We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just spent a great week at the Grand Marriott Cayman Beach Resort. Just the right size. All the staff greeted us by name throughout the week. They were extremely professional and vested in making our stay a great one. Cesar, the bell man, was especially pleasant and checked on us every day. We had an ocean view room that was very nice. The beach was a little crowded but beautiful. I have a few minor suggestions for considerations... add pay per view movies to your TV package, put screens on the balcony doors so that ocean view rooms can listen to the ocean without being out on the balcony, and have an on the grounds ATM. We loved the island and the Marriott and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,063 - 4,069 of 5,384 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just got back from a 7 night stay at this wonderful resort with my family (2 kids, 15 & 11). We had a courtyard room, overlooking the "turtle lagoon", a botanical garden that has a manmade stream running through it full of little pond turtles. Usually when my family goes away we opt for the ocean view rooms but this was a nice change. Upon arriving we were greeted by Cesar the Chilean doorman. The man is an absolute riot and tried speaking Spanish to my son but my son couldn't understand a blink of what he was saying. The other doormen/bell hops are funny too. The staff in the hotel gift shop are incredibly helpful, checking the back for other sizes, colors, etc. A few of the women working in there are American and quickly strike up conversation with tourists. The one complaint I have to make is that sometimes some of the gift shop employees can be a little pushy. I didn't experience this, but rather watched it first hand as a woman was browsing for trinkets and one of the employees kept asking her if she wanted to put her stuff up at the counter and the woman kept having to say "no not yet". By the third time of the employee asking this I could tell the woman was getting annoyed. Besides that, I personally had the best luck with souvenirs in the hotel gift shop, as many of the stores in downtown Georgetown are simply crowded with the same junk in each and every shop. More importantly, the hotel is in easy access to the beach and chairs are plentiful as long as you save your spot early on. The pool and hot tub are nice too, and there was never a mob of kids running amuck as there usually are at hotel pools. On the downside, I found the concierges unhelpful when it came to searching for places to eat. They always seemed to recommend the most expensive places, so I advise you search for breakfast, lunch, and dinner eateries ON YOUR OWN. After experiencing this same scenario on previous vacations, we asked our taxi drivers where the locals eat, and quite honestly those were the best places, food and price wise. During my stay I met three concierges, and only one of them gave mediocre advice. One was no help at all, and seemed to know nothing about the island since every question I asked her she didn't know the answer to. Example: My family wanted to eat in our room one night, so I asked her if she had any takeout menus for places that would deliver. She said I had to find a restaurant first and then call to see if they would deliver. Well every restaurant we would call would not deliver, or was too far, or there was some issue. We finally just got room service after wasting nearly 2 hours calling places to inquire about delivery, food, their menu etc. The next morning my family and I are out for breakfast and I find a whole book inside the restaurant called something like "Fine Dine in" that had the complete list of all the restaurants that delivered in Grand Cayman, their full menus, delivery charges, the whole kit and caboodle. I was furious; luckily I didn't have to interact with that particular concierge for the rest of my trip. The other concierge was downright rude, and had an attitude. When we would walk away from her desk she would mumble after comments and give us dirty looks, completely inappropriate. Besides the concierges, the rest of the staff right down to maids and towel boys were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner on the hotel premises restaurant, the Red Parrot, was overpriced. Ask the locals, taxi drivers, gift shop employees, etc. for advice on where to go. Wonderful hotel, a few bad employees though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustintoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 9th anniversary and was more than pleased with the accomodations and the room location. The cleaning staff were extremely friendly and thorough down to the chocolates on the bed and the two turtles they left as departing gifts was very thoughful. We would especially love to recognize 2 employees who we believe went above and beyond the highest level of courtesy and professionalism: Genova, who helped us by locating our luggage ( which was erroneously delivered to the wrong hotel a day late by United Airways ) and by assisting us with directions to retrieve our luggage. And: Elisa, for helping us with our return airline tickets ( which United screwed up too ) and for helping us with unblocking our credit card. However, there is one employee ( Ailin ) who, in our opinion, displays no concern for the guests and her people skills leave little to be desired. She has about as much compassion as a referee at a cock fight.

Room Tip: High floor with balcony facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Great location. Good for families. 2 things they can improve on are there was no place to order food (including lunch) without waiter service (the smack bat only had candy, chips and ice cream) -- it would have been nice to get the kids something quick and lite to eat without having to tip all the time. The 2nd thing was we never took advantage of the children's program bc it seemed a bit boring for my active boys. A more comprehensive program would be great.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I took a long overdue vacation to celebrate my 65th birthday and our 38th wedding anniversary. Our stay at the Marriott clearly exceeded both of our expectations. From our entrance onto the property we were treated and greeted with the highest level of high touch personal professionalism. Specifically I want to acknowledge and express the delightful relationships and service we experienced with Mark Mata and Gergana at the front desk; Waleed and his constant companion, Echo the parrot and Julie and Mary two gracious baristas at the coffee/breakfast bar. They provided consistently magical service and attention. If you choose to stay here, I encourage you to make your requests and any concerns known immediately. Staff were immediately responsive. Although the beach front initially seemed too small and constrained given the volume of use, we quickly adjusted and enjoyed our use of the beach and the excellent snorkeling conditions. We also recommend Cemetery beach for snorkeling. Rick Wellock Ligonier PA

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmwellock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, the services were excellent. The hotel is located at the popular 7 Miles Beach, the room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room at higher floor is recommended ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJPixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Spent a week at the GC Marriott July 5, 2012 for a week on a family vacation. Our first time in the Cayman Islands. Hotel was beautiful, super clean and well air conditioned. All the Staff was super nice, very friendly and accomodating! Had an ocean front room which was gorgeous. Our first day or two the pool and beach were crowded after that we had no problems getting chairs. Pool area is very nice, narrow beach area but loved the table and chairs in the water and the giant rings the hotel provided to lay on. Would definitely come back here again to stay. A fabulous hotel!! Across the way is a small restaurant named Cimboco - we loved it and ate many a breakfast and dinner there. Food is delicious and reasonable. Definitely rent a car for a day or two to see the island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
420 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £353 - £1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort makes you feel right at home. All of the spacious 295 guest rooms at our Grand Cayman resort have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar - a perfect place to end the night in the Cayman Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing