We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Sunshine suites is a clean, well maintained hotel located a block from the crystal clear waters of the world famous 7 mile beach corridor.

You can pay twice as much and stay at the toney Ritz Carlton. Or you can stay at the SS, cross the road and swim and tan on the same beach that the Ritz sits on. You can even refresh yourself at the Ritz’ outdoor bar or visit Eric Ripert's fantastic restaurant. But I digress...

SS's strong suit is its low cost and hominess. The rooms are cleaned every day and air conditioned. It’s quiet. They also have a better than average kitchen that prepares burgers, wraps and other things. Most stays include a complimentary breakfast which will fuel you for the whole day.

After breakfast you can grab a couple of beach chairs and cross the road to famous 7 mile beach. Snorkelers can swim out about 50 yards for a nice view of coral beds and reef fish.

The location on 7MB is convenient to go downtown via one of several local buses, or you can walk to many great places to eat. Or take a nice walk to the other side of the island. Tour operators to stingray city and other dive and snorkel trips are located in the strip mall adjacent to the property as is a sushi joint, a sports bar, a liquor store and another restaurant. In short everything you need for a nice, relaxing stay.

And be sure to try the "pain killer" rum cocktail at the bar. Wash it down with a nice Caybrew!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_in_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

This place has the feel of an inn rather than a big resort. It has lovely landscaping. The rooms are bright, have more than the usual hotel room lighting and outlets, which is helpful for computers and cell phones. The rooms have small kitchens and are brightly decorated. The staff were all very pleasant. The Sunshine Suites has wi-fi access, plus a room with computers available for guests to use. They also rent bicycles. The Sunshines Suites is conveniently located nearby shops and restaurants and has easy beach access across the street. They have complementary gym membership with World Gym, which is not within walking distance and to our disappointment did not have yoga classes so we did not make use of it. Rooms come with a complementary breakfast in the pleasant Sunshine Grill. The coffee, juice and piece of fruit are good, but the cereal, mini-muffins and toast were a disappointment. The full breakfast, priced at $6 (Cayman) or $8 (US) wasn't worth it. All in all, a very pleasant place in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This resort was amazing! The rooms were very clean and the staff made it such a pleasure to stay here. We stayed at the resort for a week and our room was amazingly clean everyday we came back. The dishes were done and the room smelled fresh. I would definaley stay again when we return tot he island! Would love to come back just for the restaurant and ice cream at the resort!!! YUM!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Location on where restaurants and attractions are. Make sure there is bus service in the area so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Months ago, my wife and I booked this trip to Grand Cayman in celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at a 7 Mile Beach luxury property and added an extra night to our trip, in order to try the Sunshine Suites (based on many recommendations). While we found the luxury on 7MB to be quite impressive (and nearly as grand as the price tag) we were very impressed with the comfort, service and value of the Sunshine Suites. We also had a great meal and wonderful cocktails at the restaurant (fish tacos and fried tomatoes are pheneomenal). Will be back for a longer stay at the Sunshine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio_Aguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel 1 night after arriving on island a day early for our timeshare.. I was very pleased with the staff and check-in procedures. The room was much more than I expected in its amenities. It had a medium size refrigerator, small stove-top and nice supply of utensils. There were 4 of us, 2 adults, 2 teenagers. The room was a good size for a few nights. I would not want to stay here for more than a week because of size. To put this statement into perspective we had a very large 2 bdr timeshare for the two weeks we were there. Its nice to have the teenagers in there own bedroom.
A few blocks down the road is the new Cost-u-Less nice for bulk food buying.
7 Mile beach was just across the road via a beach access path.
Pool looked clean and nice, we were not here long enough to use it. We went to the beach instead.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viccorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Had a good time staying at Sunshine Suites. Located across the street from the beach, have showers at the end of the property for you to rinse off before heading to your room. Very convenient. The staff at both resturant and hotel were friendly. The only complaint that I have is that the tv was messed up, as far as the sound goes ( didn't have sound on a few channels) we did left the front desk know about this, but was told it would be taking care of on Monday....the day we left. Other then that I would go back and stay there. Rooms were clean and kitchnettes were awesome to have in our room. Cooked some meals our self. Rented bikes the first day and went grocery shopping right down the street, bikes had baskets...which was great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANUELA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites for two weeks in September 2011 while waiting for power to be restored at my home after Hurricane Irene, and had a fantastic experience there. Darren, Mike, and the entire restaurant/bar staff were friendly and courteous, very helpful in suggesting, planning, and booking activities, and endlessly accommodating when my travel plans changed at the last minute. I highly recommend Sunshine Suites, and look forward to my next occasion to visit there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,391 reviews
1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
557 reviews
18.7 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,463 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £211 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing