We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant condo in good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
1 review
“Pleasant condo in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

The Seven Mile Beach resort was a comfortable place to stay. It was not easy to find -- the sign is very small along West Bay Road; you turn into the road that seems to be for the Comfort Suites; it is a very handy location for less expensive restaurants, and access to points north and south along West Bay Road. The office is on the second floor of the front unit, so not obvious. Our reservation form said that check-in was 4 p.m., but fortunately we went early, because when I got there she told me that she was closing the office at 4 p.m. on Sunday -- I think there is a way to prearrange late check-in. The office and activities services are marginal; it's very casual, not always staffed. There was a dive operator taking folks out.

We actually had a very pleasant stay, but my expectations weren't high, since I had read other reviews. The walk to the beach was pretty short (need to wear shoes), and there are some lounge chairs marked for the 7MB resort. A huge new condo building is being constructed that messed up the view at the beach (there is not a beach view from the resort -- we had a tiny peek from our kitchen window). The beach area is fine -- fairly rocky near shore, so there is close in snorkeling good enough for us, and it's an interesting walk to see some other parts of seven mile beach.

There are no elevators; access is by outside stairs to each unit, entry into the kitchen. Nice, roomy kitchen with newer stainless appliances; including indoor ice service from the side-by-side fridge. Adequate supplies in kitchen (salt and pepper, cooking stuff, dishwashing soaps, etc.) -- including ant spray. We did have a line of ants coming down by one of the kitchen cupboards and a few in the bathroom, but the spray took care of them, and wasn't obnoxious smelling. They were very tiny, and didn't get into our food, before I got them under control (which was easy --it was not a siginificant problem).

We spent most of our unit time out on the wonderful balcony -- equipped with upholstered chair and ottoman, and table and four upholstered rockers. It overlooked the very pretty pool area, which was nicely lit up with Christmas lights (there are people on GC who really go all out for decorating -- if you're there that time of year, be sure to drive out South Church to South Sound, and to Savannah at night). It was fairly noisy from traffic in the evening since it's right on West Bay Road.

Biggest annoyance was the laundry situation. The small laundry was in the middle building (awkward to get for us), cost CI$5.00 for a load (wash and dry) and only available 3 days (Mon, Tues, Thurs I think) because it's also the room for the housekeeping laundry on "turnover" days. (We're using to having much better laundry access in timeshare units).

There was no bathtub in the main bathroom, just in the master bath. No scheduled activities to speak of; no children's program (not a problem for us, we don't usually do much of those anyway). No closets, just a wardrobe/drawer unit (lots of other drawers tho); lots of hangers. Extra fees, besides GS tax, of $75.00 for energy.

Not really much in the way of other amenities -- just a pleasant condo to stay in, and be pretty much on your own. Staff was friendly and helpful, but we didn't interact much. The lady who seemed to be in charge let DGS go into their iguana cage to feed the iguanas (shredded carrots) which was fun for him. No restaurant, or bar, but there are some easily close by.

All the units are 2 bedroom and of decent size; one king (or queen) bed, two doubles, (beds seemed fine to us -- we were more comfortable with them that we had been our one night at the Westin with their "heavenly beds") and sofa bed. The floor is all stone, so I was worried about slipping, and it pretty much always felt gritty.

I would be fine with staying there again actually (but I expect it's not everyone's cup of tea).

  • Liked — Convenient location; well-equipped; comfortable furnishings
  • Disliked — Laundry; traffic noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mecllap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    76
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
59
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Our stay at Seven Mile Beach Resort was very nice. There were six of us(3 couples) and there was enough room for everyone. Although this is not quite the resort some may be used too it was great for us. The place is quiet, the pool was nice and the beach was not very far away. Just a short walk through a paved path. We arrived the weekend hurricane Paloma was suppose to hit Grand Cayman. Thank God, it missed the island and there was no major damage. Our flight was delayed getting there on Saturday but upon arrival there was plenty of sunshine for the rest of the week. The water at 7 mile beach was pretty rough and rocky for the first few days but seemed to calm down later in the week. The staff was very helpful also. We did find the island to be a little bit more expense than expected. My husband and I had lunch at Wendy's when we first got there and it was $17.00 US. Beer was like $42.00 per case and we spent $451.00 for a week's worth of groceries. The US dollar is only worth $.80 CI money. But, of course we made the best of it since we were on vacation. Rum point was the best. Would I recommend this resort to family and friends? Yes, especially if they are trying to be economical. There is nothing fancy about the place, but it was nice, clean and quiet. A great place to stay if you are traveling as a family or group.

  • Liked — Location and size of unit
  • Disliked — 3rd floor unit
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caymanwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

After reading some of earlier reviews, I confess we were concerned about what we would find at the Seven Mile Beach Resort. Upon our arrival we were greeted my Miriam in the office, efficiently checked in and asked what else she could do for us. Our unit, 3rd floor, which we chose from several that were offered was spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. The decor reflected the island environment - flowered on wicker with lovely artwork on the walls. While the resort has sustained damage from previous storms, the Dive Shop, hot tub and pool area were exceptionally well maintained. And what can we say about the staff? Beginning with Miriam and the office staff (and the office was always staffed with 1-2 folks, sometimes 3), to the Dive Shop and SMB Diver boat crew - they were outstanding! There was nothing that they wouldn't try to do to accommodate their guests. It was extraordinary and exceptional customer service, start to finish, everyday. But the shining star among them was Vangie, the Activities Coordinator, who seemed to be everywhere doing everything for everybody! She was terrific and couldn't do enough for all of the guests. Every day had a full complement of activities to chose from, as well as planned excursions. If you needed off-site reservations for anything, Vangie made them. If you needed information, Vangie had it. Not that the rest of the staff didn't or couldn't, but as AC, Vangie was the point person and most interactive with the guests. Friendly, outgoing and energetic, she saw to it that if a guest wanted it, wanted to do it, it would happen! She was SMB Resort's goodwill ambassador! And while there was major construction going on right next door, it was never intrusive or disruptive to our enjoyment of either the resort or the beach. While there are certainly more upscale resorts and hotels on Cayman, Seven Mile Beach is a little gem all of its' own and one that these travelers will return to as soon as we can! Thank you, SMB Resort!

  • Liked — Clean and well stocked in a convenient location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GrammyRMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

This hotel/timeshare property was awful. The rooms aren't clean and the property is a complete mess. Apparently a hurricane damaged the property extenisively back in 04 and you can definitely tell. They've done an okay job of renovating the rooms (think tacky 80's flower prints and wicker) but the property itself is a safety hazard. I would not reccomend allowing children to explore the property unsupervised. Where there was once a lovely dive shop is now a crumbling, boarded up, rat infested mess and what was once a tennis court is now a site for what looks to be extra construction materials and mostly junk.
The beach is nice, but note that this property is NOT ON THE BEACH. You have to walk past another property and down a public beach access where the chairs are in front of a new condo complex under construction. The construction noise was loud and not relaxing at all. On the positive side, the water there is glorious! There was pretty good snorkelling right off of the beach and there are plenty of good restarants within a 5 minute walk. In terms of location, except for the fact that the property isn't on the beach it is very centrally located. I will definitely return to Grand Cayman because it was beautiful and despite the very disappointing accomodations we had a lovely time but when we return it will be to stay at one of the lovely condo complexes right on the beach which don't have any visible signs of hurricane damage.

  • Liked — Very close to many restaurants
  • Disliked — The property is a mess and is not on the beach
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyGilmoreHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

We are spending our last day of our 10 day trip relaxing. When we arrived we were shocked about how expensive everything was and not really feeling the love of Grand Cayman or 7 mile beach resort. After a couple of days, we are already dreaming of our next trip. The "resort" is more like apartments without many ammenities onsite. We chose to be in a lower level unit and it has been perfect. We go to the pool from the back screened in porch and to the beach from the front door. Many review stated there were not enough chairs or umbrellas, but they seem to have solved that problem. We have had umbrellas waiting at the beach everyday. We even checked one out at no charge for our entire 10 days here. We took it to other beaches when we went snorkeling. We eat our breakfast in the unit and have lunch or dinner in one of the many places around the island. We were comfortable driving on the left hand side of the road and we are greatful that we had a car during our stay to take us to the many great beaches and sights to see. My husband cooked out on the barbques several times and it was very nice. Cleaning service only come mid week (wednesday) and we had no problem with that. I havent been many places that you can put on your snorkel fins and mask and go right off the beach and see such amazing sights. If you swim to the right(facing the ocean) you will end up behind the Marriot and there are wonderful fish to see. If you go to the left (behind treasure Island - about 5 resorts down) you can see many fish. We saw lemon sting rays, baraccuda, nurse shark, shrimp, parrot fish, tarpon, angel fish, gar and many colorful fish. We have never stayed anywhere that the snorkeling was so incredible. The location of 7MBR is awesome. Not far from town and very close to groceries and many eating establishments. The resort is very comfortable and meets all the basic requirements. Grand Cayman is a little dead at night, so get up early and enjoy the island and then get a movie (available from reception at no charge) and have a quite evening. Final note - we went to the Luau at Comfort Suites(next door) and it isn't worth the $24.95 C.I. pp. We had a family of 4 and with drinks (soda for 1 person and 2 drinks apiece for the other 3) our bill was $199.00 U.S. dollars. Enjoy your visit and don't miss the sting ray trip, turtle farm and if you can try diving. We went to Dive Tech and did the resort dive for $125.00 U.S. per person and now we all want to be certified! Awesome time!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank vacatondiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman islands visitor( NY native)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

I wasn't impressed at all. The decor was average and the beach was okay. I enjoyed that my kids had fun but I expected much more. The staff consisted of one lady it seems (she was sweet)and The place just seemed dead. I wasnt horrible and I would go back but I would stay elsewhere. Bring LOTS of money because US currency is WORTHLESS there. Trust me. I went to HELL and Georgetown it wasnt bad just not much to do again. It cost alot to do nothing really. Hope this helps

Helpful?
2 Thank cynnibonn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

We traded this timeshare through Interval International. I went with my husband and another couple. We are in our late 20s to early 30s.
Negatives: The outside hasn't been renovated in about 20 years. It needs new paint. The pool bar is under construction and as far as I understand has been since 2003. None of the rooms have views of the ocean. There is a short walk to the beach...not a big deal. However, there are only 12 lounge chairs for about 40 suites/condos! There are only 2 beach umbrellas..1 of them was broken. When I complained, the manager just shrugged her shoulders..."oh well". We went to the Marriot right next door and other resorts to use their chairs. It's not a problem...just don't show your towel :)
You are responsible for cleaning the condo. They didn't clean the place once the entire week we were there. They only gave us fresh towels on Wednesday. We were there for a week.

Positives: Best location!!! We could walk to Georgetown and many bars and restaurants.
The inside of the suite/condo is very nice. The appliances are brand new. The place is very spacious. Also the screened in porch was great!

  • Liked — The inside was new
  • Disliked — no beach chairs or umbrellas..had to go to another resort
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lansdalepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,843 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club

Property: 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
Address: 19 D Piper Way West Bay Rd, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
7 Mile Beach Hotel
7 Mile Beach Cayman
Seven Mile Beach Resort
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing