We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, Hospitable and Nicely Located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spotless, Hospitable and Nicely Located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel hits all that you need: spotlessly clean, spacious rooms with kitchen and homey, boutique furnishings, great restaurant, The Sunshine Grill, on premises and hospitable staff that will help arrange your activities - also reasonably priced rooms compared to nearby resorts. The quaint, British-Caribbean style landscaping of the grounds is a nice touch. Dive equipment storage is available if needed.
Location:
Not on the beach but a short walk across the street will get you there. Seven Mile Beach is all public so you can enter the beach just about wherever you want. You can book excursions to sting ray city, rent snorkeling gear, etc. at Capt. Marvin's next door. It is centrally located so you can catch a bus (really a minivan) anywhere for $2.50 up and down SMB. While walking they will beep at you to check if you need a ride. One of the best restaurants where we dined, Deckers, is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
Andy's rent a car is a short distance away and they will pick up and drop off.

Room Tip: Try booking directly through the hotel instead of third party site for better rates. Corner rooms ha...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rottinappl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    489
    106
    23
    25
See reviews for
409
770
95
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedimonte Etneo, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in this resort for 11 days and there is nothing I can complain about. The stuff is very welcoming and polite. The room is clean and spacious. It is not on the beach, but I don't think it is a problem cos it is not a long walk to reach the beach and the hotels on the seafront are very expensive....(I would rather go to the Maldives instead of paying what they ask!!!) Sunshine Suites Resort is very affordable and the Sunshine grill too.
Breakfast is good even if a bit too repetitive.
The resort is located in an excellent location and not far from Restaurants, shops and supermarket.
I would advise to go to the resort's restaurant, the Sunshine grill, cos they have good quality food at cheap prices, bear in mind that restaurants and supermarkets in Grand Cayman are very expensive compared to the UK standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GioSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you want to be catered hand and foot this is not the place for you. If you want a neat, clean well run hotel this is your place. I stayed here for almost 2 weeks in November before having to move to hotel on the beach for a company function. I am writing the review for this hotel and not the other "upscale" hotel, pretty much says it all.

As a diver I appreciated the rinse tank and locked storage provided. The front desk folks were great. If we wanted it they provided it. Answered all our questions. The Grill????? I had to go to an island to have one of the best burgers ever. The Taco's are illegal.

I will be back and I will be staying here.

Room Tip: I prefer the main floor and this is what I got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at sunshine suites in a one bedroom suite in September for 9 days. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was completely amazing,they were there for all your needs.They made it very easy to help you book excusions. The restaurant was great!! I had one of the best burgers I've ever had. The pool was always clean and I never had a problem getting a chair by the pool,no matter what time a day it was. The hotel is central to everything.By far my best vacation I ever had!!! I've travelled internationally for the past 10 years and i'll definitely be returning for another vacation at sunshine suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We have visited Grand Caymans many times but our Dive operator - that we love - recommended the Sunshine Suites. We were not disappointed - great small suite hotel with a staff that is amazing. The kickback restaurant is one of the best on the island - known for its fish tacos - Go for the Shrimp Taco - they are even better and bring a huge appetite for the incredible burgers!

For divers this place is great - they have their own rinse tank and dive locker area where you can hang up your wet suites to dry over night - awesome.

The hotel is very well maintained and the owners are always available to help.

They are extremely well priced for Seven Mile Beach - not on the beach but across the street with an access point right across the street.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank incognitoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Dear Mr Trip Advisor

I will be visiting the Sunshine Suites in Grand Cayman in March 2014 for 3 weeks, after which I will write you a Review. So watch this space...

I have stayed in this hotel before and I know it will be brilliant

Prospero13

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank prospero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was our first time visiting but we will be sure to come back. Sunshine Suites had some great prices for all they offer. Rooms come with free wifi internet, free chairs for the beach and a free continental breakfast that serves your basic but complete cold breakfast. The Grill is open all day long for little treats along the stay, restaurants of all sorts are nearby, the rooms are spacious and the small kitchens are great for cooking a meal or two instead of always eating out. We were able to do our own laundry in their coin operated machine (just a dollar each) and the staff were soo knowledgeable about what to do on the island. We loved our stay, found our room to be spacious, clean and very functional. We can’t wait to come back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane0002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,850 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda and Destinology so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing