We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$260
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$612
US$557
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$972
US$920
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,053
US$995
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$172
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,670)
Filter reviews
5,670 results
Traveller rating
3,504
1,560
357
170
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,504
1,560
357
170
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchor denveranda restaurantturtle lagooncrepescourtyard viewgrand caymanlobster nightreef ballsfishartificial reefgelatored sailacross the streetan umbrellaall you can eatkids clubresort fee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,088 - 3,093 of 5,670 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and My girlfriend booked this trip for her birthday, at first we were torn between the Ritz and the westin, after days of reading reviews and research we successfully booked this hotel. My girlfriend emailed the hotel to find out what activities we can do, and she told them that she was going for her birthday(not knowing that they actually cared, but we were absolutely wrong about that). This resort was the most amazing resort we ever visited, the customer service at this resort is EXCELLENT to the T. We were first greeted by Howard at the door who makes you feel welcomed and he greets you with rum punch. The rooms were perfect and we absolutely had nothing negative to say at all. We ate at the sol bar that is located at the beach and was greeted by Michelle who was absolutely fantastic, we told her that is was my gfs bday, and surprisingly after our lunch she brought us a complimentary birthday cake which tasted absolutely great. After we got back to the room the hotel sent us two bottles of champagne and a fruit basket for her birthday, all complimentary. Each day the hotel brought her champagne, cake, brownies, and fruit for her birthday. We were a little uncomfortable about the beach because everyone said it was crowded but that is completely false, the beach wasn't overly crowded like everyone else is saying, there was always a spot open on the beach. Each Night the resort had activities for their guests to take part of, the first night we stayed they had a buccaneers feast which was a buffet with all types of Caribbean food, they also had bonfire in which the guests can make there way to the beach and make smores and mingle with other guests, and the last night we stayed they had movie night, where they added a giant screen by the pool and served you unlimited popcorn. This resort made us feel welcomed and at home. Customer service is top notch at this resort. If your looking for a place to celebrate any type of event or just looking for a getaway in the caymans, without the fancy names like the RITZ, this is absolutely the BEST resort for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Serge C, thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your recent vacation with us. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your girlfriend had an amazing stay with us! And I am so glad to hear that she felt pampered on her birthday – when a guest is celebrating a special occasion, we do our best to ensure that it is memorable!

We also really appreciate your kind words about our resort being the most amazing resort you both have ever visited – that is music to our ears! I will make sure to tell Howard and Michelle that their excellent customer service was noted. They will be delighted to learn that they made such a lasting impression on your time with us.

I really like the picture that you took of our beautiful turquoise waters. Isn’t our beachfront simply amazing? Did you have the chance to watch a few sunsets from the beach during you stay? We like to make a ‘ritual’ out of it by setting up colorful chairs and sofas right along the beachfront at the end of the day so guests have the perfect picture opportunity as the sun goes down. It is such a romantic way to end a gorgeous day in paradise.

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to welcome you and your girlfriend back to our beautiful island again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a short business trip and was very pleased with it. The staff was always there with a smile and willing to help in whatever way they could. The food at the beach side restaurant was outstanding. I had the braised ribs and they melted in my mouth. At first, I thought the portion was small, but after I cut in to it, it was almost too much. The view from the restaurant is great. There were also some other dining events planned for that same night and my only regret was not being able to have two meals! I did save room for the delicious gelato "bar" in the lobby. A perfect ending to my dining experience. If I get back to Cayman, this hotel will definitely be on my short list.

Room Tip: Higher level, water side rooms would be the best choice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BDAHiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jack D, we appreciate you providing a review of our resort. We are thrilled that you had a great stay! Thank you for your lovely comments about our friendly and accommodating staff and outstanding food.

At our restaurants, we provide fresh, simple and innovative dishes. By offering various specialty nights, we feel that we can really showcase a diverse range of delicious cuisines. We also send our chefs on exploratory trips across the globe to sample the best dishes from various regions. From the famous Mercado next to the Paseo De Gracia in Barcelona to the best sushi restaurants in California, our chefs travel around the world to find inspiration and the concepts that they bring back to Cayman is nothing short from the best. What we offer guests is a multi-sensory culinary experience, inspired by our island’s international flair. I am so glad that you enjoyed dining with us and you were able to check out our new gelato stand!

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our beautiful island.

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I hadn't stayed at a Marriott for awhile, but with the United promo (Gold Elite with Gold status on United), we decided to try it out.

Overall, it's a great hotel! The staff was friendly and check-in was smooth (it starts at 4pm) since there was only one person ahead of us who was wrapping up at the Elite line. We got upgraded to an "Ocean View" room (it's in quotes because you had to lean over the balcony and look right down a corridor between the Courtyard and the Marriott, but I guess it counts?) which was spacious enough. The bathroom/shower was fine - would have been nicer if it was updated and there was a bit of mold/mildew by the soap dish.

If you have young kids, it's easy to stay there and not leave! Start the morning by the pool (while it's shaded from the worst of the Cayman sun) and grab a morning happy hour drink. After lunch (by the pool or bar - I loved the Blackened Mahi wrap with sweet potato fries), head in for a siesta and come out when you think you're ready for the heat! The Cayman sun is very strong and doesn't cool down til near 530pm or so as the sun begins to set... so be sure to hydrate, cover up, rest, etc. if you need it!

There is stuff nearby that's walkable (A la Kebab, Burger Shack, Cimboco, etc.) and a convenience store if you need some supplies. If you have a car, parking isn't an extra charge so feel free to go and explore - just remember that driving is on the left side (while you're seated on the right) like in the UK.

We didn't partake in the night time activities like movie by the pool, etc., but it was nice that they offered a lot of different activities throughout the week.

Was kinda looking forward to sushi night (they redo the bar area to serve sushi/sashimi), but not only was service slow (not your fault, Neil), but the octopus was spoiled! It literally turned my stomach and nose so hopefully no one else had it! I warned the server, so hopefully that was a bad piece. The rest of the fish (maguro, hamachi) was nice and fresh with generous cuts. I think they weren't prepared for the demand, because their usual fast service was slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww that night.

Almost all of the staff were great and friendly from Geri at the front desk to Howard and Omar working the front/bags. Kristina was awesome and loved playing with our daughter!

I wouldn't recommend this place as a quiet getaway for two, but I would recommend it for families that may need to stay on-property at times because "herding cats" (i.e. the kids) around to restaurants, shopping, etc. is not a vacation!

Room Tip: The 5th floor is the top floor and was nice and isolated from other rooms (but sounds in the hallway/outside the window could be heard)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BearAndTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear BearAndTheCat, thanks so much for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time! We appreciate your generous comments about our friendly staff – I will make sure to tell Neil, Geri, Howard, Omar and Kristina all the lovely things you said about them. They will be thrilled to hear that you mentioned them by name in your review.

Did you and the family have the chance to take advantage of our free bike rentals? One of the most enjoyable ways you can spend a beautiful breezy morning in Cayman is by discovering the island by bicycle. We were inspired by memories of riding along through the picturesque countryside with loved ones during our own vacation experiences and wanted to re-create these special moments for our guests. At our resort, we can even supply you with a personalized picnic basket to take on your journey in case you decide you want to find a perfect spot at a nearby beach or park to lay down a blanket and share a picnic with loved ones.

I would also like to extend my apologies about your meal at Sushi Night. I have shared your comments with the team so that this kind of occurrence does not happen again in the future. But I appreciate you bringing this to my attention – at Marriott we continually strive to improve our offering to our customers so this kind of feedback is invaluable.

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to see you again in the near future!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff at this hotel is excellent. I work in the hotel industry and must say the staff here go above and beyond. Kendra along with her staff at the Sol bar did a wonderful job of setting up a beach dinner for our group. It was breath taking and the food was to die for. I can't thank the enough for the great service they provided. Ollie, Rod, Andres, Tilly and of course Kendra are some of the staff members that helped make this a unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Daiana C, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our resort. We are glad that you and your friends had an unforgettable vacation! We really appreciate all your kind words about our excellent staff and great food. I will make sure to tell Kendra, Ollie, Rod, Andres and Tilly that you mentioned them in your review – they will be absolutely delighted to hear that they made such a fantastic impression on your time with us.

I am delighted to hear that Kendra and her staff were able to organize a successful beach dinner for your group! Sol Bar is a lovely place to hang out and unwind with friends – it is such a chilled ambience and what can beat the gorgeous view of the turquoise blue ocean right there?

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Marriot Beach Resort for five days in June, 2014. It is a nice hotel - nothing fancy but the rooms were clean, common areas were furnished nicely and clean. The locals that worked at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. Had several very good restaurants on site, beach bar food was very good, also two good restaurants within walking distance. A fun place for good food and beer was Fidel Murphy's Irish Pub; Margaritaville, Coconut Joe's, The best meal was at the Lighthouse Restaurant.The free evening activities were fun: fire pit with all ingredients for smores; movie night on the beach. The beach was very nice with lots of chairs and umbrellas. Decent snorkeling off the beach at the hotel. Snorkeling at Cemetery Beach was great. (About 4 miles from the Marriott, so need a car) At Cemetery we saw stingrays, lots of tropical fish, squid, and huge loggerhead turtles. One negative: upon check in we were assigned a room with a balcony which actually joined onto the roof of the beach restaurant and the extremely loud Calypso band. The only view from the balcony was the tall roof and the noise was ridiculous - room 428. We immediately asked to be moved to ANY room away from the band. Nicolas, the very curt young man at the front desk, said there were no rooms available - 100% occupancy, and no other rooms were available for our entire stay. We spent a terrible, sleepless night. Early the next morning we asked the desk to move us. In response they said several rooms were available and they would move us immediately.

Room Tip: If you don't have a room near # 428 you should be fine. These rooms are extremely noisy and only have a view of the restaurant roof. We were moved to the second floor, facing the garden and it was excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sylvia547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear sylvia547, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our resort. We appreciate your kind words about our nice hotel, great location, clean rooms as well as our friendly and accommodating staff.

We are glad that you enjoyed dining at our restaurants! We pride ourselves on offering fresh, simple and innovative dishes. By having various Specialty Nights, we feel that we can really showcase a diverse range of delicious cuisines.

It sounds like you were able to do a lot of snorkeling during your vacation in Cayman. Did you have the chance to check out Stingray City? It is incredible how timid these creatures are! Being able to stand in the Sand Bar while stingrays of all sizes surround you is really an experience that shouldn’t be missed. We really recommend this excursion to our guests and they often come back to tell us that it was the highlight of their trip.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the noise heard from your room. I have shared your comments with the team and we are evaluating what we can do to enhance the experiences of our future guests.

We appreciate you choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and hope to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews