We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel average, staff fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a great stay here, and have very little to complain about. The hotel is an average Marriott, nothing spectacular, but comfortable and clean (this comment is not meant negatively).

The beach and water are some of the best I think you will find anywhere.

The staff from the moment you arrive were fantastic. They set the tone of hotel; friendly. We did not feel like another customer - the people who put the umbrellas out and just did a fantastic job to check everyone was enjoying them selves and offer advice. Lloyd offered us great recommendations, and was one of the nicest hotel employees I have met over the years. (I travel a lot for work and stay in a lot of hotels).

I would say that this hotel is geared up slightly more for families than a romantic getaway. However, we don't mind kids enjoying themselves.

The drinks, foot, etc. at the hotel is very expensive - I would recommend eating out.

Room Tip: Ground floor - easy access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdaveUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear bigdaveUK1, thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your generous comments about our comfortable and clean resort as well as our fantastic and friendly staff (I will make sure to tell Lloyd that you mentioned him – he will be thrilled he made into your review!)

At our resort, we do our best to provide our guests with the ultimate Beach House experience by creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere where family and loved ones can spend quality time together. Did you have the chance to experience our bonfire nights during your stay? We like to hand out ingredients to our guests so that they can make S’mores – it is one of my favorite activities as it evokes the happy nostalgia of summertime!

You may be interested to hear that we will soon be renovating all our public spaces, which will include our lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms and fitness center. The design and feel of our resort will be completely transformed – we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can experience all the fabulous enhancements to our Beach House!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,640 - 2,646 of 5,297 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We checked into the Marriott very easily. Our room was ready, clean, and the doormen could not have been more welcoming and inviting. Our room over looked the courtyard and was exactly what we needed for the week. Our package included free breakfast and it was amazing. Every morning we ate at the Red Parrot. It could be expensive if you do not have it included. ($60 for two people). There was a fridge in the room so we bought some water and would refill them in the gym. Two nights we had dinner here and the food was amazing. The beach is a little small, however, I do not feel the hotel was prepared for as many people that would be staying here. A short walk down it gets wider and is a beautiful place to take a stroll. I was surprised how busy it was for August. I did manage to need some medical attention due to swimmers ear. The front desk was prompt in letting us know a doctor was on call and would be at my room in an hour. It is expensive ($300) but we purchased travel insurance through geoblue. He was there in an hour and we were back to our normal day. Everyone made sure our stay was pleasant and could not have been nicer! Thank you Marriott for a great vacation! We will be back to see you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jaclyn M, thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a great vacation! We really appreciate your generous comments about our welcoming staff and delicious food at our restaurants. I recently attended a tasting panel for the menu in Solana and I am really looking forward to the new dishes we will be serving!

The theme for our restaurants after our renovation will be inspired by international cuisines with a Caribbean flair. The menu is going to be absolutely amazing with dishes like jerk pork poutine, pork belly crepe and a Caribbean lobster roll; just to name a few. Watch this space to hear more about all the exciting changes that will be taking place at our resort in the next few months. We hope you will be impressed by all the fabulous enhancements to our hotel the next time you visit!

Thanks for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Good, very clean Resort with an outstanding service. Excellent location, with a good snorkeling site right in front of the Hotel. Tons of fish, calm, warm waters. Very close to many Restaurants, and Camana Bay. Needs some update on the main/lobby area, but we were informed they will do it in September. Lovely outdoor area, with seating and shade available for a relaxing reading time by the turtle lagoon. Lots of water activities available right there. We did the parasailing and the view was amazing. Everything in this Island is expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fwf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear fw75, we appreciate you leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for all your kind comments about our outstanding customer service and excellent location. I agree, I think our resort is ideally located on the gorgeous Seven Mile Beach with its proximity to Camana Bay and Georgetown as well as numerous restaurants, bars and shopping centers only being a stone’s throw away.

I am glad to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to chill out by the Turtle Lagoon – it is such a tranquil place to relax and decompress! Our guests always tell us how much they enjoy curling up with a good book on our distinctive outdoor furniture. It really has a peaceful ambiance.

And as you mentioned, we are really looking forward to our imminent renovation in September and October, which will transform the look and feel of all our public spaces, including our lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms and fitness center. We are really excited about the upgrades – it really is going to be a design overhaul that will make our Beach House look better than ever.

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A friend of mine planned a short trip to Grand Cayman through JetBlue vacations, and the Marriott had a reasonable price package for three nights. The strip along Seven Mile Beach was lined with hotels, so it's a very touristy area. The Marriott was better than I had anticipated. It was very clean (I feel for the guy who has to clean the floors and carpets after people trek in sand), and the facilities are clean, modern and convenient.

The beach property is pretty crowded - the chaise lounge chairs are packed in like sardines, which wasn't ideal. And the swimming area was mostly lounging docks and water hammocks, which wasn't ideal. You could swim slightly to the left where there weren't these things, but then you swam into the rock formations (which allowed for some great snorkeling). There are too many hotels on this strip of beach...

BUT what really made my stay at the Marriott was the staff, specifically, Davina. They really went above and beyond. They were constantly answering our questions, giving advice, showing us maps, and really treating us like royals. But in particular, Davina, was able to locate and order Seven Fathoms Rum inspired coffee, which the distillery delivered to the hotel. This one small act showed she really cared, and our stay was amazing because of her and her staff.

Pros: clean hotel with lots of amenities and water sport options, reasonable prices with JetBlue package, amazing staff

Cons: crowded beach, lots of little kids, pricey restaurant/drinks, very expensive water sport rentals

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HI22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear HI22, thanks for providing a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments about our clean, modern and convenient facilities as well as our phenomenal staff. I think we have the best team in Cayman – they are so professional, friendly and kind – and it lovely to hear this directly from our guests. I will make sure to mention all your positive feedback to Davina. She will be thrilled to hear that you said your stay was amazing because of her and her team.

Did you have the chance to check out our new gelato stand in our lobby during your stay? We have partnered up with Gelato & Co. Cremeria Italiana, who makes their gelato fresh everyday with the highest quality ingredients. With mouthwatering flavors like Bacio – a delicious blend of dark chocolate and hazelnut and local mango to name a few; indulging in gelato is a perfect way to cool down and end your sun-filled day at the beach.

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My wife of 30 years and I stayed for seven days. We had been at the Marriott five years earlier. Our stay last time was great. This time not so much. We entered our room with our Window open facing workers on platforms work. We couldn't use our patio at all. Not very attractive to say the least. My wife ran out of cold water while in the shower. She came close to getting burned. When asked to move to another room was told no and had to wait till other people checked in. Again not very attractive. I can say the front door greeter was fantastic and made our stay great. Howard took care of us in every way. And marine at the bar took care of us in the mornings for coffie and anything we needed. I could have rated the stay badly but its the caymans

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Phil A, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent anniversary vacation with us. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff. I will make sure to tell Howard and Marine that you mentioned them in your review. They will be thrilled to learn that they made a lasting impression.

I am so very sorry to hear of the some of the issues that you experienced during your time with us. I have spoken to the relevant departments about the areas that you mentioned and we are looking into ways that we can improve our offering. Nonetheless, the satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and we deeply regret that you were disappointed with aspects of your vacation.

You may be interested to hear that we will soon be underdoing an extensive renovation of our public spaces, including our lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms and fitness center, which will completely change the design and feel our Beach House. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so you and your wife can experience all the spectacular enhancements to our resort.

Thank you for choosing Marriott and again we extend our most sincere apologies again for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights. Overall, we had a wonderful vacation/experience.

Rooms- my husband is Platinum and we were on a reward points stay. We did not receive an upgraded ocean front room as the hotel was fully booked. Our room faced the turtle lagoon and was very nice/peaceful. The ocean front room would have been nice, but you are literally a 1-2 minute walk to the ocean at this hotel. We really were not in the room much. It was a standard Marriott room. Our maid service was excellent.

Resort- it is smaller than most Marriott resorts we have stayed and the pool is very small. Again, we knew this going here and were really there for the ocean/beach. It ocean is beautiful and the snorkeling is great. Our two daughters who are 7 and 9 snorkeled daily with us and loved it. Beach is small and the chair issue has been discussed at length on the site. You could walk a little further down the beach and have plenty of sand and room for hunting sea shells. It was actually nice to have it smaller to watch small children.

Food- the lounge in the lobby is great. We had Neil for our waiter a few times and he was great. Food is very expensive here. We also are at the poolside restaurant/bar several times. Service was great, except for one extremely rude waitress (Tilly). We were actually shocked at her attitude since everyone else at the resort was so awesome. Tip- Cimbuco, Coconut Joes, and Pepper's are all in walking distance. A great alternative for meals if you do not have a car and want something a little less expensive. We also walked down the beach a few hotels to the Royal Palm. Very nice restaurant on the beach.

Activities- great for families. S'mores on the beach, cotton candy, ice cream sandwiches, and crafts at the kids club. The ladies running the activities were extremely nice and my daughters enjoyed them.

Pros- service/staff were great. Bell men, front desk, umbrella guys on the beach (who were very funny), bartenders, maids, etc were all great! Ocean/snorkeling are amazing. Very relaxing vacation.

Cons- the price of everything on Grand Cayman. We knew that going in and were prepared, so it wasn't an issue. Felt more like Hawaii prices if not more.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ivy B, thank you for providing feedback on your recent family vacation – we are so glad that you had a wonderful experience! We appreciate your generous comments about our excellent customer service, great food and beautiful beachfront.

It sounds like you and your family had the chance to enjoy many of our Beach House activities. Did you have the chance to check out Stingray City during your stay? It is incredible how timid these creatures are! Being able to stand in the Sand Bar while stingrays of all sizes surround you is really an experience that shouldn’t be missed. We really recommend this excursion to our guests and they often come back to tell us that it was the highlight of their trip.

I am sorry that you felt that the prices in Cayman were very high. Unfortunately one of the few downsides of living in our beautiful island is the high cost of food due to the number of items that are imported from abroad. For example, some vegetables and fruits cost 30% more in Cayman than in any state in the US because they are brought in from oversees. Having said that, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at our restaurants!

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a great stay in the Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort. The building itself wasn't quite as modern anymore, which could be especially seen in the rooms, but it was overall very clean and nice. Especially the beach was amazing, and the turtles in the outside pond were fun to watch! The service was excellent, and I would like to point out three of the many people there who have made our stay so very enjoyable: Ruby Ann, Warren Chaves and Anne Nicol - Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelBanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_GrandCayman, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear TravelBanana1, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent time with us. We are thrilled that you had a very relaxing stay! We appreciate your kind comments about our amazing beach, excellent customer service and nice staff. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Ruby Ann, Warren Chaves and Anne Nicol – they will all be happy to hear that they helped make your stay with us very enjoyable.

You may be interested to hear that after phase two of our renovations (which are taking place in September), the whole design and feel of our communal areas including our lobby and restaurants are going to be transformed. Not only will be have our fresh juice station and gelato stand (another exciting recent addition) we will be offering other fun and delicious food stations such as a Crepe Stand. We look forward to your next visit when we can show off all the fabulous upgrades to our resort.

Thank you for choosing us as your Beach House in Cayman and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Ingrid Chaves, Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,350 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
356 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £239 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing