We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great excursion”
Review of Ebanks Watersports

Ebanks Watersports
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.50*
and up
Grand Cayman Jet Ski Tour: Stingray City and Snorkeling
Ranked #5 of 70 Tours in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Revel in the exhilaration of zooming through the blue-green waters of Cayman, not to mention tooling around on our Sea Doo GTS Jet Skis (waverunners). We limit each tour to five Wave Runners plus your tour guide so your guaranteed an intimate 2.5Hr experience. You'll take the scenic route, traveling the length of the famous North Sound of Grand Cayman to stingray city and the reef to snorkel. Free pick up from cruise ships and 7 mile beach hotels.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great excursion”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this excursion independently from our cruise ship and were so glad that we did! We were picked up promptly at our meeting place. We took a short drive to the Sea Doos, which were in immaculate shape. We rode out for about 20 minutes or so to Sting Ray City, and I would highly recommend wearing sunglasses with a strap to protect your eyes from the salty water. Sting Ray City was fantastic! We were in the middle of the Caribbean in about 5 foot of the clearest, beautiful water you can imagine. The sting rays were magnificent to see! Bring your waterproof cameras. They have dry and wet storage on the Sea Doos that you can use to pack your gear. Then we went snorkeling and that was a treat also. There were other groups in the area, but they were much larger! My husband and I really enjoyed this excursion. The staff were courteous and professional, and really looked out for us. Thanks to all of the other tripadvisor comments, you were extremely helpful. I was a little nervous about booking an excursion independently, but I am so glad I did. Having the opportunity to see the beautiful Caribbean via your Sea Doos was an unforgettable experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alesia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    60
    10
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Jet skiing awesome, but guides/treatment of stingrays not so much”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked the Stingray City/Starfish Beach tour for 4 people (each on their own jet ski). The driving directions they sent us were very helpful ("take second exit in roundabout") since very few roads actually have street names visible. We were given life vests, most of which probably should have been retired...big rips in the flotation foam. We were given a brief overview of how to operate the jet ski, and then we were off. This tour gives you the opportunity to go very fast in open water. You get to fully cross the big bay twice. The 2 guides were in front on the same jet ski. On the first crossing our group got VERY spread apart - 3 of us stayed in front with the guides, but the other 3 jet skis were so far behind we couldn't see them. It wasn't until much later that the guide realized the group was not together and waited for them to catch up. I think they should have done a better job keeping the group together - what if a problem occurred? Once at Stingray City, we jumped in (about waist/chest deep) and hung out with the stingrays. I was disappointed with our guides again as they did very little to explain anything about the stingrays - just basically hold out your arms and they'll come. We were all displeased in the treatment of the animals - they looked stressed many times, held out of the water by the guides too long to give "back massages" etc. It got to the point where we said, we didn't want to try and hold them or "kiss them for good luck". The guides also did not bring any squid of bait of their own, but rather mooched off of the other tour groups there. We then went to Starfish Beach which was just a big, loud party beach. There were tons of other boats there, including a huge party boat which was BLARING music with a lot of people who I can only assume had been drinking a lot based on their behavior - NOT a relaxing experience. Our guides again did little if anything to explain about starfish, but instead went off away from the group to socialize with each other and other people at the beach.

Overall, we got to go fast on a jet ski, but other than that it was a rather disappointing tour. Our guides were not engaged with the group at all, and most of the time looked bored. Most disturbing was the treatment of the stingrays. As scuba divers, we have an appreciation and respect for these animals, and would never want them to feel stressed for the experience of a "back massage".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruising1973, Manager at Ebanks Watersports, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are glad you had a good time riding the jet skis, however we are sorry to hear Starfish Beach wasn't what you had hoped. Normally it is a quiet area with little to no people there. It sounds like one boat made the stop unenjoyable and unfortunately we cannot control other boats/guests that stop there.

As for Stingray City, a few things we do promise - the stingrays are not being mistreated or hurt in any way. The Cayman Islands Department of Environment as well as other organizations (including Guy Harvey Research Institute and NSU) are doing continued monitoring and research to make sure the Southern Stingrays are protected and healthy. Our guides understand and respect these creatures.

You are correct, we do not bring food (squid) on our tours with us. The Cayman Islands Department of Environment asked all of the tour operators to not feed the stingrays as much. Since we have only small groups, we stopped bringing squid to feed them all together and only the larger operators/boats bring food.

We have found this much better as the stingrays can become a bit more aggressive when you have food. When you have the squid, they smell it and want to eat! They will bump and swim into you to try and get the squid which can be a bit scary, especially for guests who are apprehensive about jumping into the water with them in the first place. On our tours the guide will catch one and let you see/touch/hold and take pictures with it, so you will get the up close experience without the surprise and fear factor.

Again, we do apologize your experience was not what you had hoped. We, as always, will take your comments and use them to improve our operation. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful island of Grand Cayman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ebanks Jet Ski Tour”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went on the jet ski tour to stingray city and starfish point. There were 4 of us so we each had two per jet ski (since we had children with us). Everyone had a great time! The tour guide was super and helped catch the stingrays so that everyone could get pictures with them. He also allowed extra time for everyone to just ride around freely between stingray city and starfish point. He was there for guidance but let everyone enjoy their time on the jet skis. Thanks again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

They were the best! We had so much fun and the guides were awesome. The guides explained everything in detail and were patient. I would recommend this company to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sogood318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Stingray tour on island for those that like a little excitement!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and 16 year old daughter wanted to see the stingrays and also ride waverunnwers. Now first I should tell you none of us have rode waverunnwers for years.

We rented a double waverunnwers and a single and had an absolute blast!!! This was more economical ($350) than going out to stingray on boat and renting waverunners for $85 a half hour each at other places.

My wife and daughter were a bit apprehensive at first but by the end of the trip they felt this was a highlight of our week vacation.

Some pointers:

1) reserve online and they will pick you up at any Seven Mile Beach hotel.
2) bring pair of swim goggles. You will thank me as the ocean water will splash in your face and this limits the stinging.
3) bring water proof camera. Your guides will take pictures for you and you must take ones of the stingrays.
4) I would do the stingray and reef tour. We did the stingray and starfish tour and felt the starfish part of it was not as good as we thought. Not many starfish and boring once you have seen and held one.
5) get ready for some physical exercise as riding on the waverunners is some work as ocean can get choppy.

Our two guides were great. They made the trip for us and helped us to kiss a stingray for seven years god luck. Thank you Ebanks for a great tour.

Helpful?
Thank teamsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebanks Watersports also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Ebanks Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing