We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding, and I really loved it.

The beach is private, quiet and pristine. The complex is like your very own private house on the beach.
I had lunch at the Westin and the Ritz next door, and to be honest I preferred the peace and non resort feel of this place. You don't realize how private it is until you walk down 7 mile beach and see how many people are on the beach where the cruise ships drop them off.

The condo we stayed at was specious, modern and in great condition. There was more space than we knew what to do with it. The beds were also very comfortable.
There is no greater feeling then having your room face right on to the beach where you can wake up to the ocean everyday.

Regarding food, there is a huge grocery store that is a 10 minute walk or quick taxi ride. The kitchen is spacious and great for cooking. If you cook the staff actually cleans everything up for you as part of their daily cleaning.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a home away from home feeling. If you are looking for a full out resort experience (full wait staff, water activities etc.) then try the Westin/Ritz.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LexEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our second year in a row to spend at The Avalon on our January girls trip. Both times we've stayed in Unit #9, ground floor on the end. There are so many things to love about this place inside and out. Inside, our unit was clean, fresh, updated and very comfortable. Equipped with everything you need for a week. In a word, perfect. Outside, it gets even better! The beach is 5 steps out the back door with plenty of chairs, loungers and umbrellas. Great fluffy beach towels. There are spots on 7 Mile Beach that have rocks at the entry to the water. This is all sand. The best part, it's not crowded. If you walk to the hotels, they are lined up like on a cruise ship. At least in high season. The thing that really tops all of this is off are The Avalon people from the office, to maintenance to the cleaning staff. They're responsive, caring, warm and very conscientious. Bottom line, we booked for 2015 before we ever left. I think that might be a first for me!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Staying here for the first time. Was here in grand cayman in February and stayed at westin. This time we have our two teenage daughters with us and thought a condo made more sense. This place is perfect. Perfect location on SMB- garage for our rental car. Screened porch. Uncrowned beach. Plenty of chairs. Only a few umbrellas but so many great trees that shade isn't a problem if that's what you want. Meticulously clean. I wonder if it's been recently remodeled bc everything is so new, clean and up to date. Love the daily housekeeping! Sure will stay here again if I get the chance. Wouldn't change a thing. Not one thing. It's a 10!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank bev042660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went on the recommendation of Wayland Travel. It was perfect for our family. Our 20 and 23 year olds had their own bedrooms and bathrooms. You can easily walk to all water sports and fun beach bars. We stayed in unit 3, a really really nice place. There is a fitness center on site which was a great bonus for the family. I highly recommend this beautiful and clean condo. You could not ask for a better location on 7 Mile Beach.

Room Tip: Being on the first floor gives fantastic access to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We researched and really wanted a beautiful condo on the beach on Grand Cayman. We stayed beachfront at the Meridian before, but this trip they were over budget, so we decided on the The Avalon. We selected/reserved a particular unit based on what was showing available on their website. However, upon arrival, we were placed in a different unit. This would not be an issue if all the condos were furnished the same, but they are not. Some units are upgraded and offer more modern furnishings and just seem more spruced up, and some feel worn and in need of attention. The unit we were bumped to (due to them bumping someone else to our unit the day before) was in need of updates greatly. We headed back to the office and there we were somewhat hesitantly offered a few other units to look at. We really wanted 1st floor to be able to walk out directly on the beach, but the upgraded one we looked at initially was 2nd floor. If the walkout wasn't a big deal, we would have taken it, the furnishings and patio and view was awesome. We continued to look at about 3 or 4 other units and finally settled on the last one we viewed, Unit #9. It was upgraded, seemed refreshed and was an end unit on the first floor with the easy walkout to the beach. After we got settled, we really enjoyed this unit, just the initial switch around and looking at other units when we were tired from traveling was a pain. The unit itself was very comfortable, King bed, 2 twins and 1 queen. 3 full baths, washer/dryer that worked great, fully stocked kitchen with lots of dishes, pots pans, to cook with...etc. We had daily housekeeping (except on Sunday) and the housekeeper did a fabulous job, keeping us stocked with beach towels and bath towels which was really nice. The property has a really nice grill area, close to this unit, that is well maintained and my husband cooked out on it for a couple lunches and dinners. Great way to save money and enjoy the patio, beach view. The 1st floor access was probably the biggest plus, we really went in and out all day long and it was so convenient to not have to walk to a stairwell or elevator and back again for the beach. The view from patio is beautiful. The beach itself is absolutely stunning. I guess it is the almost North part of Seven Mile Beach, gorgeous crystal clear water, white sand, iguanas throughout the area, easy entry to water, sandy. We also saw 2 stingrays, cuttlefish, pufferfish etc., just outside our condo in water. Both directions on the beach offer things to see, and additional snorkeling opportunities. Overall, we were very happy at this location. While in Cayman we did spot some other gorgeous condo properties that we may look into on the next trip, but I would consider staying here again for the lower rates that are offered in the off season and the excellent, quiet beach location.

Room Tip: First Floor offers best direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is our second time staying at The Avalon on 7 Mile Beach. The location is superb. June is "Low Season" so we practically had the beach to ourselves. It was rare to see more than a handful of people. Unit 28 is a great condo. Very nicely decorated and well appointed, no complaints there. We booked at a very nice rate, lower than usual. Later found out this was due to installation of hurricane windows. No problem as we weren't bothered at all.

I was bothered upon check in to learn that our rate was increased. I told the management staff that that was not the rate we booked at. Had my deposit form, etc. They said yes they knew that but there "was an error when you made the reservation." I didn't push it as I should have. Their only explanation was there was a mistake with the online booking. Really poor business practice. Found another recent Trip Advisor review with a similar complaint. Another "ding" against the Avalon is the pool is never clean. I know it is tough to keep a public pool clean, but really there were so few people using the pool, vacuuming every morning should have taken care of this.

Again, Unit 28 was great. As was Unit 25 we stayed in before. Location is superb! Gorgeous beach. Management and upkeep need to improve.

Room Tip: I love 3rd floor for the views and quietness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent last week in Condo #12. This is our third stay at Avalon Condos. The unit was very clean and spacious and perfect for my 2 and 4 year old daughters. We had the whole pool to ourselves every day and the beach was also not crowded - there is plenty of shade. We love having a garage for our rental car (we always use Andy's). Daily housekeeping is wonderful. Great views from the screened and un-screened balconies. Our freezer was not working properly and management sent someone out to fix it that day.

We were also told in advance that there would be construction going on during our stay (replacement of sliding doors) and received a significant discount. I was a bit annoyed because we had only booked days prior to that email and knowing that information may have made me choose another complex. But we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would stay at Avalon condos again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coral Stone Club
Coral Stone Club
#5 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#6 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Bay Club
Aqua Bay Club
#7 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon

Address: West Bay Rd., Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £1 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most luxurious Grand Cayman condo complexes on Seven Mile Beach. The Avalon Condominiums offers tranquility to all guests, with its spacious and private condos all facing the crystal clear water of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Each of our elegant, oceanfront villas features 3 beds, 3 baths, gourmet kitchen, screened dining terrace, and stunning beach views. Amenities include a fitness center, swimming pool, tennis court, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Avalon Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing