We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for a week during Christmas and can confirm the glowing reviews herein. Of the people I talked to on the island this is generally considered to be the best value. One note to divers that has not been mentioned-they have a large rinse tank with a separate shed with individual lockers (you are given an individual key) to store your gear so you don't have to hang your gear in the bathroom. A really nice feature if you're diving. If you want a high end resort that has to be located right on the beach and want to pay $1K/night, this is not your place. If you don't mind walking across the road to the beach and want a nice to play to stay, this is a great option. For my money, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgalt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    494
    107
    23
    25
See reviews for
411
774
95
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunshine Suites Resort, and would recommend it to others.
First, the staff was incredible, helpful in every way possible. We particularly appreciated Renoir Cota's above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty helpfulness and professionalism.

Second, the location was ideal, across the street from the best part of the beach, nestled between the Ritz and the Westin. For great snorkelling, go 200 metres to the right, at Governor's Beach, and you can spot sting rays snorkeling right from the beach.

Third, the restaurant at Sunshine was amazing - tasty food (if you're looking for local pub fare), fast service and reasonable prices. There are a few reataurants at the nearby plaza (the sushi one was great). Also by foot, but further afield, we would very highly recommend Luca's for homemade Italian and an outdoor patio view of the sun setting over the beach.

Fourth, the resort war very calm and quiet, and we had no issues with hearing neighbours.

While not show-stoppers, good to note that there is no breakfast eating area (yet - we understand one is planned), and while the coffee and tea are fine, the rest of the breakfast was below our expectations (yogurt, sugary cereal and store-bought pastries that weren't so fresh). Also good to note that some of the rooms are carpeted and none have balconies or offer great views.

Sunshine Suites is excellent value - right across the street from a flawless beach - and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a beach holiday in Grand Cayman at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this resort, first impressions were how American looking the resort was, but it was to be expected being so close to the US. First time in Grand Cayman so wasn't sure what to expect.

Pros:
Clean room, comfortable bed, free breakfast and the sunshine grill on site had great reviews and when we sampled their food, it was very nice! Very welcoming staff and nice well maintained grounds.

Cons
Air con unit in room was noisy and the room was slightly on the small side.

All in all I would definitely recommend this resort to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great place just see the other reviews to be convinced. Prior to going I read that the grab and go breakfast was not good - they might have improved before I came at least I found it to be good - not a lot of choices but fruits , great banana bread, yogurt and an absolut excellent coffee! (Indeed great coffee!) Made my day. Staff are very attentive - the grill is really good ,but a drag that it is so full always - though important that they give preference to guests of the hotel. An alternative for drinks and a snack and some more seatings in the great garden would have been good.
Important with a well equippped kitchen and a supermarket not too far away. The short stroll to the beach is fine and at least when I was there the beach was not over crowded and the water is simply exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dortegeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The first room we checked in, woke up in the morning with roaches in the kitchen. Lady at the front desk told us our room had been sprayed yesterday, and they would send someone to the room now to spray again. That is exactly what we did not want to hear the first day of our trip. Fortunately a manager was there and immediately moved us to a new upgraded suite room.

The upgraded room was great, really couldn't ask for anything more. Ended up extending our stay, and moved back into another standard room and that room was great as well.

For the price, location, convenience, etc this is an absolutely fantastic hotel and I would stay there again without hesitation - and that is after our rocky start.

The Good:

- Literally 30 seconds across the street from the beach.
- 4 of the highest rated and most affordable restaurants literally right there.
- Walking distance to grocery store
- Morning continental (included) breakfast has cereal, fruits, oatmeal, etc.
- Free WIFI
- Price
- Full kitchen

The Bad:

- No hot showers. Fine for me, but my wife complained (to me) several times about it.
- You are not right on the beach, so you have to carry chairs across the street
- The internet had a couple days where it was really flaky. If you have to do some business work and need a solid internet connection, this could be an issue for you.

Unless you really want to be right on the beach, or a fancy room - this is a real great hotel, and a great way to save several hundred $$ day between hotel/food/etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here Dec 18-25, 2013. We were looking for a hotel on or near seven mile beach that wasnt too expensive. The Sunshine Suites hotel got such good reviews we booked it for a week. No regular rooms were available so we got the suite, which was nice for relaxing during the day.

The most important thing to us is a clean room. Sunshine suites is VERY clean and the facility well maintained.

The staff at the front desk worked very hard and were very friendly everytime we encountered them.

We flew out Christmas morning and had to leave the hotel at 5:30am. Renoir one of the front desk staff made sure, and doubled checked that everything was going to work out. He arranged a cab, a wake up call, and had hotel security help us with our bags from the third floor.

Towels are available for the beach as well as beach chairs and an unbrella or two. The beach is just accross the street, about a 5 minute walk tops. This was never an issue for us.

The hotel restaurant is one of the best on the island, so good we ate there 4 times. See my other review of the restaurant.

A contenental "take away" breakfast is provided. Not at lot of variety but juice, bananas, yogart, cerial and muffens. I would have liked to have some type of bread offering and maybe some hard boiled eggs. But it was just fine how it was.

We walked to and from Grorge town several times, at night and during the day as well. Its about 2.6 miles and takes about 40 minutes but is not that bad. Very safe any time.

Buses run all the time and cost $2.50 per person each way. So two people round trip to town for dinner is $10 total. A taxi is about $25-30 dollars one way.

My two very small opportunities for improvement; No in room safes, and I like a very hot shower and if you hit the morning rush the water is just warm. If you shower before dinner the water is fine.

I would highly reccomend staying here. I think it is one of the best values on the island. It is located in the middle of seven mile beach accross the street from the Westin, where we walked around in the evening.

If you dive they have a 10% off special with Divers Down.

Room Tip: Had a nice suite on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TadChicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gw8522, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear TadChicagoland ,

We are always pleased to see such wonderful comments about Sunshine Suites Resort and the members of our resort team. Renoir, the agent you mentioned has been a valued team member of our little Sunshine family for nearly 10 years. He is very involved in all areas of the resort and we greatly value him as our Senior Guest Service Agent.

We pride ourselves in the family friendly, clean and affordable accommodation that we provide. We try to include as much value as we can with complimentary WIFI, Grab & Go breakfast and fully stocked kitchenettes in all of our rooms and of course TripAdvisor's number one rated restaurant on Seven Mile Beach, The Sunshine Grill. We value our professional relationship with not only Divers Down, but all of our preferred partners who offer discounts exclusively to our guests.

We encourage all guests to book directly with us for the most up to date and best rates available. We also offer special discounted rates for our repeat guests wishing to revisit their home away from home, so we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Greg Wray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was a wonderful choice for our hotel during our first full trip to Grand Cayman for our 18th anniversary! The service was excellent, the rooms were well decorated & very clean, & the restaurant was outstanding. LOVED all of the extra plug ins to charge all of our tech equipment.!!Highly recommend..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hotdogmj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing