We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although we were not on the beach, it was a very close walk. The only thing to be aware of is there are no elevators. The third floor is kind of rough for older people. We asked and they tried, but we were unable to change our room. Would stay there again but request a first floor room way ahead of time. The beds were very comfortable and the area was quiet and not crowded. The restuarant was awesome and would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you are not going to want to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    509
    111
    24
    25
See reviews for
426
800
97
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent a week there. This is not a resort but a standard motel. For more than 250 dollars a night we could expect a balcony, rooms are very dark. The so called included grab and go breakfast is a joke, not even bread or butter...
I know hotel prices are crazy in GC but This place was really below our expectations.
Staff ok at reception, not quite pleasant at restaurant.
100 mètres from the beach,à cross the street in à Nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alainCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gw8522, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear alainCO,
Thank you for your comments. Just to clarify, our Grab & Go complimentary continental breakfast includes yogurt, fresh made muffins, cinnamon rolls and banana bread, plus cold cereals, hot oatmeal with steamed milk, orange juice, an assortment of teas and illy brand coffee. This continental breakfast is included in the price of your room.

In addition to our Grab & Go free breakfast we offer an à la carte breakfast at very reasonable prices, served daily in The Sunshine Grill. This breakfast features items such as our famous pancakes, a variety of omelets and egg dishes, breakfast tacos, house-made granola, French toast, etc…. The à la carte breakfast is so good and has become so popular that just last Friday gold legend Arnold Palmer stopped by for breakfast and loved it. He even asked all our kitchen staff to come out just to tell them what a great job they did. I wish you would have tried that breakfast as I’m sure you would have enjoyed it as much as Mr. Palmer and thousands of others have.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at sunshine suites. We were across the street from the beach and within walking distance from everything. The caymans were incredible as was our stay. People were friendly, food was great and thw weather was perfect. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There are no elevators if u have a problem with stairs ask for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkmskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We chose this hotel due to the affordability and proximity to Seven Mile Beach. It is literally across the street from the beach (between the Ritz and Westin). The staff is very friendly. The bed is very comfortable and there is a kitchen (so you can save even more money on drinks/food if you like). The free continental breakfast is OK (you can pay for a hot breakfast). The hotel has beach chairs and umbrellas, but you have to get up very early in the morning to get any and most people just kept these items in their room during their stay. There are always fresh beach towels at the front desk. Our main complaint was there was no safe in the room and they had limited safety deposit boxes at the front desk (we had to wait 2 days into our stay to get a box). Everyone says that Grand Cayman is a very safe place (and after staying for a week, we would agree), but there is something to be said for peace of mind. Overall a VERY good stay and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jzgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first visit to the Caymans and we stayed in a deluxe suite for 7 nights with 2 adults and 2 young kids. Calling this place a "resort" is a bit misleading because the property is very small with hardly any common areas to lounge around in. It is well maintained and clean, and the staff are very helpful for booking tours and suggesting local restaurants. The beds are quite comfortable and it's easy to adjust the temperature in your room. The walls are thin though so we heard what sounded like a cow being tortured from the couple next door.
The complimentary breakfast is very basic and consists of store bought baked goods, instant oatmeal, cereal, fruit, and yogurt. The pool is small but my kids really enjoyed it and is next to a good restaurant on the property called Sunshine Grill. Other good and reasonably priced restaurants are Eats Cafe and Yoshi Sushi located next door in a plaza that also has a liquor/beer store, Capt Marvin's Tours, Mini Mart, and a frozen yogurt place just like Menchies back home. The rooms have small kitchens so we also bought some water and snacks at the Fosters Food Fair IGA which is a 10 minute walk. We did not have much of a nightlife but the rooms have a good selection of TV channels from the US and even City TV from Toronto. The hotel also has free WiFi which was fast enough for my wife and I to watch different Netflix movies on our own iPads when the kids went to sleep. I can't completely forget about work so I also brought my BlackBerry but turned off the mobile network to avoid cellular roaming charges, and only used the WiFi connection to get emails and BBM. Be sure to setup an iPad app like Fongo before you get here that allows you to make free long distance phone calls with WiFi. You can also video chat with Facetime or Skype.
Grand Cayman is not a cheap place to visit so be prepared to spend about US$20 per person for every restaurant meal. There is no sales tax on anything here, but check your bill because most restaurants add a 15% gratuity without telling you. We used our credit cards most of the time but you will need cash for some things. We brought US dollars since it has a fixed exchange rate with Cayman dollars ($1.00 CI = $1.25 US), but the big Canadian banks are also here with a CIBC and Scotiabank located near Sunshine Suites. It might be worth renting a car if you want to do other things besides working on your tan. The main road is busy with narrow or no sidewalks, and public transit is a fleet of minivans where you hop on and off anywhere along their route. A few bus or taxi rides for a family of 4 could cost more than a daily car rental.
The only negative about this hotel's location was the access to the beach. The closest beach access is next to the garbage dumpsters at the Westin so you should walk to a different access if you want to avoid the smell of garbage. There are a lot of beach access paths along the busy road but they all feel like narrow trails that are overgrown and unkept.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whoodle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

There is nothing really negative to say about this hotel. It is far less money than the people at the Ritz and the Westin are paying, but as far as I can see, the sand on the beach is pretty much the same whether you are sitting in a SS suite chair or a Westin lounge! The resort is very laid back. Pick up beer, wine and snacks and feel free to sit around the pool or in the gardens and relax with no pressure to order from their menu. The
Grill restaurant was good, but there are many great choices close by (Eats Restaurant) for a breakfast. Don't worry that you must have a reservation for every restaurant. We did fine just walking in and asking for a table. The other thing I liked about the island was the easy transit system. For 2 dollars Cayman you can ride down to Georgetown, or up to the north end. Transfer and pay again and go all the way over to Rum Point. We were going to rent a vehicle but decided not to after using their simple bus system. Just walk down the street and every bus going by will beep to see if you want a ride. We had a great time here, weather was hot! people very friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasktraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We chose to stay at Sunshine Suites for our Honeymoon and are very pleased. We spent quite a bit of money on our destination wedding in Jamaica and decided for a more economical honeymoon. A friend of mine recommended this hotel because of the great price and the proximity to the beach. The staff was very friendly and were always willing to help if we needed recommendations for restaurants, etc. The hotel grounds is very well-kept. The grass is well manicured and reminds me of golf-course grass. The room was clean and came with kitchen area which helped us store water bottles and leftovers. The beach is right across the street and there is a walkway in between the Westin and the hotel right next to the Westin (I forgot the name). There isn't a beach view from the hotel but we planned to spend most of our time outside the hotel so we found it pointless to spend so much money on a hotel right on the beach if 80% of our time would be spent elsewhere. The beach area is very nice. The sand is clean and white and the water is beautiful.

The Sunshine Grill has very good breakfast. The hotel also offers a "grab and go" breakfast that is complimentary. This food is ok- coffee, milk, cereal, some pastries, fruit, yogurt and sometimes boiled eggs. Also, orange juice. You do get complimentary beach towel cards. The hotel was pretty quiet at night. We did not have any issues with noise.

At one point during our stay they did offer the guests a complimentary shopping trip to George Town- they provided wine and transportation. We didn't get to partake in this but thought it was very nice that they offered it.

There is also a cute cat that belongs to the hotel. His name is Paco and he is so sweet and very friendly- I never saw him pestering any guests, he pretty much would sunbathe or lounge on the porch of the lobby office.

Overall, great stay, friendly staff, good food at the grill and very economical.

Room Tip: There is a washer and dryer you can use- for about $1-1.25 each
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing