We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel that make you feel at home in Caribbean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great hotel that make you feel at home in Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I love to cook our own food and feel at home during our stay. Sunshine suites is a great place to offer such service, room and hospitality. The room has its own kitchen, cookware, dinner set and a big fridge. The grocery store is in 5min walking distance. We enjoyed a variety of home cooking during our stay. The room rate and the food expense saved us a lot compared to other hotels on 7 mile beach. The West bay bus stop is right at the entrance of the hotel and brings you to major area for fun. The partner businesses are relative cheap and provide superior services. The front desk staff are very helpful, patient, and planned the entire trip for us. We stayed at Westin across the street as well. Every service in Westin needs money. The partner business red sail sports is pretty expensive. Westin is a hotel designed to let you spend money, but not sunshine suites. I probably saved $1500 for my one week stay at sunshine compared to Westin across the street. I will highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaX929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    489
    106
    23
    25
See reviews for
408
770
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed at Sunshine Suites two other times and it was a great value with excellent service. They served a small hot buffet breakfast in the famous Sunshine Grill which was included in the room price. This has been downgraded to a cold continental breakfast of cereal (three children's choices), plain yogurt in a cup, or a small selection of coffee cake squares. This was served in a hotel room while new facilities are being built. If you want a hot breakfast you can go into Sunshine Grill and sit down to order. They have a great selection, but you will pay. I booked my room four months in advance and requested a first floor room. What I received was a third floor room. The agent at the desk was very unhelpful. She explained that there were no rooms in my class available on a lower floor and that requests needed to be made several days in advance. One would think that four months would be enough time. We ran into housekeeping when going to our room and she mentioned that over forty people were checking out the day we checked in. I would have expected the lady at the front desk to offer us an option of a slightly later check-in to get a lower floor. This is the second time I requested a first floor and the request was not granted. Don't ask for requests if you never intend to honor them.

Now for the positive. The rooms are very comfortable and the upgrades to wifi and the TV's are very nice. Housekeeping is great and all requests are fulfilled promptly. The very best thing about Sunshine Suites is the fact that Sunshine Grill is on the premises. While the prices are high (everything is in Grand Caymen) the food and service is excellent.

Bottom line. If you can get a great rate at Sunshine Suites it is good deal. I am ready to explore other options for my next visit even though I have never stayed anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Don't bother with special requests. They will not be honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The sun has long since set on this sad, stinky little motel. We had the misfortune of staying the "Sunshine Suites" recently while on vacation to the Cayman Islands. Upon arrival everything appeared in order until the sun went down. This hotel only looks good in daylight.

By 10pm, the front desk closes- so if you have any issues, you are SOL. One lonely security guard patrols the grounds after hours, although this may pose some difficulty as no direct line exists to this particular individual on the in-room phone system.

The look of the hotel is reminiscent of a dive motel you might see along an interstate highway. One you would normally see and keep driving away from. At night it is reminiscent of the Bates Motel. It is important to note that our security latch had been broken into multiple times and badly painted over. We could tell.

The walls are paper thin and it will give you no comfort to know an adjoining door connects suites together. So get ready to know your neighbors... whoever they may be. Since the Cayman Islands is a rather busy destination, don't be surprised get involved in others personal lives (eg. grunts, moans, mattress squeeks, etc.)

We ended up checking into the Westin next door, and cannot express how disappointed we were. Word of advice - do not go here. The hotel offered no refunds, no explanation and was extremely rude when we asked for help. In fact, an air of indifference was shared amongst all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gw8522, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We actually remember you quite well during your short stay with us. These allegations were exaggerated and some even fabricated. It seemed as though you were simply looking for a free stay for the one night you stayed at our hotel which, when not received, probably triggered your comments on this venue. Best regards ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Sunshine Suites from our late night check in to our check out. I had notified the hotel that we would be having a late arrival as our flight got in after 10:00 pm. and was told it was not a problem. I was instructed to pick up the phone next to the office and the night bellman would give us the room key. Upon arriving,we called and he was there within two minutes. The room and bed were comfortable with a flat screen tv and kitchenette. As a previous reader mentioned, there is no carpet on the floor-rather tile which given that this is a beach destination is perfect. (Though I did put the bathmat at the foot of the bed to wipe my feet off before getting into bed) Our room did not have much of view (there was a shipping container right outside in the parking lot), but we did get a great price on the hotel through Hotwire.com and we weren't there to stay in our room and look out the window. The grounds are nicely landscaped, the buildings are colorful with their Caribbean architecture and well kept. Our room did not have much of view (there was a shipping container right outside in the parking lot), but we did get a great price on the hotel through Hotwire.com. Though not on the beach, it is located about a block away making it for an easy walk. Beach towels are available at the front desk and beach chairs are located near the pool as well as some beach umbrellas to take with you to Seven Mile beach. There is also an onsite laundromat, swimming pool and restaurant. A grab and go breakfast is available in the morning which includes cereal, yoghurt, instant oatmeal, fruit, bakery goods, juices, tea and coffee. Since we preferred something a little more substantial and less sugary, we opted to eat at the Sunshine Grill for $7.95 cI, you can have two eggs, bacon or sausage, home fries, toast and coffee, tea or orange juice- a great price for Grand Cayman.
There are only two things I would suggest to the hotel. With respect to the pool, there is table service next to the pool , why not offer it all over the pool area or create a walk up window for those sunbathing next to the pool to order drinks/food? The other thing would be to create a vending area for the guests for late night munchies etc. All in all, we would stay at the Sunshine Suites again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a view, request one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyroltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I would give the Sunshine Suites a 3 ½ out of 5. It was a decent value for Grand Cayman and the staff was very pleasant.

However, if you're going to book here, make sure you know what you're getting: a pretty good bargain on an off-beach hotel. I think this is advertised as a “boutique ” or “resort” in some places, but its not what I would consider a boutique. The property is the equivalent of an exterior corridor Hampton Inn with a really neat restaurant on location (see Sunshine Grill's reviews). I think the reviews on this hotel may be a bit inflated because of how special the on-site restaurant is. The picture on the front of TripAdvisor is of the office, not of the guest rooms.

We booked a King Suite and it was similar to a condo with daily cleaning service. It had a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, range top, and microwave. It is a decent hike to the beach, especially if you're carrying an umbrella, chairs, and towels. You're four buildings back from the water and the beach access is along the Westin. I think the Westin intentionally uses the beach access area as a dumping ground for all their trash, so you're walking by dumpsters, broken furniture, old appliances, and their chain smoking employees (which ironically chain smoke next to their backup generator with a giant “no smoking” sign). There's also no facilities you can access from the beach, the condo complex has a security guard and the Westin has wristbands.

The owners have done a decent job renovating, we got one of the older rooms that still had carpet instead of tile, so there was a bit of a smell when we first got there. The A/C is a single wall unit that they needed to fix on the first day, then it held up well. It struggled a bit to keep the very back of the unit where the bed is cool until we learned to close the shutters and curtains and keep the temperature low all day. The toilets struggled to flush at times, we had to hold the handle down for 5 seconds.

There were some nice touches - Paco the Cat roaming the property is awesome, a large cooler of water by the pool, and a decent continental breakfast. The coffee was very good and a pleasant surprise. Television and water pressure were also good. On the third day, we elected to go buy an inexpensive beach mat from Cost U Less which almost next door so we didn't have to keep lugging the heavy beach chairs provided.

Remember to take your snorkeling equipment and a flotation device, if you swim a good ways out, there is some amazing reef snorkeling. Go out early in the morning before the boat traffic picks up and swim (300-500 yards out)

There were some quirks that were interesting:

We went on a 2-hour “Champagne Tour” to go shopping in Georgetown at 5pm, but everything closes at 5pm except for three or four Jewelry Stores. I'm not sure how this is funded, but we were fortunate to find the one bar that was open and go enjoy their happy hour and sunset. The champagne was “free” quality.

There were also people arguing with the front desk people over 2 guests verses 3 when booked through Expedia. It looked like they were arguing over $100, which seemed tacky and something the hotel should get fixed quickly.

The pool is also really small and seemed to be an area where smokers congregate since the rooms are non-smoking.

One note about the Caymans since this was our first trip: Food was surprisingly good and really not that expensive if you do your homework but all beer is expensive. Its expensive in the stores, expensive in the restaurant and bars, and still expensive during happy hours. The imported American stuff is expensive, and the more local Caybrew or Red Stripe is still expensive.

Overall, I think the Sunshine Suites are a nice home base if you have activities every day and need a bed to come back to with a neat restaurant on site. However, if you're looking for a resort feel, nice pool, and quick access to the beach, I'd opt for one of the other options on the island. The Sunshine Suites are a good value, but you get exactly what you pay for.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with tile floors and request a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chasesfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at Sunshine Suites and would definitely stay here again if we were to go back to Grand Cayman. All the staff made us welcome and gave us very useful info on what to do and where to go. The Sunshine Grill serves great food, tacos and burgers especially, and the bar has a good vibe in the evenings. The hotel itself is a very short walk across a road to the beach and beach chairs are provided. Ask at reception to see if anyone has left a parasol that you can use for the duration of your stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is a great place to be to stay if you want to visit Grand Cayman. My wife and I just got back from visiting Grand Cayman. This hotel and staff made the stay tremendously more enjoyable. It is less expensive than some other places, but the value, service, food, and staff make you believe that you are the only guest on the site. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and attentive to your questions and will go the extra mile to make sure that you are well taken care of. The food is great! Breakfast is either sit down in the restaurant or complementary continental. Location is good to visit either end of the island and there is beach access right across the street. They have complementary beach towels and beach chairs. It is not a question of if we go back, but when we go back; we will be staying here. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to really enjoy their stay in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology and TravelUp so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing