We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a modest Florida course,”

North Sound Golf Club
Book In Advance
More Info
US$180.00*
and up
Cayman Islands North Sound Golf Course Package
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cayman's only 18-hole Championship Golf Course
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Like a modest Florida course,”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

But the staff were helpful and very friendly. My daughter and I played there twice in two weeks. She bought her own clubs and I rented a good set of Calloways. No beverage cart, but several water bottle fill up stops. Grounds could do with some attention as grass clippings left on fairway! We played at noon to take advantage of the discount, so it was hot and overall experience was tolerable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    17
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expections”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located a short taxi ride from Seven Mile beach the North Sound Golf Club exceeded expectations.
Starting with Pro shop that provided a friendly and helpful check-in. The staff were right there ready to assist with anything I needed. Rental clubs were reasonable for the price.

Being off-season there was no beverage cart on the course. The open air bar is next to the cart path and on the way between the 9th and 10th holes. This made it easy to pick up beverages, sit down to have lunch at the turn, then drop off the cart and enjoy a beverage. The refreshment service here was well above average. There were also many water stations at the tee boxes. Given the heat and sun, sunscreen and staying hydrated were critical to enjoying the round.

The course opens with a picturesque par 3 with a landscaping detail in the middle. This sets the tone for the course. It is well-kept, very green, and while relatively flat the changes in evaluation make each hole interesting and scenic. The landscaping does an excellent job of separating the fairways so you feel like you playing a hole and not a wide open beach. With water beside, through or in the middle of 15 holes the course is surprisingly challenging. There are 5 sets of tees and all tees boxes had one or two yard markers making it easy to choose your difficulty.

In addition to the many birds there are families of sunbathing iguanas of all sizes on almost all holes.

I look forward to playing this course again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Happy 25th Birthday!" (To my son)”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This trip to Grand Cayman marked my son's 25th birthday and his choice was golfing!! My husband and son had tee times and I went along as a caddie. We had a great time! The staff were friendly and helpful, the men were challenged several times, lots of laughs and fun! The greens and surrounding course were very well maintained. Where else can you golf with palm trees, chickens and iguanas? The guys proudly wore their new golf shirts and are making plans to return!

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day on the course”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Overall, the course and driving range were well kept. Friendly staff and flexibility on tee times. 2 holes actually on the sound but still pretty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scv1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Challenging and fun!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Played a round here recently and the course was a lot of fun. The round wasn't overly expensive (about $130 I think?) especially in the Caribbean.

The course was in really good condition although holes 16 through 18 looked to be a bit rough. It looks like they're working on improving those holes but it didn't affect my play at all. Just some bare patches in some areas.

While playing, you'll see tons of iguanas all over the place which only enhances the experience. Jason, the head pro, was very helpful and I'll be sure to try to play here again the next time we're down in GC.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Sound Golf Club also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to North Sound Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing