We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunshine Suites Resort
Nearby Hotels
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa(Seven Mile Beach)
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$530
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,081
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$824
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$607
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$496
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas of the Galleon(Seven Mile Beach)
US$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$637
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
1,160
555
120
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
555
120
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggssmall kitchenliquor storestove topsister propertyminute walkon site restaurantfull size fridgestrip mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,330 - 1,335 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I haven't been to the caymans in 15 yrs and didn't know what to expect. Wow, lots of change..for the better. Much more affordable now with more growth and competition. Now, about the hotel. Best hotel experience I've ever had. Hotel is across the road from the beach. Yes,you might have to wait a minute or two at most for traffic to cross the road to the beach...not a big deal. The rooms were super clean and the bed was so comfortable we are looking for this bed in the states...no luck yet. The staff was beyond friendly and beyond helpful and the best was that it was all geniune. The grounds and landscaping were something out of a postcard. The pool was OK, not huge or grand scale, but with the beach across the road we didn't care. The bar/restaurant was in a word ..AWESOME as well as the staff there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This place provides great value in a central location on the island. As long as you don't mind crossing a busy street to get to the beach, you can save a ton of money from staying in one of the big resorts right on Seven Mile Beach. The hotel provides chairs and towels, and a decent free breakfast. The rooms are basic, but clean and functional. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. My only feedback was that they have signs in the bathroom about water conservation and the fact that it is important to the hotel, so please do not leave your towels on the floor unless you want them washed. We hung up all of our towels and housekeeping kept taking them every day anyway and replacing them with new ones. I wish they would have observed their own self-proclaimed value on the environment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our first trip to the Grand Cayman Apr.3-10. After reading the positive reviews on the Sunshine Suites, we decided to stay there. We definitely made the right choice and plan to go back again next year! The rooms are comfortable and the grounds are kept immaculate. The front desk staff were friendly and always willing to help in anyway possible. You don't need to bring towels as they always have clean ones at the front desk along with chairs for lounging at the beach. The Sunshine Grill's food is excellent...delicious 9 oz hamburgers, fish tacos and loved their calamari. The restaurant was always busy and kudos to the staff of the restaurant who do a fantastic job. We recommend you make reservations two days before you get there as it will likely be full when you arrive. They do however, try to accommodate the hotel guests as much as possible. We found the continental breakfast to be quite satisfying to start the day...the coffee was the best I have ever had. Considering it was busy in the restaurant it was always quiet and you could still enjoy a nice swim in the pool amongst the dining guests. The beach is only accessible by crossing the busy street so you do have to be careful. The traffic most of the time is courteous and will stop to allow you to cross. Once you have crossed and walked past the Westin you have reached the gorgeous blue waters of Seven Mile Beach. Lots of activites on the beach so bring your credit card with you. We jumped on the bus several times ($2.00 C.I's) which will take you anywhere you want to go on the island. Try to read all the literature and you'll be amazed what there is to do...one week isn't enough to see everything. There's lots of restaurants to choose from and even in walking distance. Make sure you go to Stingray City....it's worth it! Thank you Sunshine Suites.......see you next year!!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and found it to be very quiet (building to the right of the restaurant).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherryld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great experience. We could not of asked for a better place to stay on our 1st visit to the Caymans. We deifinitely are coming back, great food, pool, customer service and the room was great. Excellent jerk chicken egg rolls and kudos to the chef, and do not forget the Margaritas which are darn tasty.... "Yeah Buddy"

Room Tip: Really cannot say much more about the rooms. The room we had was a studio and we liked it alot. You are not really in the room much due to being in the pool or venturing out. Even the wi-fi was good and we had no issues.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I've read so many reviews of this remarkable place that I feel they've said it all. We spent five nights in late March there and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and friendliness immensely. Loved Sunshine grill and its great mojitos and the quiet pool area. I agree that the breakfast was lacking a little punch. Sad that those hideous chain hotels out-did Sunshine's idea of continental. Actually, just more fruit and some yummy flaky rolls would have improved it. Also, I always cherish a view and there are none from the rooms.

My disappointment was actually in the island itself. Granted, it's a popular cruise ship stop because of the shopping and snorkeling and stingrays, but it lacks any interesting Caribbean feel. As one reviewer said "You might as well be in South Florida" In other words, very Americanized. Sometimes it's an adventure to deal with the language barrier or the foreign money or the unreadable menu...just to get you out of your comfort zone.

Having said that, I do feel badly complaining about one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and some of the finest seaside restaurants around. So take from this what you wish. Very glad we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonnemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews