We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a small island, the variety of local art was good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Gallery of the Cayman Islands

National Gallery of the Cayman Islands
Ranked #11 of 52 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Gallery of the Cayman Islands' (NGCI) new purpose built 9,000sq ft facility houses the Cayman Island's national art collection, a gallery for temporary exhibitions, a lecture theatre, education centre, art library, sculpture garden and café. The gallery's busy schedule includes 75 art happenings per month, up to 8 exhibitions a year featuring Caymanian and International artists and several large scale community arts events.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“For a small island, the variety of local art was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It POURED outside, and NOONE except us were there. The British assistant was pleasant and informative about the art. They had Jamaican art and local Caymanian art when we visited.
Lots of fun caribbean colors of course. Free and you can go thru in about 45 min. Something to fill your art brain with on a rainy afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Squeekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Jamaican Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The new exhibit will not be there for long, so go when you can. You will see many different artist that will give you a wonderful feeling for their creations. Do not miss going upstairs for more Cayman art.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoalTorrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Impressive art museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a first-rate, if small museum that is worth a visit for anyone interested in art and future in the Caribbean. Kudos to the museum administration for maintaining this as a free institution, open to all. While we were there, a small but interesting exhibition of modern art from Jamaica was on view. The design and installation were very well done, and I say this as someone who works in the museum profession. We also enjoyed the 2nd floor exhibition of art by local artists. The gardens in the back were lovely; we enjoyed the labyrinth and the sculpture on view. I was impressed by the museum and look forward to seeing other exhibitions there when I have the opportunity to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great little gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a modern building with an attractive sculpture garden. The pictures show how the early simple styles were influenced by incomers to be more sophisticated and complex. There are some beautiful things to be seen. The downside is that access from the main road is difficult - coming from Georgetown it is not advisable to turn right into the gallery, and there is a lack of adequate signs. We had to drive to the next roundabout, quite a long way, go round it and come back to gain access.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank crumblybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EStoneK, Manager at National Gallery of the Cayman Islands, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We couldn't agree with you more about vehicle access from the main road. We are working with the National Road Authority on a proposal to improve access and create a road behind the F.J. Harquail Theatre to join the National Gallery’s car park. In the meantime we are promoting the existing foot path through a scenic wetland area as a “Cultural Trail” for visitors walking from the Seven Mile Beach area to the National Gallery. For a map of the Cultural Trail you can email us at communications@nationalgallery.org.ky. Do please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a lovely place. There is a nice sculpture garden and the art work comprises a wide and interesting range of styles and media. Definitely worth a stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Gallery of the Cayman Islands also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to National Gallery of the Cayman Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing