We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20 minute wait was more than worth it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Grill

Sunshine Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy world-class casual dining with true Caribbean flair for breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks. Our colorful poolside restaurant with award winning food at an affordable price has made the Sunshine Grill a favorite for local residents and international visitors alike. Everyday favorites include the BEST angus burgers, award winning fish tacos and island specialty drinks.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“20 minute wait was more than worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was one of the first restaurants we tried on the island. Had to wait for our table, which was fine, as we grabbed a beer and sat by the pool right outside the door. The 20 minute estimate was right on target. Our server was excellent, very helpful in explaining things. We ordered fish and chicken tacos to share, while one daughter had sliders, and the other shrimp tacos. These were absolutely the best fish tacos I have ever had! So glad we went early in our trip, as we plan now to go again. Definitely a can't miss place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,137
    1,027
    247
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Oh my gosh! This place is like a hidden gem. My boyfriend and I were on a shuttle bus with this other couple and we started talking. They asked where we were staying and we asked them where they were staying. They were staying at the sunshine suites and told us that we had to try out the sunshine grill, which was perfect because after all that shopping we worked up an appetite. Trust me you will not be disappointed when you go and eat there. The shrimp tacos are AMAZING and I really wish they made shrimp tacos like that in jersey but they don't. My boyfriend had a massive burger and that was amazing as well. This place is amazing. When your done eating they even offer you this little ice cream cone it was very cute and delicious

I will definitely be going back to the sunshine grill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sunshine grill stole my heart a few years ago and I was excited to return. The service was still great, but I was disappointed in the food. The calamari we ordered as an appetizer was so greasy that we couldn't finish it. The fish tacos were mediocre, at best, which used to be my favorite item to order. Hopefully I just caught them on a bad day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ate here multiple times in 6 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything we had, from the service to appetizers (those blue cheese balls!!!), to entrees (fish tacos...yum), to drinks and the little ice cream cone were delicious. Not to mention that everything was reasonably priced. We cannot wait to return on our next visit to Grand Cayman!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sunshine Scramble is the bomb! My husband loved the burger. I loved that they gave our baby a fruit plate. They were really nice and the kitchen staff totally took pride in their work. We liked the food so much we bought the kitchen a beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rugertemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunshine Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunshine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing