We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent return visit to Sunshine Suites Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

First went to Sunshine Suites about 18 months ago and just made a return visit.

Excellent, once again. Very comfortable, clean and well-maintained. All the staff there are excellent - very friendly and helpful.

If you're looking for luxury and pampering perhaps not for you but if you want comfort, cleanliness, good fund and comfort at reasonable prices, then go for it.

Room Tip: Suites are good value and give that bit more space with a bedroom area, kitchen area and sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willow1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The resort is in a great location to walk to activities or take the bus. Love the bus service. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had good choices and OAT Meal!! . I usually have to bring my own. The pool area was never crowded and very relaxing. The beach is across the street. There is a restaurant (Sunshine Grill) on site, great food, you must try the fish tacos. There is also strip mall with various stores less than a block away. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdbt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I would not go anywhere else. The room was well maintained and clean. The breakfast had a good variety and quality. The servers, housekeepers and front desk staff (except Jason, very rude) were exceptional.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Sunshine Suites if just OK. Read the reviews and was very excited, since this would be are first family vacation in years. Basic room, bed made daily and towels changed daily. Floors dirty, (do not walk around with bare feet in the room). We had a one bedroom suite, be in the living area pulls out to a bed, so great for our daughters. Basic kitchen set up.
Front desk nice, but not very helpful, seemed like we where bothering them most of the time, we wanted to rent a car, was told by the manager the front desk would help us. Not true if you want to rent a car, make the plans ahead of time thru a car rental website.
Ok now let me address the beach, beautiful 7 mile beach is great, wonderful sand and surf, but getting there from the Sunshine Resort is a pain in the butt. You need to cross a very busy street, walk thru a little walk way past the Westin Hotel garbage bins, smelled horrible, Westin employees out there smoking, kinda gross!!!!!!
Sunshine Grill, food really good, but if you are staying at the resort, and want to relax at the pool, you have the resturant traffic all day, since the grill is right off the poo, and very busy, you can forget the relaxing.
The resort is ok, not really a resort, more like a regular hotel room in a standard hotel.
Probably would not return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherylann48220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel staff are very helpful. Our room was excellent, one bed suite. Very clean with good maid service. It is very good to be able to take chairs and a parasol from the hotel to the beach. The beach is across a busy road but it is very easy to cross and the motorists in Grand Cayman will readily stop and let you cross, this would not happen in Europe. We had 2 minor problems, door lock broken and also cold food at the restaurant, both were solved very quickly.
The pool is small but clean and whilst we were there is was not crowded. The breakfast is OK, it cold easily be improved with a little more choice of fruit and maybe adding some ham or other meat. The wifi is good and no extra charge, as it should be, other Hotels take note.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will come back.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank JFM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our first visit to Grand Cayman and we couldn't have picked a more friendly, clean, and comfortable hotel. The grounds and pool area are beautifully maintained and the house keeping staff are courteous and helpful. The restaurant is very popular so reservations for supper are recommended (the food is very good!). There is a busy road that separates the hotel from the beach but even if you stayed in a hotel located right on the beach, you would still need to cross the road frequently to visit nearby restaurants and shopping locations that are all within walking distance or to catch a bus to or from George Town and other beaches/ attractions on the island. The hotel itself is excellent value and I will certainly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have just stayed at the Sunshine Suites, and it was a very positive experience. We went on a rugby tour with 50 kids, and they were very responsive to our needs:
- shared rooms for kids and dads with the right space for everyone
- room assignments close to each other, so that the group could communicate and we would not bother other guests
- Great buffet breakfast (not too elaborate, but family friendly)
- a great location, close to the beach

If you are going for a family vacation and you need a comfortable place with a small kitchen, this is it. This is not a luxury spot, but a very good alternative with a good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebabustos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
355 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £144 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing