We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Cayman Hidden Gem of a Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grand Cayman Hidden Gem of a Resort!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to visit Grand Cayman for a week but I found the prices to be outrageous. Luckily for us she had stayed here many times before and it's really a gem of a place.

First off it's either a family run resort or at least it feels that way. Our room had a kitchenette, two queen beds and plenty of room. There is a bar/grille on site and the food is outstanding! Breakfast was provided each morning and it was varied and plentiful. The fish taco's were unrivaled as was the burgers and nachos.

The signature drink - the sunshine Painkiller came in a souvenir tin mug - which I still use at home! (ah memories!) It's a potent drink so I can't imagine having more than one...but I'm a lightweight!

The resort was across the street from famous 7 Mile Beach. The extremely friendly staff informed us that there were beach chairs and towels we could bring, so we did and it was lovely! Snorkeling was amazingly gorgeous here.

The pool at the resort was nice - not super large - but it fit the bill.

We had a memorable stay here and will return again. I highly recommend this beautiful piece of heaven!

Room Tip: It's a small resort but I liked being on the second floor. I would have added photo's but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    505
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
416
792
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Staff are down to earth and extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgable of the area. The location is perfect for couples, families or business. The location is across the street from the Beach so techincally not beach front, but for the saving and quality making the short walk is not a problem. They supply you with Beach Chairs etc so you're not asking other hotels to use them or purchasing/renting that equipment.

If considering other comparbly priced locations this is your best bet.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McMaster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here whilst working in Grand Cayman in December.
The hotel was absolutely great. Although very busy it never seemed crowded.
I had a room with two double beds, a big modern bathroom and a small kitchenette with microwave kettle and fridge.
The location is great being just a few minutes walk to seven mile beach but also walking distance to a couple of shopping areas and some bars and restaurants.
It's also a minutes walk to the main road where you can flag down the local taxi busses to get around the island.
Breakfast is served in the sunshine grill and has the normal buffet selection. Had lunch several days at the sunshine grill and the food was excellent and reasonable with great service.
Reception will lend you beach towels and there are free beach chairs available also.
The pool is lovely and underused so never crowded.
The bar does shut at 10pm but as said there are other options nearby.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
The fish Tacos are famously good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmorals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Sunshine Suites and again - no disappointment. It's a cute little and quaint hotel across the street from one of the best beaches around.
The staff are always happy and so helpful.
The grounds and rooms are always clean and comfortable. My only complaint about our room was the bed was waaaay too hard - same thing as our last visit.
Breakfast is included - it's buffet and not a large selection but what do you want for a beach.
Each room has what I call a full kitchenette so we just had lunch foods and snacks in our kitchen / fridge and went out for dinner each night. There is Fosters grocery store just a 5 minute walk.

The beach - it's just a few minutes walk across a busy street but not to worry, the cars will usually stop and let you get across. Yes, you have to walk beside the Westin which is by their garbage so it's a little smelly but oh it's worth it for this great beach and great resort for the right price.
Sunshine Suites provide you with chairs that you can carry to the beach (not difficult) and I wish they had umbrellas but.... they don't so we went to Cost U Less which is just over in Govenors Square (5 minute walk) and picked up a cheap one - less than $15. USD

The restaurants - yes, lots of restaurants to choose from in this area - easy enough to walk to. The Sunshine Grill on the property is really great - look for my review on that restaurant.

If you want to rent a car for a day or two (you don't really need more as it's a small island) then there a many to choose from. Avis is right across the street in The Westin.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueWnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The staff at sunshine suites provided excellent service

My wife had a sprained foot when we arrived. It turned out it was a broken foot.

The staff were very accommodating at getting us a room on the lower level to avoid stairs.

A special thanks to Nikki who promptly found out where to get a wheelchair
Nikki also booked tickets for us on the Sunset sail. Nikki was prompt efficient and bubbly.

Thanks for making our stay go so well
Ken and Bernice Sigurdson

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenbernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Staying here was perfect.. it's across the road from 7mile beach, walking distance to all the restaurants. staff were friendly. Rooms and bathroom is well maintained and clean.
food at the sunshine grill is good as well

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mish202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites for 4 nights while on business. It was great having a full sized fridge.
The room is good sized. The only issue I noticed was it rained for a few days while I was there and the window was leaking. This resulted in the carpet getting wet.

The hotel location is on West Bay Road near the Marriott. While Sunshine Suites is not on the beach, there is beach access from the pool area.

I would stay there again as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NQdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing