We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of MarineLand Tours

MarineLand Tours
Ranked #7 of 72 Tours in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you’re in any doubt about how much fun is awaiting you on Grand Cayman’s two newest tours, read our reviews on tripadvisor. Fight your way through the superlatives – “awesome”, “fantastic”, “absolutely magnificent” Take a ride on the Cayman Explorer Deluxe Stingray City Sandbar Tour, a fabulous space-age-type boat that visits the world famous Stingray City Sandbar ... where you stand in shallow water and play with stingrays. The Cayman Explorer is purpose- designed and built specially for operating at Stingray City Sandbar and within the waters of Grand Cayman. This unique vessel is 20% lighter and 25% more fuel-efficient than any comparable boat of its class or size, The Cayman Explorer has a one-of-a-kind stern platform that descends into the water, giving exceptionally easy access to the water and back on to the boat. You need no snorkeling experience to take this excursion; snorkeling life vests and equipment are provided. The vessel has a full service bar on board and free Wi-Fi, two bathrooms and an upper sun deck, just to name a few of the amenities. The Tour departs daily from the new Barcadere Marina in the North Sound Lagoon. Unique trolley buses offer wheelchair access and are used to transport passengers to the Cayman Explorer.For another totally unique experience take a ride on Grand Cayman’s second new tour – the Best of Cayman by Amphibious Bus & Snorkeling Tour, courtesy of MarineLand Tours. Our Hydra Terra Amphibious Bus, a state-of-the-art, all- new, purpose-designed and purpose-built amphibious bus, takes you on a 2-hour tour of Grand Cayman on land and by sea. Expect to be amused and informed by your guide as you tour George Town before the big splash. Our fully narrated tour journeys through picturesque George Town and takes you to all the key sites with memorable history, amazing facts and, above all, lots of fun while in the comfort and security of our Unsinkable U.S. Coast Guard approved Hydra-Terra Amphibious Bus! View our beautiful Island from a totally new perspective with underwater video cameras and large LCD monitors as you experience the rich maritime history of our beautiful Grand Cayman Island while cruising past ancient shipwrecks amongst coral gardens full of abundant marine life, all found within crystal clear blue waters. Become part of the fish feeding show while snorkeling in a Marine park. Don't miss this exciting and entertaining adventure of a lifetime to see the Island the way it was intended . . . . FROM SEA AND LAND
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family went on a cruise and one of the stops was George Town, Grand Cayman there we signed up for an excursion to swim with stingrays. MarineLand Private Tours were GREAT very professional and courteous the kids really liked the experience I recommend the tours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R8711KSbrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    64
    13
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reception at the Port - Awful”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We signed on to the 2:00 PM (arriving by 1:45) departure to Stingray City and the previous group (was late. We did not leave port until 2:35 PM so we sat in the port in the hot sun for 50 minutes with no offer of water or anything else for that matter. Because the ship was to leave port at 5:30 we had an accelerated tour (normal tour is 1 hr and ours was 50 minutes). The person in charge of collecting the tickets and organizing the group was extremely discourteous and rude.
In any case, I'm still wondering what "deluxe" means here; all amenities (drinks, water and snacks were at very steep rates).
On a positive note, the tour itself was very controlled but pleasant- the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly; these attributes saved the score from a 1 to a 2.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Swimming with sting rays”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One of my favorite tours done on my cruise. There was a 10 minute trolley ride & 15 minute boat ride to and from Stinigray City. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. If you have a water-proof camera they will take as many photos of you and the sting rays as you'd like. We were able to hold the sting rays, kiss them and feed them. There was no limit to the amount of times you were able to do this. We felt safe and weren't scared of the animals at any time. The boat had a large platform that basically allowed you to walk on and off the boat without any difficulty. It is wheelchair accessible.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Deluxe Stingray City Tour-Not Handicap Accessible Transportation”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked this shore excursion through Carnival and paid $49.99 per person. I don't know what they charge the general public (probably a lot less). Anyway, I picked this particular tour because my mother is 67 years old with arthritis and I thought the steps on the boat would make it a lot easier for her. The boat was exactly as pictured. The problem was that we had to take a bus from the cruise port to the pier where their boat was docked. We had to climb a ladder up into the amphibious vehicle they transported us in. She made it up and down but it kind of defeats the purpose of marketing your boats accessibility and then putting people on a bus that is difficult for even able-bodied people to get in and out of. Additionally, I was disappointed because this tour was advertised as a 2 1/2 hour tour. We weren't gone for much more than 2 hours (2 1/4 hours tops). That included driving to and from the boat and the boat ride out to Stingray city. Fifteen to thirty minutes may not sound like much. But in my opinion, at the price we paid, that is quite a lot of time to be shorted. Also, there were several people on our tour (100?) and that meant that we had very little time to interact with the stingrays. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly like so many of the other reviews said. The experience was amazing! The stingrays were gorgeous, as was the water! I just wish the transportation would have been more accessible and the tour would have lasted the FULL 2 1/2 hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sting ray city”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We did the deluxe sting ray tour on August 4th through an excursion with our cruise. It was amazing. The tour guide were so knowledgable. They answered every question with great depth of knowledge. I would do this again in a heartbeat. I also appreciated that they took pictures for us with our own cameras, they didn't have a photographer and then tried to sell us something. My only suggestion would be that when we arrived, and they stopped the boat, they should have explained about not jumping and screaming, and that everyone needed to get in a big circle for safety information once in the water. This might make it possible to have more "water time" with the rays, instead of trying to round everyone up once in the water. But this was one of the best experiences my family has had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattiwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MarineLand Tours also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to MarineLand Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing