We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just got back from a wonderful vacation in Cayman Islands. Sunshine Suites is a very nice and clean resort very close to a truly beautiful beach. The room is nice and very clean, we had the Deluxe Suite and the staff is very, very friendly. I would say the room is a bit overpriced, but Grand Cayman is not cheap by definition and we had everything we needed in the room, minus the wireless internet that didn't work at all. The hotel provides beach towels, chairs and umbrellas, but make sure when you go to the beach to not stay close to the blue beach chairs and umbrellas belonging to the Villas of Galleon because a security guy will tell you to move away. Their private beach ends where the umbrella shade ends and it makes you feel like an intruder even though we only wanted to stay close to a tree shade because we have a child.
As for the food, people choices are definitely different but we didn't like their breakfast at the Sunshine Grill. You only get a lot of eggs, cereal, butter and jam, one choice of fruit yogurt and only a plate of fruits that end very quick. There is no cheese or meat or more fruits since is a tropical islands with a lot of fruit trees.
We had a chance to get our dinner reservation after 3 days and again, we weren't impressed at all.
We ate almost every dinner at the EatsCafe, 5 minutes walking from the resort on the right side after the Liquor Store. Their menu offers a lot of choices, the cocktails are very good as well, clean and nice service.
Also the Foster's supermarket is within walking distance, around 10-15 minutes and you can bring back the store cart and just leave it on the main road, it will be picked-up later by the store's employees.

Room Tip: Top floor works the best to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYLulu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    493
    107
    23
    25
See reviews for
411
773
95
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just back from a fantastic holiday at Sunshine Suites Resort. Fantastic place, great value, super friendly and helpful staff. I advise that you get a junior suite for the extra space. Food at their restaurant is superb and the breafast was just perfect and the right sort of food for us.
Fosters supermarket just minutes away and a brilliant place for any sort of food you might get at home.
A must do while there is the stingray sandbar experience with Captain Dexter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandSusanVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Two families stayed there last week, 3 adults with 4 kids 10-16 yrs old. We had a great time, as do most people here.Having seen the single bed & couch arrangement and the 2 bed arrangement, we should have gone for the single bed and couch for 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom is between the living room/couch and bedroom, giving a whole lot more privacy than the 2 beds in one big room arrangement. The kithcen in the single bed room is bigger also.

Nice staff, the restaurant is very busy, so when they say to make reservations, make them. We had a reservation for the first night we arrived, a wonderful idea, otherwise we would have waited like the others. We cooked in our rooms most other nights, or ate out.

The road you have to cross is busy, but the traffic is slow, there is a turn lane in the middle you can stop at so you don't have to dash across all 3 lanes at once. Our kids crossed without incident as they went back and forth for lunch each day. The drivers are very friendly and stop for you, they even toot the horn for you to cross - which took me by suprise, the first time a driver beeped at me I yelled at him for being an inconsiderate clod - after another day of observation, I realized he was just trying to be nice, so I felt like a fool.

You could pay a lot more and stay directly on the beach, but why? This is a great place.

Room Tip: I would book the room with a couch for the kids and the queen for the adults. It gives more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Junkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is very nice resort across the road from the best beach on the Island. It's not luxury but you get very well what you pay for.
We had one bedroom suite and first we thought it's a mistake because it was small and basically looked like one big room - tiny living room, kitchen and very small bedroom without door.
But it was very clean and quiet and had everything you need: even kitchen utensils.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We didn't like the breakfast but we got our own groceries and kept them in a fridge. Sometimes we would get eggs and juice from the breakfast.
We ate ONLY at Sunshine Grill and absolutely loved it. The food (lunch and dinner) was great, reasonably priced considering that everything on the island is very expansive.
The resort provides beach chairs and beach towels which is very convenient.
If I return to the Cayman Island I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sa2000sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is in a prime spot with walking distance of approx. 2 minutes to beach. You can bring free chairs to beach with an ice chest and relax on the public beach. Great location. Hotel was clean, friendly and safe. However, if you're looking for a large resort with big pools and a resort feeling, try the Westin across the street but it will be significantly more money. I highly recommend the Sunshine Suites. There is a liquor store and gift shop within a 1 minute walk which making stocking up very easy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is like a well oiled machine. Our studio was a comfortable size for two people. The room was spotless, the grounds were well maintained and the pool while basic was big enough to swim laps. The complimentary breakfast is fairly elaborate for a "continental breakfast". We ate at the Sunshine Grill a few times and liked the menu choices and the quality of the food. The staff was gracious and very user friendly. We used the beach chairs available and enjoyed the beautiful seven mile beach across the busy street. Lots of restaurant choices in walking distance and if you don't feel like walking you can catch a bus at just a block away. Sunshine Suites is a reasonable and inviting place to stay. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you value your money, this really is the place to stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the food is GREAT. It's like the owners really understand attention to detail. The coffee tastes great... the bacon was good (it's a pet peeve of mine when the bacon at a place sucks). We tried every salad on their menu and can say that they are ALL delicious. Apparently they have a strategy of copying great dishes from other restaurants. And their little ice creams are SO DELICIOUS.

Of course, there are limitations. The breakfast is continental with only one or two hot items, so getting your protein can be a bit of a challenge and there is usually only one type of fruit. There is no view. And of course, you have to cross that busy street to get to the beach. But really, all of these things are not that big of a deal. The TV had sufficient channels, we pretty much just watched law and order anytime we were in the room. A few of our movie channels weren't working though.

We pranced right over to the Ritz for a drink or two, but you should know that the island itself is not very walkable. I guess that lack of taxes is evident in the lack of sidewalks. I didn't feel comfortable walking on the roads really and thought the bikers were crazy.

One funny thing about this place is that in the mornings, every single day, they placed ultra christian rock in the mornings. Like really cheesy stuff. It didn't offend us, but we did get a bit of a kick out of it. It just sets kind of a funny vibe while you eat your delicious cinnamon bun flavoured cereal. Seriously, try the cinnamon bun cereal!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyergal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing