We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice for Good Food on 7 Mile Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periwinkle

Periwinkle
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philly
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Good Food on 7 Mile Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had dinner and lunch at Periwinkle on several occasions during our vacation on the island in August.

Periwinkle was one of our favorite locations - even though it is a hotel restaurant, the Italian food here was actually quite good (I do consider myself somewhat of an expert at Italian, and this place held up to my standards)

The location is quite nice - all outodoor dining bordering a very small marina and quiet pool at the Ritz

You definitely get Ritz-level service and food quality at Periwinkle, but the prices are comparable to other similar restaurants nearby and it has a casual, laid back feel

Menu is very nice with a good selection of pastas and fish + a few meat/chicken selections - food is very well prepared and tasty

Not sure about wine selection, but i'd guess its rather basic

Would definitely go back given other choices in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBNYCTRaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

You can never go wrong with Ritz Carlton and this place does deliver. Good food, attentive service, nice setting....what else do you need.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Periwinkle is a relaxed restaurant on the dock at the Ritz. We had dinner and our taste buds thanked us! We ordered muscles, a salad with shrimp and a seafood platter. Everything was absolutely delicious. The vibe was a bit pretentious, but at the Ritz you can't expect much less.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DollyCakes35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal - EXCELLENT service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This restaurant is located toward the back of the property at Ritz Carlton. The view is of an inlet which, due to tropical storms, was full of detritus when we were there. A downside. But the tables and seating were lovely, the food was very good (not as good as Seven), and the service was impeccable. Italian fare, gourmet pizzas and a decent wine list. I had fresh lobster fettuccine and enjoyed every bite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
312 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“good place for italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

good place to eat at the hotel
very uncortable in summer. to many mosquitoes.
did not enjoy our dinner.
service was ok. not up to ritz standard
food was good. did not have dessert

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Periwinkle also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Periwinkle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing