We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations/Low Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Freehold, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“High Expectations/Low Return”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The property doesn't feel like a resort but rather like a hotel. Lobby is unimmpressive. Courtyard is beautiful, but the beach is a joke. It is more like 20-30 Foot Beach rather than Seven Mile Beach. Here are the CONS: limited beach space(felt like I was on Spring Break all crammed in together), 3 room taxes per night which equal another night's stay, not all of the staff are friendly and accomodating, beach lounge chairs are VERY uncomfortable, we didn't receive our free punch or rum cake upon check-in(when we asked the next day, the rum cake was handed to us with a bit of an attitude), had to ask for the Sunset Chair to be set up(and again with an attitude). PROS: clean room, spacious bathroom, great view for a partial view(room 566), walking distance to a few great spots(Coconut Joe's and Camana Bay), food was really good at Sol Bar and Balboas, Dannis from Sol was a real sweetheart, Courtney and Omar(bellman) always greeted us with a smile and some shared laughs and Waleed help set us up on the beach.

Unfortunately we had 1 1/2 days or rain. However, we were four friends(and moms) who escaped for a long weekend and still managed to have a great time. The amount we paid per night was roughly $700 and the property didn't feel like that at all. I don't get the allure of Grand Cayman and I have to say I will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank TLMatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,143
    1,441
    322
    154
    71
See reviews for
1,687
2,197
127
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great hotel! Nice staff, great views, and perfect location! I would highly recommend the ocean view room as it was beautiful! My friend and I were there visiting my sister and we will definitely be staying at the Marriott again when we return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was our third visit to Marriott Grand Cayman. We enjoyed our accommodations, and found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and courteous, as in our prior visits. Breakfast in the Red Parrot was wonderful. (Try the Mango Brioche French Toast!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I just got back from a trip to the Marriott Grand Cayman. It was a beautiful property with great staff and in an excellent location on Seven Mile Beach. Our first night was a Wednesday so we enjoyed the lobster special at the Solana restaurant. I highly recommend it. We also participated in the Cayman Cookout and it was close to all the events. Thank you to Nelson the bellman, Davina and Paula in concierge for such a great experience! Top notch service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillz1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Marriott Grand Cayman Resort. The hotel and especially its staff were outstanding. From check-in to check-out no one could have been nicer or more helpful during out stay. The concierge's, Davina, recommendations for restaurants and tours were right on the money. She could not have been more helpful. Although the entire wait staff was excellent my wife and I were most impressed with Ruby Ann. She was attentive, friendly and very efficient. She always made a point of speaking whenever she saw us Overall this was a great trip only enhanced by the entire staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently stayed for a week at the Marriott and have to say this hotel had the most incredible staff. Every person I encountered not only said hello but held a conversation about my trip and how I liked the Island. My daughter enjoyed the turtle pond and water falls......and of course drinking coconut milk straight from the coconut on the beach. Kudos to your staff and establishment on making our stay so enjoyable and fun.

Room Tip: courtyard view 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnann1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at Marriott in Grand Cayman for 5 night, Jan. 2014. Several of our days were cloudy, and unseasonably cool, even rainy. But the staff was always very friendly, and always wanted to make our stay the very best despite the weather. A very special thank you to Leonardi, Yonaika, and Gerald for helping us pass those ugly days and make suggestions for things to do. Sun and warm returned and everything was great! Only down side was a smell on the pool deck, smelled like Clorox .
Rum point is worth the trip either by car or catamaran.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvoidingCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,910 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing