We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine Suites Delivers !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunshine Suites Delivers !”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Have stayed at the Sunshine Suites after dining at the restaurant on a previous visit. Am a frequent visitor to Caymans for a combination of business, family and vacation.

I have say Sunshine Suites delivers on its promise of friendly service, clean well priced accommodation.

Staff more than accommodated a steady stream of family and friends staying over at my room and helped me through a couple of days of lost luggage and rescheduled flights with a 'what can we do to help ?' approach.

Their willingness to offer vacation package discounts, complimentary breakfast is what makes them the best deal on 7 mile beach. You have to walk across the street to get to the beach but for the difference in price it is a small inconvenience.Seven Mile beach is best enjoyed going mobile in that it is an open walking beach. Hotel properties permit you to traverse their beaches, walk up to their bar and grills to eat/drink and there are several good public beaches to hang out at if you so choose.

What differentiates Sunshine Suites from other hotels in its price range and star rating is the above noted service but especially its restaurant/bar. The fish tacos have won numerous 'Best of Caribbean' awards and they live up to there billing ! The rest of the menu is great as well and the bar actually is a fairly happening place at night. Add to this the convenience of a colocated strip mall with a liquor store and another chain of good restaurants - Eats, Legends and Yoshi Sushi and a nearby grocery store and you have all the essentials for a vacation on Caymans. There are other good restaurants and bars on the island but for those on a budget or on a business trip - the convenience of nearby, good, inexpensive options makes Sunshine Suites a great one stop shop.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kman_I_land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    505
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
416
792
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It was our second time staying at Sunshine Suites (our first time was in 2008), and we will surely return again. It is a great place for a family stay or if you're budget conscious. The hotel has a helpful and friendly staff, it is very clean and nicely decorated. We are a family of four, including two children (ages 18 and 14). Our room included a kitchenette which enabled us to cook our own meals and save on eating out. The supermarket (Foster's) is a short walking distance from the hotel (approx. 1/4 mile). It is also great to have the Sunshine Grill right downstairs for the times we wanted to eat out. We suggest their fish tacos - they're great. They also provide free continental breakfast for hotel guests. When we wanted to enjoy a late-night swim, the pool near the Grill was a delight. The tiki torches, table lighting and the soft sounds of music coming from the Sunshine Grill made the swim even more enjoyable.

Another benefit of staying at Sunshine Suites was having Captain Marvins's shop and Big Daddy's down the block, making it easy to purchase snacks, drinks, sunscreen and tickets to Stingray City (which everyone should try - it's awesome). We booked our stay through Cayman Airlines under their Summer Splash program and received two free tickets to Stingray City. Having Eat's Cafe just around the corner is another bonus, as well as having Seven Mile beach just across the street and the bus stop (for trips to George Town for $2/person) on the corner. Also, one could cross the road and rent a car at the Marriott. Cost for rental is $35/day for a subcompact car. We did this during our first visit and drove to Rum Point and other parts of the island. Its was a nice excursion.

The kids love our vacations at Grand Cayman so much that we are thinking of making our trip and stay at Sunshine Suites a family tradition.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites for six nights in July 2011 whilst on a business trip to Grand Cayman. The suite and facilities were ideal and with reliable high-speed wireless internet allowing me to be extremely productive when not attending meetings. The complimentary continental breakfast in an informal atmosphere was welcome and a small supplement gave access to a full hot breakfast. The resort is ideally placed for both business visitors and tourists, being convenient for both the main areas of business and the beautiful beach and nearby bars and restaurants. However, the Sunshine Suite’s own restaurant offers a mean burger and many other favorites at reasonable prices. I have no hesitation in recommending the resort for those visiting Grand Cayman on either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Savereux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 1 week in June with 2 friends/coworkers for a week of diving. The resort has great service from the minute you check in til checking out. The beach is a short walk across the hiway. Beach umbrellas, towels and chairs are provided. The surroundings are beautiful and well kept. The rooms are small but functional with a small kitchen. The free buffet breakfast that came with our package was a "got ya" all the free part included was cereal and bread/toast. For $5 extra you get the whole buffet including fruit,meat,eggs, etc. The Sunshine Grill is out of this world. For such a small sized restaurant they turn out awesome food. We ate here numerous times and the prices aren't bad. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divedu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

After considerable browsing time had been racked up we settled on the Sunshine Suites Resort. It turn out to be an excellent choice and centrally located for week's vacation to Grand Cayman. The Front Desk staff we marvelous in their welcome and continued helpfulness throught out our staff. One staffer in particular went out of her way to solved our issues in printing out baording passes for our return journey. Our resort was situated on the beautiful Seven Maile Beach, while our resort was not on the beach it was literally just minutes way,just across the road. The resort supplied us with towels and chairs to enjoy this natural wonder. We had a one bedroom suite which suited our needs perfectly because it gave us a sperate place to enjoy the TV and the evening snacking. Our room was very clean and the housekeeping staff were always courteous and make us feel welcome. Our resort boasts a fine family style restaraunt which was very popular, on everal occassion we dine by the pool and quite enjoyed the evening breeze. Just minutes away we discovered Camana Bay, an upscale shopping area that was quite amazing. It had many fine stores an observation tower with exquisite murals of Grand Cayman marine life, a must see. We also took in a movie at the Hollywood threatre and enjoyed the bookstore. This center is worh seeing, even to enjoy the architecture. We had a great week sigthseeing, attractions and enjoying the beach. I would highly recommend the Sunshine Suites for a vacation in your future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWayne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sunshine Suites for a week in July 2011. It was our first trip to Grand Cayman Island and we loved this hotel!! The only downside is that it is a bit of a hike to the beach, which became annoying in the blazing heat while we carried a cooler, chairs, beachbag, snorkel gear, etc. But other than that, the hotel was the best we've ever stayed at. Grand Cayman Island is a VERY expensive island, and the free breakfasts, plus the $250 credit we received toward meals at the Sunshine Grill really helped us maintain our budget and feel like we got amazing value for our money. It ended up that we really only needed to pay for one meal per day (which we cooked in our room)! The staff was so genuine and friendly, like they really wanted to help in any way they could or with any questions we had. We were always greeted with a smile and professionalism. We've traveled to several Caribbean islands and been to many hotels, and we have never had better service. The pool is pretty small so I wouldn't recommend this hotel for pool people. The room and grounds were immaculate. The free breakfast was delicious; anyone who complains about it is probably a very difficult person to please, in my opinion. Make sure you rent a car for a day and explore the island, and definitely take the jet ski tour to stingray city- best excursion ever!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Great location and beautiful well maintained property!! Front desk staff very friendly and always accommodating! We were even offered a cold bottle of water when we checked in!! Rooms were nice size and kitchen was perfect for meals in your room. Fosters Grocery store is just down the street!! Restaurants are very expensive!!the complimentary breakfast at Sunshine was cereal and fresh baked muffins/toast and usually some fruit. They do offer a hot breakfast buffet for about $6-7. The beach is a short walk and Sunshine has beach chairs and beach towels available to guest. There are no umbrellas at the beach or much shade so plan accordingly!! We traveled with our teenage boys and found plenty to do during the daytime but not much available in the evenings after dinner. Overall we had great time!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AATXPilotFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing