We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've stayed at the Sunshine Suites many times and it never disappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We've stayed at the Sunshine Suites many times and it never disappoints!”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is a great place to stay if you're not interested in paying top prices for a beachfront property. We spent two weeks diving on the island, so it didn't matter that it isn't on the beach. As usual the staff were extremetly helpful, particular thanks to Renoir for his help on our last day! The rooms are quiet but there's plenty of life at the bar if you want it. The Painkiller is definately recommended and do ask the barman for a Beer-garita, if you like beer and Margaritas you'll love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    517
    112
    24
    25
See reviews for
435
806
98
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

When looking for a place to stay in the Cayman Island, we read all the reviews to find the best place at the right price, because you never know. We picked the Sunshine Suites and we made the right choice. These reviews are correct. The 6 of us felt right at home here, enjoyed the breakfast, close enough to the 7 mile beach, and all at a good price. Sure you can spend alot more for beachfront and fancy, but we didn't need to. I would go there again.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank idahodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, TN, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

In One word--Clean. Grounds like a golf course. Rooms spotless. Rooms looked new. Pleasant staff. Very reasonable price. Has best lunch restaurant on island. Find best Sunshine Suites room price online with major travel agencies; then call Sunshine Suites directly at their 800 number; they will match price and give a food and beverage credit for booking directly. We will stay there again next time. Also try Eats/Legenz (connected and same menu/price) in Cayman Falls shopping center on main road in front of Sunshine Suites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeLochamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I researched a place to celebrate our 30th anniversary since we had loved Grand Cayman so much when we visited on a cruise 15 years ago. My husband and I are so glad we didn't stick with the large hotel chains. Sunshine suites' staff, food, pool, etc. are delightful and the property is immaculate inside and out. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsetbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at Sunshine Suites last year, (forgot to write a review) and for what we paid, we were satisfied. Yes, you have to cross a busy highway to get to the lovely 7 Mile Beach. Boyfriend and I are very athletic so the short walk was no bother to us at all. We found a sale on Sunshine Suites. The price was really inexpensive, so we decided last minute to fly down. I do my research so I was not expecting a 5 star property.

Boyfriend is allergic to gluten so it was great to have a full kitchen. There is a grocery store within walking distance for us. Our room was quite nice, clean, and very comfortable. We carried our own luggage to and from our room. Again, we are in shape so this was no chore at all. We found the staff at the desk to be quite personable and polite.

If we wanted to be right on the beach and have bell hops, etc we would have paid quite a bit more for that. We were looking for a last minute getaway and had already spent $ on a couple vacations prior to that trip so it worked out great for us. If you are looking to experience 7 Mile Beach for a great price, you will want to consider Sunshine Suites. If you want all the bells and whistles, pay more and stay at a property on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our first time ever to Grand Cayman! Pure paradise. We were very lucky to stay at Sunshine Suites Resort. Clean, safe, beautiful, and world best customer service. They treated us like their own family.

We always love to experience new places but will sure be back to GC/Sunshine Suites Resort as soon as we can.

Seven Mile Beach is so beautiful with crystal clear water and almost no waves. Pictures can never do it justice. Must see it with your own eyes.

Thanks to Darren, Mike, Michael, Julia, Renoir, Tania and all other staff for making our vacation a wonderful one. Mr. Greg Wray, you must be very PROUD of your resort and staff.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GABOONOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at a different hotel down the beach, but came back to the Sunshine Suites Grill multiple times. The food was excellent... best fish tacos and best burgers we have ever had, and the grill was by far the best meal value we found on the island. Our server, Kendal (with only one "L"), was great and she made us feel right at home.
We will definitely come back to Grand Cayman Island and Sunshine Suites Grill in the very near future.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gw8522, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear hotelreview12313,

Sunshine Suites Resort is independently owned and operated and has become Grand Cayman’s favorite 4-star boutique hotel. Since 2007 we have received 343 reviews on TripAdvisor and over 1,000 comment cards submitted directly from our guests after check-out. Not one of them has mentioned our hotel looking “tired”. In fact the overwhelming majority of the comments mention the freshness and cleanliness of our hotel as well as our “central” location to attractions and restaurants. Further, all 3 of the TripAdvisor top rated restaurants in Grand Cayman are either located on our property or in close proximity to Sunshine Suites Resort. As for pricing and value, I unequivocally reject your statement implying “there are much cheaper and better places on the beach to stay”.

We strive to please every guest every time. While not every one of the 17,000 guests who have stayed with us over the last few years were completely happy, there have only been a handful of guests who left disgruntled. Guests are always encouraged to bring their concerns directly to me while still in house. Please feel free to contact me directly as I would be happy to discuss this with you in more detail.

Greg Wray, General Manager
Sunshine Suites Resort
gwray@sunshinesuites.com
Office: 345-949-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing