why go with a regular tour operator when you can charter your own private boat with a private captain and crew. We offer so much, such as water skiing, Rum Point, Kaibo, snorkeling, dinner cruises, SCUBA diving, and of course the Stingray City sandbar. All of our boats have been used for anniversaries, weddings, proposals, birthdays, sightseeing, sunbathing, general relaxing and massages, real estate exploring and of course snorkeling, diving and world famous stingray city sandbar.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic day thanks to Captain Jeff”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our afternoon on the boat with Captain Jeff of Cayman Private Charters was the highlight of our two week holiday. We went to Stingray City, Coral Gardens, Kaibo and Starfish Point. He was patient, thoughtful and helpful at all times. He even entertained our 3 young children with fishing while we went snorkelling along the reef. The boat was well stocked with snacks and drinks and all the gear needed for snorkelling and fishing. We have done similar trips with other operators on prior visits. We would recommend Cayman Private Charters as the best, in particular for their professional approach, excellent service and friendly helpful Captain Jeff!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Owner at Cayman Private Charters, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Hi Julia,

We really appreciate the impressive review.
Our island is very lucky to have the famous human-friendly Stingrays at Sting Ray City, the wonderful Coral Gardens, Starfish Point. Kaibo beach resort has also been visited by many guests and they love it. Capt. Jeff is one responsible, knowledgeable and fun Captain to tour you around. he always accommodate kids on the trip and make sure they are having extra-fun!
It is one of our main goals to have the boat ready for everything, from fishing gears, snorkeling gears to snacks and drinks!
Thank you very much for recommending Cayman Private Charters! And we hope to see you soon on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    3
    0
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day on the Sea with Steven”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a wonderful time with Steven as our tour guide. He took us to Sting Ray City, he was very knowledgable about the sting rays. He got in the water and helped us hold the sting rays. He had so much energy and was so much fun! He made the day so much fun!!!! He took us snorkeling and he knew all the great places where the fish lived. He took us around and showed us where to look. Then he took us to the Starfish beach and we took pictures with the starfish and he cut open the conch shells. He showed us how to clean the shells and then he made us ceviche. It was the PERFECT day!!!! I would highly recommend Steven!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SSW11BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Owner at Cayman Private Charters, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Hello,

We really appreciate the impressive review and grateful to know you had a wonderful day with one of our wonderful captains, Steven! Indeed his energy is never ending. We are thankful to have the Sting Rays around our beach to swim and play with, the colorful fishes and snorkeling areas and starfish point.
Thank you very much for recommending Cayman Private Charters and Capt. Steven! And we hope to see you soon on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a fantastic day with Steven and Heather. Although the boat was different to the one we had originally expected it was more than adequate.

We got picked up at the bottom of the garden (how decadent is that!). We went to the Stingray Sandbank and swam and fed them. On the way Steve showed us how to dive for Conchs. He managed to tire out one of our party who couldn't quite dive deep enough for the last one, having weathered the waves for several minutes.

After lunch we saw starfish and Steve showed us how to get the Conch out of its shell. We even ate the spine which he persuaded us was an aphrodisiac (this was day 2 in GC so we were all exhausted later!). Later he rustled up some Conch meat in marinate and it was very tasty.

We had a go on jetskis and then later snorkeled across coral.

The weather played its part during the day and both Steven and Heather couldn't do enough to ensure we were having a very enjoyable day - which we certainly did.

First class, thanks guys!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cjm2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Owner at Cayman Private Charters, responded to this review, 5 June 2015
Hi cjm2503,

Thanks for the fantastic review... they mean so much to us!!

I agree with you. We have a great crew, Steven & Heather are a great team!! All of our crew are a great resource to our company and the island! Glad you enjoyed the boat and pickup location, the jet-ski and snacks etc provided... Especially the conch they dove up and prepared...

We pride ourselves on offering trips that are unique and not anything you would get elsewhere!

Hope to see you back with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Plan failed”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was part of the 8 people that were on a cruise and decided to spend a few hours on a private tour. (Another from my group also reviewed) I choose Cayman Private Charters due to the high rating here on Trip Advisor.

Communication with Keri was great when deciding on which vessel to rent, making payments, getting directions, etc. She always returned emails promptly.

Upon arrival to Camana Bay where our boat docked, I was a little worried. This is a BIG marina, but only two or three boats around and no other people. Our group walked down to the boat that we thought was our, and Captain Steve was on board.

He introduced himself, along with a girl that would come along as our photographer and general helper for the boat. He gave us the run down, we loaded our stuff on, and we were all set to head out, but one of the engines wouldn't start. We stood around while Captain Steve just cranked and cranked that engine until he killed the battery.
Captain Steve makes a phone call to the mechanic.

We all get off the boat. The mechanic says he's going to take a battery of the other boat that is theirs in the marina and get it running. We asked if we could just take that other boat, but the engine was out on that. We wait, he swaps batteries, we're getting nervous and think that if the engine won't start now, what happens when we're out in the ocean and it doesn't start???

Mechanic gets batteries swapped and nothing happens. No engine turning over, no nothing. We proceed to get all of our belongings off and make other plans. Captain Steve was nice enough to drive us to a beach afterwards, and was going to come pick us up and take us back to our chip, but that didn't happen either.

I don't think Captain Steve or the mechanic we very mechanically inclined.

Our entire group was very disappointed. This was gonna be the best excursion of our cruise, but it turned out to be the biggest bust I've ever encountered on any vacation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Reenwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Owner at Cayman Private Charters, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Reenwad,
(Same reply to your friend's review on the same trip on the same day with the same issue)

I was sorry to hear about the events of that day. This is the 1st time in 6 years that we had to cancel a trip without being able to use another boat in our fleet. As you pointed out, boats do break (probably worse that any other mechanical equipment due to the humid and salty conditions). But we always have backup boats. Your day, however, we could not make anything happen. Due to other boats being down for maintenance or on charter. As you pointed out there were other boats at the dock, but only one was ours and it suffered mechanical issues the night before and was fixed by the following night. Also, more often than not, the part(s) we need for a repair, like a starter in your boat’s case that day, is not available and has to be flown in from Miami or elsewhere, and that can take 2-5 days or more sometimes. If you were not on a cruise ship, and therefore could have gone out that afternoon or next day, we could have had the issue sorted and you out on the water, but you had no time. If our 55’ yacht was not available, we would have taken you on that at a free upgrade as we have done many times in the past as necessary. Sorry for the bad timing and when you return to Cayman, please contact me directly and I will see to it that you are well taken care of for the inconvenience. I would like to confirm that we gave you a full refund and that our team offered to give you an island tour via van for free to help improve your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Solution for our Trip”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We chartered a boat for 2 1/2 days with Captain Jeff and Captain Steven. They have great knowledge of the area, wildlife, and interesting points to see. Our whole family enjoyed the trip and were able to relax. We had lunch at Kaibo point one day, had on-boat catering on another, and thoroughly enjoyed our trip from the moment we made the arrangements with Keri. I can't say enough about what Keri did to make sure we were taken care of...she did a fantastic job of arranging everything, answering questions, and giving us a few pointers on how to enjoy our trip. We collected Conch, went to Stingray city, did some reef fishing, hours of snorkeling, examined underwater wrecks, and cruised around some of the most picturesque waters I have ever seen. The undersea wildlife was amazing. We ate fresh Ceviche on the boat prepared by the Captains, and even rented the SeaBob for two days! The kids loved it--and in fact were on it so much that we ran out the battery at the end of the first day!

My only regret is our trip was too short, and the last day was windy--but despite the wind, Captain Steven got us to calm waters and still had an excellent time on the water in what could have been an ugly day with the high winds and weather moving in...

Would recommend them to anyone wanting to maximize their time in the Caymans...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank osshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Manager at Cayman Private Charters, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Hello Osshouse,

Thank you for such a great review.
Capt Jeff and Steven are indeed knowledgeable of the Cayman ocean and its wildlife.
Kabob always offers great lunch and our on boat catering is also very famous for all of our visitors.
We are lucky to have the conch and stingrays around, so are the coral reef to snorkel and underwater wrecks are also amazing.

We are again thankful that the whole family enjoyed the trip with us and we are hoping to see again the very soonest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Private Charters also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing