We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!! Truly the best location on 7 mile beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We celebrated our 20th yr anniversary.. When we got to our condo we had a surprise bag from Danielle with champagne and rum cake. VERY NICE! thank you.

I had researched many places over a 6 month time frame and you always worry that even with all the info you can find that it still might not be what you thought it was. DO NOT WORRY!!
First the beachcomber is the most beautiful of the condo's on 7 mile beach and the beach itself is the nicest. I honestly think they remove the rocks in front because we did not have as many as the other parts of the beach. I do know they rake the sand during the week.

The rooms and the beds are amazing and the kitchen does have everything you need except for spices and coffee. Go to the grocery store when you get here and get the stuff you need. We kept it simple and ate out for dinner every night or there is a delivery service that will delivery from a lot of the restaurants and they were fast and it is almost like having room service.

Our cleaning ladies were the best thank you...
Like everyone said the only sad part was having to leave but I leave with a smile knowing I will come back soon!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet time go in May or later.. You take the chance of rain but even when it rains its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawaiibound4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in Unit #8 and it was absolutely fantastic! The Unit itself was perfect. Great amenities,
perfect view especially for the sunsets.
Kudos to Danielle for taking such great care of us. Everyone was so nice and the ladies cleaning the units are always smiling and helpful.
Some of the condos on the beach looked deserted (I wouldn't like that) but Beachcomber always had folks at the beach and pool but don't worry, not too many that you wouldn't get a lounger.

Room Tip: Unit #8 was perfect! The master suite overlooks the beach and the other 2 rooms face the road. It ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueWnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary here. We researched long and hard to find not only a wonderful vacation spot, many islands to choose from, but we settled on Grand Cayman. We also wanted a special spot where we could renew our wedding vows. We wanted somewhere different, not like a hotel - with luxury and not a ton of people or kids invading our privacy. I did not want the crowds of a hotel, nor the hotel treatment. I travel a lot for my work, and I did not want the hotel envionment.

We did much research, and I have to tell you, Danielle at the Beach Comber sealed the deal. From the minute I contacted the Beach Comber, Danielle was incredible. She sold me on the island, the Condo complex, and helped me with every last detail of our incredible vacation. She was responsive, and answered every question I had, and went out of her way to make us comfortable and meet our every need.

The Beach Comber is lovely, we stayed in Unit 11, a three bedroom (worth every penny) even though it was just the two of us. The bacony was double sized and had a fantastic view. The master bedroom had a doorwall to the balcony, walk in closet, wonderful bath, fabulous (see the pictures at their website, they do not do justice to the real thing). The entire unit was modern, high end - granite countertops, high end appliances, wonderful furnishings, top notch the whole way. Full laundry, two other bedrooms/baths, all gorgeous. More than enough towels, linens great, beds very comfortable! Mrs. Reed, our "housekeeper" was wonderful, very imformative about the island, and just a wonderful woman!

Danielle, however, sealed the deal. She knows everyone, and everywhere to go on the island. She can make any arrangement you need - seriously. She sent us to the best restaurants on the island, best shopping, best sight seeing, where to go, etc. She also helped us set up our 25th Anniversary Vow Renewal, right on the beach at the Beach Comber. She hooked us up with Pastor Whittaker, who made the service wonderful, as meaningful as our first wedding!

The beach, chairs , pool and hot tubs were all clean, very nice, and not crowded. Walking to restaurants for every meal is availabe, the grocery store is right across the street, as well as all kinds of shopping. Even though you are on 7 Mile Beach, you feel like you are in a private club. We rented a car, and parking was easy and more than available on the property. The entire place is well kept, maintained, and attention to detail is evident. Check out their website and call or email Danielle for more details, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Check out their website, you can view photos of each condo online, can call/emaile Danielle for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Beachcomber is a perfect location. Located right on the beach, it has all the amenities you could want including a beautiful pool and a great location to restaurants, grocery and other stores. #17 is a corner unit on the 3rd floor, 3BR/3BA, with lots of windows and incredible views. It has a screened porch and an "open" porch, multiple TVs, the latest appliances and internet. Go ahead and splurge, this unit won't disappoint.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner unit #17 has more windows, views and an open porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuzzyAtlanta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Spacious and well appointed place. Huge balcony with extaordinary views. Large active reef just to the left...100 yards out but well worth it...turtles, rays, cuttlefish and a varity of colorful reef fish. Groceries, booze, and restaurants all within walking distance. Easy and safe little bus system that takes you to Georgetown and other places. Beach large and not at all crowded. Four gas grills for meals on the beach. Maids clean daily and switch out towels and all else just like a hotel. Large pool and two hot tubs. Perfect really for our family of five.

Room Tip: Seventh floor 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Beachcomber is one of the best 3 BR/3 BA condos we've ever seen or rented. Its location is the best --- on the widest, gently-sloped, cleanest part of Seven Mile Beach on Grand Cayman within a short walking distance to the Ritz-Carlton, the Westin, Caribbean Club, numerous restaurants. The layout, decor, conveniences are top-notch. But you PAY for it!! US$1,305. per night including tax to be exact. We hosted my sister & her husband so we had 4 adults & 3 kids very comfortably sharing this condo. The housekeeper Jennifer did a great job cleaning our room. It was spotless when we arrived. The only unfortunate event was the 1 1/2" live cockroach that greeted us on the night of our arrival upon our return from our first dinner. We think it may have come in on the rollaway cot that had been brought in for us. At any rate, we killed it before it got away. Management had the room re-sprayed shortly after & we never saw another one in the room again. Phew! Use the garburetor for all food waste to deter any more critters from coming in. They should also have lids for the kitchen garbage cans to avoid attracting these pesky bugs. My brother-in-law swears by carbolic soap to keep bugs away. The kitchen has a full-size fridge with filtered water & ice dispenser, full dishwasher, full size stove/oven, coffeemaker, tea kettle, utensils, plates, pots & pans, tea towels, paper towels, dish soap, dishwasher detergent. And if you don't like cooking while on vacation, they provide a list of high-end dining places who will deliver! We love La Dolce Vita Italian Restaurant from previous visits to the island so we dined there 3 times! This condo is also walking distance to Gateway to India, a fantastic, authentic Indian restaurant. 2 hotels over was the Ritz & Periwinkle poolside restaurant (great family place). There is seating for 5 @ the condo’s dining table, 3 @ the bar/ counter, 6 @ balcony patio set, 2 chaise lounges. The living room has an L-shaped sectional that seats 8! There's a flat panel TV in every bedroom & in the living room. The condo has a wireless router for internet access that slows down when all 3 kids are on their iPods & there's a laptop on. The Master bedroom overlooks the ocean & is adjacent to the living room. Breathtaking view to wake up to. I only wish the Master bedroom bed didn't squeak so much! Luckily the kids' rooms are at the back half of the condo. The balcony spans the full width of the living room & master bedroom & has a screen to keep mosquitoes out at night. The ensuite bath is massive (10' x 12') with a rainshower, separate toilet room, his/hers sinks, corner soaker tub, hairdryer. You can see the ocean from one of the bath mirrors. So Feng Shui! There is a full-size washer/ dryer/ laundry sink/ upright vacuum/ mop & bucket in case you need it. For the cost, they should include laundry detergent, spices, dressing, coffee, tea, sugar, creamer, etc. If you're a light sleeper, we recommend a room on the 5th floor or higher since the children's squeals & the West Bay Rd. traffic is noisy from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. We're used to children's noise having 3 ourselves altho' our kids are quieter & more respectful of others that way. There was daily housekeeping, fresh towels (both in-room & beach towels) daily. The beach chairs & umbrellas are plentiful altho' some people still go very early & save the thatched-hut cabanas (only 2) for their party even when they are not using them. The 2 hot-tubs & the infinity pool are beautiful & perfect for us (1 hot-tub was only warm, the other was hot so our party’s needs were met). Children under 15 are not allowed in hot tubs and pool toys are not allowed. This makes the pool not very family-friendly although luckily no one enforced these rules (the Ritz and other properties have a 12+ rule for hot tubs). There is no bathroom in the pool area so you need to go up to your unit if you need to use the facilities. There is also no drinking water set up for the guests by the pool/beach so you need to take it with you from your room. Or, walk to the crowded Ritz beach to get free, fruit-infused water & rent watercraft. Wish we got 2 sets of beach towels daily rather than one set. Perhaps they should have a central area where we can help ourselves to more beach towels when needed since we were in & out of the water all day. There are plenty of beach chairs & it's never very crowded so it's a pretty quiet place. Altho’ this was fine, we felt the Beachcomber lacked energy & may consider the Caribbean Club so that we can have a spacious condo but some hotel amenities. Unfortunately, we did not like the restaurant (Luca) at the Caribbean Club so that was a deterrent. There is a large grocery directly across the street that is open until 11 pm but is closed Sunday. There is also a liquor store steps from the Beachcomber. 4 very clean bbq's off to the side of the pool are handy if you are fortunate enough to have caught a large red snapper for dinner!! The free underground parking was also much appreciated. For the very tired, elderly or the disabled, the building has 2 fast, clean elevators. The Beachcomber makes it very clear (perhaps a little too aggressively) that housekeeping does not do dishes and they mean it. You will be reminded of this in several different notices. If you happen to leave a cup or plate somewhere, it will stay the entire week. That’s a little much when you consider how much you are paying. Luckily, we are very tidy so it wasn’t a problem. You pay the full balance for the week up-front, are handed your key & you get your own luggage to our room. Danielle, the building manager, is on-site & on-call. When we needed new sheets on Sunday morning, she came in a few minutes!! They will help you book things but Grand Cayman is such that you can easily book things online or by yourself. And we got the feeling they preferred us to do our own booking but were more than happy to provide recommendations. I asked Dale if the building had any beach toys available for our children to borrow. I didn't want to waste money to buy beach toys at Cayman prices for kids who I thought had outgrown sandcastles!! Dale was a gem --- he had the staff dig some brand-new looking toys up for us to use during our stay. In general, it's a very upscale condo with some thoughtful, personable, permanent residents in the building. Despite the number of kids staying over March break, it was a bit 'stuffy' (probably because the cost limits clientele to older, presumably more established guests) but we prefer the atmosphere at the Beachcomber rather than being surrounded by loud, inconsiderate people at some of the large hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have better views (not blocked by the Meridien condo on the south); less road/ p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familyfunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just got back from 1 week stay at Beachcomber unit #21. Overall a pleasant experience but be aware this a condo rental there really are no other services to speak of than housekeeping. There are many reasons to choose the Beachcomber: great location on the middle of 7 mile beach just a few doors down from Ritz Carlton in one direction & Carribean Club in other. ritz has great pool bar/restaurant & several other very good restaurants (like Periwinkles with a nice kids dinner buffet & movies every night). The Carribean Club has Luca( a very nice restaurant & happening bar). The Westin a little further up the beach has a really good breakfast buffet. The Beach at beachcomber is beautiful & not crowded. Although the Ritz is beautiful & has lots to offer the beach & pool area is packed with crowds of people. I'm sure even getting a chair at pool or beach is a nightmare. We would not consider staying at the Ritz just because of how bad it is in this regard. The pool at Beachcomber is a long infinity pool with decks on either end but not sides. The infinity aspect is kind of lost as it is not situated high enough so you are looking at beach chairs rather than the ocean when in it. There are 2 hot tubs neither is working correctly. One is so hot nobody could stay in it for more than a minute and the other is barely warm and the jets don't really work well. Children under 15 are not allowed in hot tubs and pool toys are not allowed. This makes the pool not very family friendly although I didn't see anyone around to enforce these rules (the ritz and other properties have a 12+ rule for hot tubs?). There is no bathroom in the pool area so you need to go up to your unit if you need to use the facilities. There is also no drinking water set up for the guests by the pool/beach so you need to take it with you from your room. The same goes with towels. The is one set left and replaced every day. Personally I think 2 sets are are necessary when you are in & out of water all day.. There are plenty of beach chairs & it's never very crowded so it's a pretty quiet place. Some people like that but we felt the Beachcomber lacked energy & may consider the Carribbean Club so that we can have a spacious condo but some hotel amenities. The units are Generally well equipped but for some reason they do not provide those little boxes of detergent so you'll have to go to grocery store for that. Also coffee is not provided. They do supply diswashing products & tissue. There is a large grocery directly across the street that is open until 11 pm but s closed Sunday. There is also a liquor store steps from the Beachcomber. We used a shopping service but wouldn't bother again as both are so close. Housekeeping and management office are both closed on Sunday. The Beachcomber makes it very clear (in my opinion a little too aggressive about it) that housekeeping does not do dishes and they mean it. you will be reminded of this is several different notices. If you happen to leave a cup or plate somewhere it will stay the entire week. It's a little much when you consider you ay about $1000/night plus a $400 gratuity on top of that (week.). The gratuity is to cover housekeeping and I'm not sure what else as there were no other services provided. You are basically handed your key & you get yor own luggage to our room. Im sure the units vary in how well equipped they are. Ours lacked any hooks to hang towels or robes, a full length mirror, a magnifying wall mirror for makeup & had no extra blankets. Washer & dryer were not full size so f it was a large load you had to run dryer a couple of times. Also fridge was not cold and didn't get below 50 degrees first day. It must have been just turned on before we came. Next morning it was cold & none of us got sick so worked out ok. If we stayed again we'd be sure to book a 3 bedroom corner. Unit 21 is a 2 bedroom center unit with a screened balcony. The masterbedroom faced the street side so it is very noisy starting about 7 am. We had to keep the shades in master closed all week as the slider opens up to a open air hallway that people had to walk by to get to there units. The 2nd bedroom had 2 twin beds & no window but the kids didnt mind. One suggestion I have is that the Beachcomber utilize those "service please or do not disturb" signs so housekeeping knows if you are in the unit. The first day they came in at 8:15 - that's a little early. The rest of the week they came later. I don't want too sound too negative as its a very nice place with a great central location & beach. I think they could do more to make you feel like a guest. We may return to the Beachcomber next year or consider the Carribbean Club. We toured a unit there and they are a bit nicer but comparable. It's a more expensive but it may be worth it for the extra services and a more resort feel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BostonTwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Grand Cayman

Address: 933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £417 - £1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Beach is truly a world-class beach, set against a dazzling backdrop of tropical landscaping. It could be described as an elite neighborhood of mostly luxurious, private ownership condominiums fronting on the white sand beach and crystal clear turquoise sea. In every such waterfront neighborhood however, there are “special pockets” – sites that rise above the others in terms of beach quality and The Beachcomber is one of these! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing