We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Prior Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in unit #10 in August. This was our first trip to Grand Cayman. We are avid beach goers and I always thought the Florida Panhandle had the most beautiful beaches. I now have a new favorite.

It was off-season so overall things were very quiet. We did visit other areas on Seven Mile Beach and our beach at Beachcomber was much quieter and nicer. The beach here was very wide, in other areas, particularly towards the Marriott, the beach is much narrower and very busy and cluttered. The beach itself is beautiful fine sand and the water was crystal clear. Snorkeling was decent a bit further out although not a lot of fish. We did see a stingray and couple sea turtles while snorkeling right off our beach though. Overall it was very peaceful, not as much choas with jet skis and boats that some of the other areas have. They do a great job of setting up the beach chairs and grooming the beach every morning.

The pool was also very quiet and is a nice size with an Infinity ledge and 2 hot tubs. It may be busier during peak season but was very quiet for us and our kids spent a lot of time in it. They have very nice gas grills on each side of the pool as well which we took advantage of to grill some steaks for dinner.

Location is also great, very centrally located on the beach. There are shops and a grocery store right across the street which was very handy and it is an easy walk to numerous popular restaurants.

The unit itself was fantastic. Very clean, great kitchen and well appointed. There is also daily housekeeping service which was really nice as we tend to track in a lot of sand from the beach. The balcony was also huge with a panoramic view of the beach. The unit is also very quiet, there is not restaurant here which keeps traffic down. Each unit has it's own wifi with free internet, we had a little trouble with ours at first but eventually did get it working fine. There is also a very nice gym on site which we used. Only down side is it is pretty spendy but didn't seem out of line with other properties in the area.

Will definitely plan to come to this condo again if/when we visit Grand Cayman!

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors are great if you have a larger party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
150
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in unit #30 August 3-8, 2014. Condo unit was great and pictures online are accurate and the view and balcony living space was terrific. Great location on seven mike beach. Nicest beach and fun snorkeling right outside of building. Beach was much less crowded than nearby resorts. Could not be more convenient with grocery and liquor stores right across the street. Great recommendations we received: stingray city private charter, rent a car and drive island, cemetery beach snorkeling, lunch at macabuca west bay where you can snorkel from restaurant, and Eduardo's and sunshine grill restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and had wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahg0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Chose Beachcomber based on reviews and 5 star ratings. We were not disappointed! Family of 5 stayed in Unit #7. Spacious, upscale, beautifully decorated, expansive balcony w/ breathtaking view. Friendly and accommodating staff. Ideal location, grocer across the street, no crowds, but short walk to resort hotels. Wide powder white beach that lead to great swimming and snorkeling, all out your front door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cizrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Beachcomber and 3 nights at Plantana (the top two rated condos on Grand Cayman). Both are excellent and deserving of a 5-star rating and we found them to be much better than a hotel even though the prices are comparable. If you need more than one room, a condo is definitely the way to go as then it becomes less expensive than a hotel.

All of the rooms at the Beachcomber have an ocean view with a large, beautiful balcony. The decor is first class and having a large kitchen, dining area, and living room is what makes this much nicer than a hotel (as well as having a private Master bedroom and a king size bed in the 2nd bedroom too).

We preferred Plantana just because it has more of a laid-back/private setting in a less crowded area of 7-mile beach. Beachcomber has the better view...but both places are excellent and we highly recommend them. Grocery store just 2 blocks away is also a plus.

The website pictures do an excellent job of showing exactly what you will get.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor...but really every room has an incredible ocean view no matter what floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at unit #10 (4 bedrooms 5 baths) from 7/3 to 7/10, and all of us enjoyed our trip very much! The unit is spacious and the view from balcony is amazing! We loved our stays and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yantaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed from Sat 7/19 to Sat 7/26

We decided to try the Beachcomber since we were bringing our adult children to vacation with us. There was 6 of us altogether. We come to Cayman at least twice a year and normally stay at the Marriott but boy are we glad we chose Beachcomber. We stayed in #30 which is a 3 bedroom 3 bath unit with a breathtaking view of the ocean. The unit is Everything you could dream of plus more. It is on the 6 floor as soon as you get off the elevator. Check in was a breeze. We just left a cc with a 500 dollar deposit for damage and was given 3 keys with a beach bag cooler. When we walked in we lost our breath. We couldn't believe the view. Everything is open and modern and smell so good. Telephone and internet is free. We immediately went to fosters the supermarket that is right across the street since they do not open on Sundays. We spent around 450.00 on groceries. They charge 5 cents for grocery bags. We manly bought breakfast foods, drinks snacks burgers and steak to put on the grill and stuff Like that. The condo is stocked with everything you need. All appliances dishes cups glasses paper towels tissue etc. You may want to check before you go to the store because we bought things like seasonings and foil which they already had. They have dish detergent but you need soap powder for laundry. They supply garbage bags and many other things. We went to dinner at various restaurants. We also went to the liquor store across the street and stocked up on beer , champaign for mimosas and stuff for mixed drinks. One night around 10:30 we couldn't get the washer to work we called the emergency number and he was there in 2 mins and fixed it. Everyday someone bring fresh towels for the beach and the cleaning people come and clean and of course you have to put your dishes in the dishwasher and run it. It was not an issue for me and no one had to remind us of it. If you are the type that want to vacation and not pick up after yourself or cook or wash dishes you may be better suited for a hotel. There is the Marriott, Ritz, and Westin and a few other hotels on 7 mile. That's if you don't mind being bunched up on top of other people vacationing. I love my Marriott chain but they have the worst beach on the island because of the hurricane. It's very rocky and not much beach but the hotel inside is nice.
The beach, the sand, the pool area at Beachcomber was never crowded. You don't have to reserve chairs because they are always available. Families are very respectful. There was no loud noise. The beds was plush. The master bed and bath is beautiful. The towels are soft they provide bath robes. You can close in the balcony if it rains or to keep out bugs. There is a huge table on the balcony along with a sunbed and chairs. I actually never wanted to leave the condo but the beautiful rock free ocean was calling me. We walked up and down seven mile to compare hotels and condos and in my opinion the Beachcomber was the best. How could you find anything to complain about in paradise. I'm already having withdrawals from not being able to sit on the balcony with my cup of coffee and just see God's amazing masterpiece.

Tips: I went to the bank and changed over money. We caught the bus to go into town and dinner a few nights it's easy fun safe and convenient. It is $2 cayman 2.50 American. We went into George Town to the museum shopping and ate at Paradise Restaurant they have the best conch fritters . We Ate dinner at Sunshine grill they are home of the kitchen sink burgers And the fish tacos. For our wedding anniversary we ate at The Wharf which was beautiful and had the best sunset and lobsters.

Room Tip: 30 had the best view of the sunset and everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Celeste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family, all seven of us were able to stay in Unit 37, and we found it to be perfect. The beach is amazing, the staff including Miss Tommy and Ruby were beyond friendly. Everything was well worth the expenditure. I would gladly return, and the family was sad to say goodbye.

Room Tip: You can't beat the view from the top. The sunsets are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmpst48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Grand Cayman

Property: Beachcomber Grand Cayman
Address: 933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Beach is truly a world-class beach, set against a dazzling backdrop of tropical landscaping. It could be described as an elite neighborhood of mostly luxurious, private ownership condominiums fronting on the white sand beach and crystal clear turquoise sea. In every such waterfront neighborhood however, there are “special pockets” – sites that rise above the others in terms of beach quality and The Beachcomber is one of these! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing