We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This hotel/timeshare property was awful. The rooms aren't clean and the property is a complete mess. Apparently a hurricane damaged the property extenisively back in 04 and you can definitely tell. They've done an okay job of renovating the rooms (think tacky 80's flower prints and wicker) but the property itself is a safety hazard. I would not reccomend allowing children to explore the property unsupervised. Where there was once a lovely dive shop is now a crumbling, boarded up, rat infested mess and what was once a tennis court is now a site for what looks to be extra construction materials and mostly junk.
The beach is nice, but note that this property is NOT ON THE BEACH. You have to walk past another property and down a public beach access where the chairs are in front of a new condo complex under construction. The construction noise was loud and not relaxing at all. On the positive side, the water there is glorious! There was pretty good snorkelling right off of the beach and there are plenty of good restarants within a 5 minute walk. In terms of location, except for the fact that the property isn't on the beach it is very centrally located. I will definitely return to Grand Cayman because it was beautiful and despite the very disappointing accomodations we had a lovely time but when we return it will be to stay at one of the lovely condo complexes right on the beach which don't have any visible signs of hurricane damage.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HappyGilmoreHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2008

We are spending our last day of our 10 day trip relaxing. When we arrived we were shocked about how expensive everything was and not really feeling the love of Grand Cayman or 7 mile beach resort. After a couple of days, we are already dreaming of our next trip. The "resort" is more like apartments without many ammenities onsite. We chose to be in a lower level unit and it has been perfect. We go to the pool from the back screened in porch and to the beach from the front door. Many review stated there were not enough chairs or umbrellas, but they seem to have solved that problem. We have had umbrellas waiting at the beach everyday. We even checked one out at no charge for our entire 10 days here. We took it to other beaches when we went snorkeling. We eat our breakfast in the unit and have lunch or dinner in one of the many places around the island. We were comfortable driving on the left hand side of the road and we are greatful that we had a car during our stay to take us to the many great beaches and sights to see. My husband cooked out on the barbques several times and it was very nice. Cleaning service only come mid week (wednesday) and we had no problem with that. I havent been many places that you can put on your snorkel fins and mask and go right off the beach and see such amazing sights. If you swim to the right(facing the ocean) you will end up behind the Marriot and there are wonderful fish to see. If you go to the left (behind treasure Island - about 5 resorts down) you can see many fish. We saw lemon sting rays, baraccuda, nurse shark, shrimp, parrot fish, tarpon, angel fish, gar and many colorful fish. We have never stayed anywhere that the snorkeling was so incredible. The location of 7MBR is awesome. Not far from town and very close to groceries and many eating establishments. The resort is very comfortable and meets all the basic requirements. Grand Cayman is a little dead at night, so get up early and enjoy the island and then get a movie (available from reception at no charge) and have a quite evening. Final note - we went to the Luau at Comfort Suites(next door) and it isn't worth the $24.95 C.I. pp. We had a family of 4 and with drinks (soda for 1 person and 2 drinks apiece for the other 3) our bill was $199.00 U.S. dollars. Enjoy your visit and don't miss the sting ray trip, turtle farm and if you can try diving. We went to Dive Tech and did the resort dive for $125.00 U.S. per person and now we all want to be certified! Awesome time!

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank vacatondiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I wasn't impressed at all. The decor was average and the beach was okay. I enjoyed that my kids had fun but I expected much more. The staff consisted of one lady it seems (she was sweet)and The place just seemed dead. I wasnt horrible and I would go back but I would stay elsewhere. Bring LOTS of money because US currency is WORTHLESS there. Trust me. I went to HELL and Georgetown it wasnt bad just not much to do again. It cost alot to do nothing really. Hope this helps

2  Thank cynnibonn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We traded this timeshare through Interval International. I went with my husband and another couple. We are in our late 20s to early 30s.
Negatives: The outside hasn't been renovated in about 20 years. It needs new paint. The pool bar is under construction and as far as I understand has been since 2003. None of the rooms have views of the ocean. There is a short walk to the beach...not a big deal. However, there are only 12 lounge chairs for about 40 suites/condos! There are only 2 beach umbrellas..1 of them was broken. When I complained, the manager just shrugged her shoulders..."oh well". We went to the Marriot right next door and other resorts to use their chairs. It's not a problem...just don't show your towel :)
You are responsible for cleaning the condo. They didn't clean the place once the entire week we were there. They only gave us fresh towels on Wednesday. We were there for a week.

Positives: Best location!!! We could walk to Georgetown and many bars and restaurants.
The inside of the suite/condo is very nice. The appliances are brand new. The place is very spacious. Also the screened in porch was great!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lansdalepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Just returned from a perfect week at 7 mile beach resort. The units are spectacular, newly redone, kitchen is awesome, rooms great, very clean, office staff - especially Vangie - absolutely the best anywhere. This combined with the beauty of the island, great trip to Stingray City where we got a DVD of our trip done for posterity, weather fabulous, everything was the best, including the people who live there. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank waterwomanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Resort is like new. Short walk to beach is not a problem here-just down the path. With 7 Mile Sports on site and Don Fosters (used mostly) across the street you have your choice of dive locations any day you choose. Everyone is very accomodating. If you are a seasoned Time share owner you will not be surprised at the island surcharge for electricity. Be ready to give the Cayman Island government their due. This has nothing to do with 7 Mile. Coconut Joes across the street is good, but found Aqua Beach just down the road better for quality of food and entertainment. The Luau at Stingers next door is not worth the $24.95. The Royal Palms was excellent but pricey. Good entertainment also. Snorkel the Cemetary Beach - but go out to the farthest reef to get the incredible sights. Overall a great vacation -diving-snorkeling and relaxing. 7 Mile Beach Resort was a pleasant surprise given it was rated a 2.5 - 3 star.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lynette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

My husband and I (late 20s/early 30s) spent December 8-15, 2007 at SMB Resort and Club. We traded a time share week through Interval International for our stay.

There are many pros to SMB resort, however, when they titled the name of this rental property they should have stopped before resort and club. SMB resort is really a condo about 1,000 square feet per unit, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, fantastic screened deck with super comfortable furniture I can't stop thinking about. It is comfortable and met all our needs. We had to find all our own activity, however. At several points I wondered if anyone else worked there except the manager behind the desk. There are no daily activities for adults and at night it is dead quiet. I don't know what would have happened if I needed anything (especially after 7 p.m.).

The location was fantastic. Rent a car and travel around the island - paid $200 US for the week with Thrifty at the airport. Coconut Joe's across the street has delicious food, however like everything on the island it is EXPENSIVE. We used our full kitchen at SMB to cook many of our meals. We paid $47 US for a case of Corona and over $50 each time we ate out including lunch.

We did 2 SCUBA dives with Don Fosters (across the street at Comfort Inn - $250 US for 2 tank dive for two people including BCD rental, etc.) and was amazed with Big Tunnel and disappointed with Fish Reef. The shop was very friendly and safe. Cemetary Beach snorkeling was truly like putting your face in a fully stocked aquarium.

Avoid Georgetown when multiple cruise ships are in and definetly check out Stingray City with Sotos. We drove all around the island in our rental car and ended up at Rum Point one day. This is one of the most beautiful parts of Grand Cayman. It is quiet and relaxing and the beach is beautiful. They do not allow you to bring food onto the beach so we packed a lunch and ate in our car. We did end up spending $20 on 2 drinks that were so-so. The scenery made up for it.

Of all the Carribean islands we've visited, this was by far the cleanest, safest and most American-ized. You will not find impoverished towns around your resort. It is all well kept up and mostly repaired from Hurrican Ivan. I would visit again. Enjoy your stay!

5  Thank corrineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club

Address: 19 D Piper Way West Bay Rd, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £133 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
7 Mile Beach Hotel
7 Mile Beach Cayman
Seven Mile Beach Resort
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing