We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My wife of 30 years and I stayed for seven days. We had been at the Marriott five years earlier. Our stay last time was great. This time not so much. We entered our room with our Window open facing workers on platforms work. We couldn't use our patio at all. Not very attractive to say the least. My wife ran out of cold water while in the shower. She came close to getting burned. When asked to move to another room was told no and had to wait till other people checked in. Again not very attractive. I can say the front door greeter was fantastic and made our stay great. Howard took care of us in every way. And marine at the bar took care of us in the mornings for coffie and anything we needed. I could have rated the stay badly but its the caymans

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Phil A, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent anniversary vacation with us. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff. I will make sure to tell Howard and Marine that you mentioned them in your review. They will be thrilled to learn that they made a lasting impression.

I am so very sorry to hear of the some of the issues that you experienced during your time with us. I have spoken to the relevant departments about the areas that you mentioned and we are looking into ways that we can improve our offering. Nonetheless, the satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and we deeply regret that you were disappointed with aspects of your vacation.

You may be interested to hear that we will soon be underdoing an extensive renovation of our public spaces, including our lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms and fitness center, which will completely change the design and feel our Beach House. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so you and your wife can experience all the spectacular enhancements to our resort.

Thank you for choosing Marriott and again we extend our most sincere apologies again for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,974
    1,415
    316
    153
    70
See reviews for
1,599
2,121
125
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights. Overall, we had a wonderful vacation/experience.

Rooms- my husband is Platinum and we were on a reward points stay. We did not receive an upgraded ocean front room as the hotel was fully booked. Our room faced the turtle lagoon and was very nice/peaceful. The ocean front room would have been nice, but you are literally a 1-2 minute walk to the ocean at this hotel. We really were not in the room much. It was a standard Marriott room. Our maid service was excellent.

Resort- it is smaller than most Marriott resorts we have stayed and the pool is very small. Again, we knew this going here and were really there for the ocean/beach. It ocean is beautiful and the snorkeling is great. Our two daughters who are 7 and 9 snorkeled daily with us and loved it. Beach is small and the chair issue has been discussed at length on the site. You could walk a little further down the beach and have plenty of sand and room for hunting sea shells. It was actually nice to have it smaller to watch small children.

Food- the lounge in the lobby is great. We had Neil for our waiter a few times and he was great. Food is very expensive here. We also are at the poolside restaurant/bar several times. Service was great, except for one extremely rude waitress (Tilly). We were actually shocked at her attitude since everyone else at the resort was so awesome. Tip- Cimbuco, Coconut Joes, and Pepper's are all in walking distance. A great alternative for meals if you do not have a car and want something a little less expensive. We also walked down the beach a few hotels to the Royal Palm. Very nice restaurant on the beach.

Activities- great for families. S'mores on the beach, cotton candy, ice cream sandwiches, and crafts at the kids club. The ladies running the activities were extremely nice and my daughters enjoyed them.

Pros- service/staff were great. Bell men, front desk, umbrella guys on the beach (who were very funny), bartenders, maids, etc were all great! Ocean/snorkeling are amazing. Very relaxing vacation.

Cons- the price of everything on Grand Cayman. We knew that going in and were prepared, so it wasn't an issue. Felt more like Hawaii prices if not more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ivy B, thank you for providing feedback on your recent family vacation – we are so glad that you had a wonderful experience! We appreciate your generous comments about our excellent customer service, great food and beautiful beachfront.

It sounds like you and your family had the chance to enjoy many of our Beach House activities. Did you have the chance to check out Stingray City during your stay? It is incredible how timid these creatures are! Being able to stand in the Sand Bar while stingrays of all sizes surround you is really an experience that shouldn’t be missed. We really recommend this excursion to our guests and they often come back to tell us that it was the highlight of their trip.

I am sorry that you felt that the prices in Cayman were very high. Unfortunately one of the few downsides of living in our beautiful island is the high cost of food due to the number of items that are imported from abroad. For example, some vegetables and fruits cost 30% more in Cayman than in any state in the US because they are brought in from oversees. Having said that, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at our restaurants!

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a great stay in the Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort. The building itself wasn't quite as modern anymore, which could be especially seen in the rooms, but it was overall very clean and nice. Especially the beach was amazing, and the turtles in the outside pond were fun to watch! The service was excellent, and I would like to point out three of the many people there who have made our stay so very enjoyable: Ruby Ann, Warren Chaves and Anne Nicol - Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TravelBanana1, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent time with us. We are thrilled that you had a very relaxing stay! We appreciate your kind comments about our amazing beach, excellent customer service and nice staff. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Ruby Ann, Warren Chaves and Anne Nicol – they will all be happy to hear that they helped make your stay with us very enjoyable.

You may be interested to hear that after phase two of our renovations (which are taking place in September), the whole design and feel of our communal areas including our lobby and restaurants are going to be transformed. Not only will be have our fresh juice station and gelato stand (another exciting recent addition) we will be offering other fun and delicious food stations such as a Crepe Stand. We look forward to your next visit when we can show off all the fabulous upgrades to our resort.

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We did a lot of research on accommodations before we chose the Marriott. There are other more expensive properties, and we considered many of them. We were blown Way by the Marriott. It has recently been updated, is in a fantastic location, and the rooms are great. We were beach front, which was a nice benefit. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. In particular, Davina, the concierge, was exceptional. She pointed us to some interesting restaurants and places to see, and took care of all the reservations, travel details, etc. The food was surprisingly good. We ate at the beach bar one night, and it was delicious. The 2 sit down restaurants were great as well. I will also mention while we were there we visited the Ritz Carlton as we were considering it for next year's trip. We even toured one of the rooms. The Ritz is great, but I prefer the Marriott. We will go again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Admiralrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Admiralrobert, thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. It is such a wonderful compliment to hear that you were blown away by your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words about our fantastic location, nice rooms, great restaurants and unbelievably friendly and helpful staff. I will make sure to tell Davina that you said she was exceptional – she will be thrilled to hear that she made such a lasting impression on your time with us.

At our restaurants, we provide fresh, simple and innovative dishes. By offering various specialty nights, we feel that we can really showcase a diverse range of delicious cuisines. We also send our chefs on exploratory trips across the globe to sample the best dishes from various regions. From the famous Mercado next to the Paseo De Gracia in Barcelona to the best sushi restaurants in California, our chefs travel around the world to find inspiration and the concepts that they bring back to Cayman is nothing short from the best. What we offer guests is a multi-sensory culinary experience, inspired by our island’s international flair. We are glad that you enjoyed dining at our restaurants!

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you you back again next year!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Do not stay here. This was absolutely the worst hotel experience. First they put us in a room with scaffolding so you could not see out of your room. They call this an island view. After I complained they did nothing to try to help us. They finally moved us to a room that had a flood on the floor. The room smelled like mold and mildew. Horrible. the bartenders at the pool bar were lazy except for Lisa who was the BEST. I usually stay at starwoods resorts but I thought i would try the Marriot. Bad choice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rich f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear rich f, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority so we deeply regret that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. You may be interested to hear that we will be undergoing a major renovation in September, which will change the look and feel of all our communal areas, including our lobby, restaurants and fitness center. We have started preparing for this design overhaul, which is the reason why there was scaffolding present. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. The updates are going to be impressive and we hope to welcome you back soon so we can show off the spectacular new design of our resort.

I really appreciate you bringing to my attention the areas of your vacation that you felt warranted improvement. I have shared your comments with the relevant departments and we are evaluating what we can do to enhance the experiences of our future guests.

I welcome you to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. Please feel free to email me on ingrid.chaves@marriott.com or call me on (345) 949-0088.

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Beach area is small and crowded and the pool was much smaller than we thought. We didn't get the type of room we requested. Service was good, as was the restaurants. The hotel is in walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: If booking from a third party travel website, call to ensure that the type of room you requested is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Michelle F, thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind feedback about our customer service, good restaurants and ideal location.

However, we are very sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Regarding your comments about our beach area, unfortunately all the properties along Seven Mile Beach are affected by the weather systems that pass through during certain times of the year. As a result of these weather patterns, we sometimes lose parts of the beach. These are natural seasonal occurrences and the beach does go back to normal after a certain period of time. I truly regret that you were with us during one of these occasions. We understand that this can be detrimental to our guests’ vacation experience and for that we would like to extend our deepest apologies.

I welcome you to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. Please feel free to email me on ingrid.chaves@marriott.com or call me on (345) 949-0088.

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice hotel friendly staff. I didn't think that a Garden terrace room would include a view of the air conditioning unit a chain link fence and another hotels view. I had a panic attack that I would be stuck in this room for nine days. They moved us to a courtyard view of the turtle ponds which was 100 times nicer. The hotel was walking distance from many restaurants and bars. Located directly on the beach they had geo balls for snorkeling right off the shore.

Room Tip: Pay more for a courtyard room or beach view. I cried at the site of our first room which was suppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Kristie F, thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our nice and friendly staff as well as our ideal location.

I am sorry to hear about the issue regarding your room but I am glad to hear that it was quickly resolved. You mentioned that your new room overlooked the Courtyard – did you have the chance to chill out by the Turtle Lagoon? It is such a tranquil place to chill out and decompress! Our guests always tell us how much they enjoy curling up with a good book on our distinctive outdoor furniture.

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to see you again in the near future!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing